Need advice urgent but not 911

Status
Not open for further replies.

Anitafrnhamer

Member Since 2013
In May Squeaker relapsed after 8 months in remission. He had developed pancreatitis again and that was most probably the reason for the relapse. He was started on 1 unit Lantus. Two weeks later it was increased to 2 units. Two weeks later increased to 3 units. This past Monday that was decreased to 2 units. I had full blood work on Wednesday for an echo scheduled on Thursday and his glucose was 91. The vet and I agreed that he should not have any insulin and that I should just monitor him at home the next morning. The cardiologist advised me to update the internist about the normal glucose reading and withdrawal of insulin. I use the Relion Micro and here are the readings I have been getting:

9 July PMPS 85
10 July AMPS 89
PMPS 93
11 July AMPS 88

I have given no insulin since Wednesday morning and only use the AMPS/PMPS as a reference to a 12 hour cycle.

I just had a call from the internist instructing me to continue to give 1 Unit Lantus every 12 hours unless the readings are under 100 until Tuesday when they want to do a curve and find the differential between their meter and my meter. I did give them the readings I have taken.

With the readings I have been getting I really don't want to give the insulin as suggested but continue to monitor the results.

Is that the protocol you would follow or should I continue to give 1 unit every 12?

Anita and Squeaker
 
Hi Anita,

Those are lovely normal numbers that you're getting there. :smile:

Have I understood you correctly that you've been advised to give insulin if the numbers come above 100? Well, 100 is a lovely normal number too, so I'm rather baffled....

There are some experienced folks here that give shots at lower numbers, but I think most people wouldn't give a shot below 150, and then only when data indicated it may be safe to do so.

BTW, if you're not giving insulin then you can use 'AMBG' and 'PMBG' in place of 'AMPS' and 'PMPS'

Eliz
 
[Incorrect assumptions removed by Moderator]

Comparing a human glucometer to a pet-specific glucometer is like reading temperature in Celsius vs Fahrenheit. Both are correct. You just need to know the reference ranges to interpret what the numbers mean.

[Glucose reference ranges are unsubstantiated and have been removed by Moderator]

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * *​
Examples of using the chart:

Ex. You are a new insulin user and you test your cat before giving insulin. The test is 300. It probably is safe to give insulin.

Ex. You are an established user of Lantus, following the Tight Regulation protocol. You've tested around +5 to +7 to spot the nadir. It is 200 mg/dL. You probably need to increase the dose, following the instructions for the protocol.

Ex. Your cat is acting funny. The eyes are a bit dilated. You are concerned and test the glucose. The number is 35 mg/dL. ACK! The cat may be in a hypoglycemic state. You quickly follow the HYPO protocol linked in the glucose reference values chart. (which we really, really, suggest you print out and post on your refrigerator.)
 
No, with those normal BG readings you are getting, I would not recommend that you give insulin to your cat.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top