Need BG Numbers for Alphatrak

Status
Not open for further replies.
The AlphaTrack runs about 30 points higher than a human glucometer. So, a 50 on a human meter is an 80 on the AlphaTrack. Any number below 80 means that you should reduce the dose if following the Tight Regulation Protocol. Using the Start Low Go Slow approach, numbers below 90 (120 on the AT meter) warrant a reduction.

I'd also encourage you to get at least one test during the PM cycle. Many cats experience lower numbers at night.
 
Yay! Well, today she had strange numbers, perhaps a 'bounce'? She was in the upper 300's the first half of the day then dropped to 144, then 160 pre-shot. I worry that she is dipping too low at night but the vet said that I can't get an accurate dose under .5 but I do see one more line on the syringe???
 
That last line on the syringe is the Zero line, and many of us have learned to dose below .5 of course you do have to just kind of eyeball it when you shoot a .25u but you can also practice with an old syringe and colored water until you can get 5 drops out of that .5u and then if you want to get really creative practice getting 10 drops. Thus allowing you to dose in microdoses if necessary.

In fact somewhere over on the Lev ISG forum there is a post with pictures on just how to do exactly that...Unfortunately at the moment I don't have the time to go look for it with the holiday upon us right now. However, if you would like to try it I can see if I can find it for you tomorrow and post it for you.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Thanks for your help. I will look for it. I worry about continuing with the .5 with low numbers, especially since I work during the day. She only weighs 8 pounds.
 
Dale 'n' Chip said:
http://felinediabetes.com/Roomp_Rand_2008%20dosing_testing%20protocol.pdf

Scroll down to page 4 for the Alphatrak charts.

If the 75 and 64 are Alphatrak numbers, then congratulations looks like Lucy has earned a reduction to 0.25U.

Dale and Chip,
She was at 89 peak then a low 84 pre-shot. I am afraid to eyeball a .25 with such low numbers. I don't know what to do. My vet tells me to continue with .5 and do another curve in 2 weeks. That seems risky. :|
 
I would keep testing daily no matter what, before every shot and some spot checks midcycle. If she is going below 80, I think she needs that reduction.

025unit-1.jpg


For 0.25U you want the top of the plunger halfway between the 0.5 and zero marks.

You could practice counting the drops you get in 0.5 U and divide in half. Once you get the hang of it it's not that hard.
 
Thanks! I am testing a lot but have skipped a couple of doses for fear of hypoglycemia. She doesn't eat much (this is normal) and I am not usually home during the day. Am I overly worried about the low numbers? I will practice the .25 tonight.
 
You don't want to see her going below 80, certainly not below 70.

If you can shoot 0.25U, maybe you won't need to skip shots. It's best to shoot a dose you can keep shooting consistently.

Most here shoot odd quarter doses and even fat and skinny variations of those. Not hard to do with practice, with magnifying glass and good light, and with syringes with half unit markings.
 
Oh shoot, I gave her .25 last night. Now her pre-shot is 98. I have to work all day. I hate to give her a shot then leave her.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top