Need assistance with dosage

Status
Not open for further replies.

GetFitStayFit

Member Since 2021
I am new here.
Tammy from NC.
Robert Ray is approaching 15 years old and he was diagnosed with diabetes last August. long story short, his BG was 51 Sunday which caused a trip to an emergency vet visit.
Robert Ray was on 6 units insulin. Sunday it was decreased to 2 units.

Tonight his BG was 250. Do I give him 2 units?
 
Last edited:
Hi Tammy, sorry no one responded earlier. Welcome to FDMB. :-)

Could you please help us with a little more information on Robert Ray?
  1. What is his usual diet?
  2. What insulin is he on?
  3. What meter are you using to test him?
  4. Does he have any other health issues?
  5. Do you check him regularly for ketones? Any history of ketones or DKA?
 
1-His diet is Proplan Pate and/or Friskie Pate. I add water to his foods to form a 'fake' gravy.
2-He is on Vetsulin
3-I am using the PetTest Advocate
4-He has terrible nephropathy to his back legs, more so his left back leg
5-He was just tested for Ketones.
Actually a full panel was done on him Monday.

A little history so you all can help me better.

Date back to August 2020
The first sign something was wrong with Robert was he was dragging his back leg.
A full panel was done and his blood sugar was 600.
My Vet started him out on 2 units of Vetsulin.
He went in every 30 days to the Vet to have his sugar checked.
Each time it was still very high so the Vet raised his insulin a unit each time.

As of February he was up to 6 units twice a day.

I never knew about the home testing so I was not doing that. My Vet did not mention that to me at all.
Then a lady in the Feline Diabetics face book group sent me hers (The PetTest Advocate), her cat has passed away.

Sunday March 7 Robert let out a loud cry and he threw up. I took him to the emergency vet and his sugar was 51.
She immediately put Karo syrup on his gums. I sat out in the parking for 5 hours as they treated him. I was over an hour from home so I just stayed and hung out in the car.
So, the Emergency got his sugar to 102 and let him take him home.

My regular Vet we saw first thing Monday morning. I did not him any insulin Sunday night or Monday morning. The emergency Vet said to feed him one tablespoon every 90 minutes the remainder of Sunday.

At his regular Vet Monday morning his BF was 400 (arg).

I am terrible at using the BG monitor. I have a very hard time getting blood and I am beginning to wonder if the 250 reading yesterday was even accurate. I probably stress him out so much the reading is not correct. So at 250, was I suppose to give him the 2 units. I think my reg Vet said if he BG was 250 or lower NOT to give insulin.

My Vet says I don't need to check his BG daily, but I feel I need to.

I am just lost.

Thank you in advance.
 
Last edited:
If you are worried that 2 units is too much, you could always start over from the begin all over at 1 unit. I'm so glad you are testing now. Testing saved my cats life several times over the years.

Here's what you want to do. take a number before each shot. During the day when you can try to get a mid cycle reading. Vetsulin usually peeks 4-6 hours after the shot so getting a test or two in during that time is a good idea. I also always liked to get one more reading just before bed. Take readings over the next few days and put them into a spreadsheet that you can link into your signature like you see in our signatures. Here is a link to where to get the template for the chart.

We are here to help! It's hard to give dosing advice though without any data... and cats are sometimes sensitive to insulin after a hypo. 6 units is a crazy high dose, most cats never need more than 3 units. I'm glad you are lowering it. https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-to-create-a-spreadsheet.241706/
 
Thank you. I watched the video. I am trying to draw blood this way. I guess I just need to hit that vein harder.

I have sent the excel spreadsheet to my email so I can start using that.

NOTE: I am not home to check BG during the day. Only first thing in the morning before he eats.
I am also giving him Doctor's Choice B12Methylcobalamin, 1500 mg morning and evening, directly after I give him his insulin. He is getting this for his nephropathy.
 
Thank you. I watched the video. I am trying to draw blood this way. I guess I just need to hit that vein harder.

I have sent the excel spreadsheet to my email so I can start using that.

NOTE: I am not home to check BG during the day. Only first thing in the morning before he eats.
I am also giving him Doctor's Choice B12Methylcobalamin, 1500 mg morning and evening, directly after I give him his insulin. He is getting this for his nephropathy.


You want to aim for between the vein and the edge. What size lancet are you using?

Ok if you can't test during the day try to get a before bed test, and test more often on weekends /days off.
 
157951070_10158147564839423_3197488949524475904_o.jpg
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top