Anitafrnhamer
Member Since 2013
In May Squeaker relapsed after 8 months in remission. He had developed pancreatitis again and that was most probably the reason for the relapse. He was started on 1 unit Lantus. Two weeks later it was increased to 2 units. Two weeks later increased to 3 units. This past Monday that was decreased to 2 units. I had full blood work on Wednesday for an echo scheduled on Thursday and his glucose was 91. The vet and I agreed that he should not have any insulin and that I should just monitor him at home the next morning. The cardiologist advised me to update the internist about the normal glucose reading and withdrawal of insulin. I use the Relion Micro and here are the readings I have been getting:
9 July PMPS 85
10 July AMPS 89
PMPS 93
11 July AMPS 88
I have given no insulin since Wednesday morning and only use the AMPS/PMPS as a reference to a 12 hour cycle.
I just had a call from the internist instructing me to continue to give 1 Unit Lantus every 12 hours unless the readings are under 100 until Tuesday when they want to do a curve and find the differential between their meter and my meter. I did give them the readings I have taken.
With the readings I have been getting I really don't want to give the insulin as suggested but continue to monitor the results.
Is that the protocol you would follow or should I continue to give 1 unit every 12?
Anita and Squeaker
9 July PMPS 85
10 July AMPS 89
PMPS 93
11 July AMPS 88
I have given no insulin since Wednesday morning and only use the AMPS/PMPS as a reference to a 12 hour cycle.
I just had a call from the internist instructing me to continue to give 1 Unit Lantus every 12 hours unless the readings are under 100 until Tuesday when they want to do a curve and find the differential between their meter and my meter. I did give them the readings I have taken.
With the readings I have been getting I really don't want to give the insulin as suggested but continue to monitor the results.
Is that the protocol you would follow or should I continue to give 1 unit every 12?
Anita and Squeaker