Critter Mom
Member Since 2014
So long as you know your place, Karen! 
Mogs
.
Mogs
.
I, for one, welcome our new feline overlords.The sooner we ALL realize that, the world will be a better place.![]()
So long as you know your place, Karen!
.
Charlie just tested highest so far today. I'll continue testing for the curve--this is our 1st testing of any kind, per vet, and I'll be emailing her numbers tomorrow. But, this is just stressing me out! Charlie is getting wise and growled. I've had to poke him multiple times and use 2 tests strips on each of the last 2 tests.What should I be doing differently?
AMPS 392
+1 352
+3 64 (after, ate freeze dried treat + mouthful of regular LC food)
+3.5 min 221 (ate freeze dried treat after)
+5 423 (ate lunch of FP Poultry Platter within 20 minutes of testing, got FD treat after)
Are you giving Charlie treats after each poke? you want him to associate nummies with test and shot time.. You can start with having him in the spot you are going to test give a treat...let him go...try again with a treat and get all the supplies in front of him give a treat...let him go.. get where I'm going? eventually he will associate a little poke with nummies.
have you read here?
Hometesting Links and Tips
I'd call it quits for today. Charlie sounds grumpy and you're in a bounce - bouncing numbers can take up to 6 cycles to clear, but for this cycle you've got all the useful data you're going to get. Send the numbers to your vet and explain that Charlie experienced a bounce. I have no idea if most vets know what bouncing is but oh well.Charlie did good today, you don't want to push him where it's not needed.
As for the multiple pokes - totally normal. It takes a while for the ears to form capillaries that makes drawing blood easier. Warming the ear helps but in the beginning stages you just have to wait for the capillaries to develop and deal with the extra pokes. Were the test strips giving you errors? You may not have had enough blood - which brings you back to it just being part of the starting out process. You're doing exceptionally well honestly.

There simply isn't enough data to know if the dose should be lowered further.
Are you able to get a test or 2 in each cycle, after the pre-shot test?
Try to "sprinkle" those tests around at different times, like you are sprinkling jimmies on top of your ice cream. You don't want the jimmies in only one spot, but spread out so you get some with each bite of ice cream. Sort of the same idea with getting tests at different times during the 12 hour insulin cycle.
You do that, so you discover the onset, nadir, and duration for this particular insulin and this dose for YOUR cat.
p.s. Are you feeding Charlie at least 20 minutes before the insulin shot? That is important to do with Vetsulin (aka Caninsulin).
A cycle is 12 hours - it starts when you administer insulin and ends when you administer again. So if you shoot insulin at 9 AM and again at 9 PM, the entire cycle was from 9 AM to 9 PM. There's two cycles in 24 hours.Getting a test or 2 in each cycle -- what's a cycle?
A curve is when you test every 2 hours in a cycle. "Sprinkling" the tests - or doing spot checks, as we call them - has you alternating your testing times. Like say one day you test at +2 and +4, and the next day you might test at +1, +3, and +5. That will fill in the gaps on your spreadsheet. Most of us actually don't even do curves at all, we do spot checks instead. Spot checks every day paint a bigger picture than doing a curve every once in a while. If you look at my spreadsheet below, you can see the "sprinkling" of tests every day.do you mean when doing a curve I should not do testing strictly 2 hours between tests? That I should vary the time in between tests? 2 hrs one time, 4 hrs the next, etc.?
Hi Karen been reading this post about you and Charlie who is a Cutie and I just wanted to say You are doing a Great job Your really learning and trying for Charlie what a Great MomI want to give a heartfelt thanks to each of you who has posted here, encouraging and offering advice. I'm not sure how to tag you in this forum, I hope you all see this and know what a huge help and comfort you have been. I couldn't have gotten through this without each of you! Thanks for all of the time you took to help out this nervous, stressed out fur mom!
jt and trouble (GA)
Aleluia Grugru & Minnie
Diane Tyler's Mom
Panic
Critter Mom
Lol ... no. As long as kitty is happy and eating, we keep our vets out of it for the most part. Most of us just do the "smile and nod" (and maybe a bit of eyeroll) when our vets make suggestions and just keep doing our own thing. They just don't have the experience that the caregivers here do. Once I starting calling the shots for my girl's diabetes, I didn't take her back to the vet for almost a year. Just sent in spreadsheet numbers once a week and told them how she was doing. If you ever hear someone telling you to take your cat to the vet though ... it's something serious.Do most people here still involve a vet in their cat's care on a regular basis? Or, have you all become such an educated community that it's not necessary unless something is out of control or becomes critical. Just curious.
Hi Karen been reading this post about you and Charlie who is a Cutie and I just wanted to say You are doing a Great job Your really learning and trying for Charlie what a Great Mom
You can do this Karen yes it’s Overwhelming and so much to process but this forum is Amazing and as you can see you will love this bunch you just met . I can tell you they all really do care . Keep asking questions and Welcome to you and Charlie even if you just need to talk or vent we are here

You've done a lot today, take a step back and let yourself recharge.There's a lot to cover, but the information above isn't going anywhere. Take your time.
You are correct. Spot checks tomorrow, get an early test (between +1 and +2) to see if he's dropping noticeably. It may take him a while to "clear" the high bounce numbers so if he's still high tomorrow don't be concerned. With Vetsulin you want to focus more on the early tests (between +1 and +5) so get at least a couple then if your schedule allows. As we saw today, that's when the most changes occur.
And correct again, let Charlie do his thing, if he prefers to graze let him.A "curve day" is supposed to mimic a normal day. Feed him like normal every day, whether you're doing a curve or not.
Lol ... no. As long as kitty is happy and eating, we keep our vets out of it for the most part. Most of us just do the "smile and nod" (and maybe a bit of eyeroll) when our vets make suggestions and just keep doing our own thing. They just don't have the experience that the caregivers here do. Once I starting calling the shots for my girl's diabetes, I didn't take her back to the vet for almost a year. Just sent in spreadsheet numbers once a week and told them how she was doing. If you ever hear someone telling you to take your cat to the vet though ... it's something serious.

Hi Karen how are you and our new boy Charlie today ? Just checking in on youYou're a saint. I feel like I've thanked you a dozen times today, and with all your responses when I needed help, I probably have.![]()
Hi Karen how are you and our new boy Charlie today ? Just checking in on you
I happen to be one of the members that believes keeping a good relationship going with your vet is important.Do most people here still involve a vet in their cat's care on a regular basis? Or, have you all become such an educated community that it's not necessary unless something is out of control or becomes critical. Just curious.
Personally I spoke to my Vet about insulin and she highly recommend Lantus . It was my choice too . Is Charlie eating ? I think the rest of the crew will advise you to switch insulin too ...... your doing Great hang in there Karen Saying a prayer for Charlie’s BG to go downInsulin -- switching from Vetsulin to ???
I thought rather than a new thread, I'd ask here first, since you've been my "trusted team" so far.
1. What do you recommend I should switch to from Vetsulin? My vet suggested Vetsulin & Prozinc, at twice the price of Vetsulin.
2. I'm not able to see insulin pricing on Marks Marine Pharmacy website. Do any of you purchase from Marks?
Thank you!
AMPS 437
+2 360
PS -- Panic, I found your reply to me on Lantus. Now that I'm paying attention to changing insulin, it's valuable info. Thanks!
I recommend looking into Lantus! It's outrageously expensive here in the US but if you can get a script for it you can send it to Mark's Marine Pharmacy - the upfront cost is higher but in the long run it's actually the cheapest insulin. One box of 5 pens (they are like mini-vials) is $169 plus $25 shipping, but because they are like mini-vials, you only open one at a time, use the entire pen to the last drop before opening another which extends the expiration date. Depending on kitty's dosage a box of pens will last 9 months to 2 years! In 9 months time you'll have purchased 2-3 vials of Vetsulin ($168) and in 2 years time 5-6 vials ($336). Cats respond better to Lantus than any other insulin out there too.
My vet ignores the articles I send her ... can you tell why I'm switching.Plus, we have links to a lot of the more current feline diabetes vet journal articles and practical day to day advice you can share with your vet.
Personally I spoke to my Vet about insulin and she highly recommend Lantus . It was my choice too . Is Charlie eating ? I think the rest of the crew will advise you to switch insulin too ...... your doing Great hang in there Karen Saying a prayer for Charlie’s BG to go down
My vet ignores the articles I send her ... can you tell why I'm switching.
I'm envious of all the members who DO have enthusiastic vets willing to learn and share. It's definitely a good thing to have a vet who will work with you.
Karen, there is this handy little guide we like to print out - 2018 AAHA Diabetes Management Guide. It's from the American Animal Hospital Association. They recommend a low-carb diet with Prozinc or Lantus for cats.
I happen to be one of the members that believes keeping a good relationship going with your vet is important.
Think of us as an "adjunct" or supplemental resource to your vet.
p.s. It really is time for a new thread. Simply link this old one at the top, for reference and history.
Sure I'll stick around! It'll be interesting to see what he does tonight.Thanks, Panic! It remains to be seen how my vet will be when I email my numbers to her. I wanted to try to get as many tests in today--after the disaster of yesterday--before emailing her. If you have nothing better to do tonight, would you take a peek? I did his PMPS and am waiting to do a +1 and maybe a +3. +3 was where he dipped so low yesterday morning.
Sure I'll stick around! It'll be interesting to see what he does tonight.Looks like he was trying to clear that bounce earlier.
Looks like Charlie might be bouncing a bit after yesterday's AM cycle green.
I think it was right to reduce the dose from 1.0IU to 0.75IU of Vetsulin. It's what I would have done if Charlie were my cat. That green was a low green, there was no bit of safety cushion in it at all on the 1 unit dose. Also, most cats run lower in their night time cycles so that 1 unit dose could have potentially taken BG lower again than the 64mg/dL that you saw yesterday.
.
Good job with the tests yesterday, Karen!Would you recommend I keep randomly testing Charlie every day, like I did yesterday? Is this how it goes? Just keep testing and injecting and hope something changes? Gah!
468 AMPS is highest since I've been testing (3 days).
I see you switched from Caninsulin to Lantus which is what I want to do! Do you syringe out of the pen or use the pen injector?
Amazing job Karen ! KEEP UP THE GOOD FIGHT!
Keep an eye on those numbers between +1 and +5 mainly, that's where the action is for him.
You're experiencing bounce numbers AND the result of Vetsulin not acting long enough. Unfortunately he's probably always going to be unpleasantly higher at pre-shot simply because the insulin has run out a few hours before, thanks to the short duration.
We use the Lantus pens like mini vials, so you insert the syringe into the pen. When you use the pen injector it only allows full units, so you couldn't even draw Charlie's 0.75u dose. Plus you have to "prep" the pen, which means wasting 2 units every time!![]()
Not all that randomly with Caninsulin/Vetsulin.Thanks, Mogs! Would you recommend I keep randomly testing Charlie every day, like I did yesterday?
Other than making dose adjustments as required, pretty much.Is this how it goes? Just keep testing and injecting and hope something changes?
I could not have put it better myself.Gah!
Forgot this bit!I see you switched from Caninsulin to Lantus which is what I want to do! Do you syringe out of the pen or use the pen injector?