Need advice on switching from NPH to Lantus during the first week of treatment

Status
Not open for further replies.

grace//jacques

Member Since 2022
Jacques was diagnosed 8/20. The doctor had me get NPH novolin and because I didn’t know better at the time, thats what we got started with. I am having the vet call in a Lantus prescription tonight, I will have it in time for the PM dose.

How do I switch, and what are the main differences I should be aware of when switching? I will get more info from the vet but so far he’s done a very poor job of informing me.

I dont have a spreadsheet set up yet, but here is the info for all the BG and shots he’s had so far. We’re switching over to low carb wet food from kibble which may have explained the drop yesterday

8/20

6:45 pm 450 Dr. said give 1 unit


8/21

7:24 AM BG 417 Dr. said give 1 unit

12:15 BG 89

12:25: BG 49

1:30: BG 307

6:45 PM BG 419 - Dr. says give HALF a unit of insulin


8/22

6:30 AM BG 336 - Dr. Says give HALF unit of insulin
 
Are you using a human or pet meter?
With Lantus (glargine) you should see a lot less steep decrease and corresponding increase of BG with time after shot.
Starting glargine with 1 unit twice daily should be fine, but I would start at either ½ or ¾ unit. for safety, especially if you are using a pet meter.
I would get a generic/biosimilar glargine insulin vice the brand Lantus since they are less expensive. See:
https://www.goodrx.com/semglee?dosa...ulin glargine&quantity=1&sort_type=popularity
 
Are you using a human or pet meter?
With Lantus (glargine) you should see a lot less steep decrease and corresponding increase of BG with time after shot.
Starting glargine with 1 unit twice daily should be fine, but I would start at either ½ or ¾ unit. for safety, especially if you are using a pet meter.
I would get a generic/biosimilar glargine insulin vice the brand Lantus since they are less expensive. See:
https://www.goodrx.com/semglee?dosage=five-3ml-prefilled-pens-of-100-units-ml&form=carton&label_override=insulin glargine&quantity=1&sort_type=popularity

I’m using an iPet pro glucometer meant for animals. Thanks for the info on the generics. If I pick up his prescription tonight, could I give the glargine today after giving NPH this morning? Or should I wait until tomorrow?
 
Hi Grace, we use +2,+4 from the time you give the insulin since the times don’t tell us much if we don’t know when the shot was and also because we have members all over the world in different time zones. I’m tagging @FrostD who can help you set up your spreadsheet

and if you could setup your signature, that would be very helpful when we’re giving advice. Thanks :cat:
 
Last edited:
I posted this on your previous post which Ale linked
A favor when someone replies back to you can you tap the word like that is to the right of each post, just so we know that you have read it

Generic lantus don't know where you live but Lantus is expensive in the US , generic Lantus is fine, many members use the generic
Check this out also
https://www.goodrx.com/insulin-glargine?dosage=five-3ml-prefilled-pens-of-100-units-ml&form=carton&label_override=insulin glargine&quantity=1
The 5 pens will last about a year
Its generic lantus

Or this one
https://www.goodrx.com/insulin-glargine?dosage=five-3ml-prefilled-pens-of-100-units-ml&form=carton&label_override=insulin glargine&quantity=1

Or this one also

I see some members will call CVS, Rite Aid, Costco, Walgreen's, to get the price for 5 pens

You will need U-100 syringes with half unit markings for lantus , just insert the syringe into the pen and draw out the insulin.
13.47 for a box of 100 Here is the link to buy them from
If they say you need a script from you vet they will call the vet to fax it over 'ask for refills and give your vets office a heads up . I know that some member didn't need a script at all ,I did I live in N.J. So I guess it depends on where you live

https://www.adwdiabetes.com/product/1316/surecomfort-u100-syringes-half-unit-31g-3-10cc-5-16in-100ct



We use the pens just like a vial , just stick the syringe in the gray rubber stopper and draw out your insulin
Just take the cap off the pen and use a U100 syringes and pull the insulin out of the pen!
syringe-in-pen-pic-jpg.45006


Posted by another member
One members posted this
. I paid $175 for a box of 5 pens at Walmart pharmacy, but GoodRX coupon says you can get it for around $90 if you have a Rite Aid pharmacy near you.

The reason we don't use the needles that would go in the pens is because you can only dial the pens by whole units
With the U-100 syringes with half unit markings we can adjust by 0.25 units at a time

You can even order Basaglar genetic Lantus from Marks Marine in Canada call them and ask the price for 5 pens, they are very nice to deal with.
https://canshipmeds.com/search-3/?drugName=basaglar
 
Can you set up your signature
To set up your signature which you will see is at the end of everyone's post in gray, click on your name up top and then tap on the word signature and add this information
  • Add info we need to help you:
    • Caregiver & kitty's name
    • DX: Date
    • Name of Insulin (do not include dose or frequency)
    • Name of your meter
    • Diet: "LC wet" or "dry food" or "combo"
    • Dosing: TR or SLGS or Custom (if applicable)
    • DKA or other recent health issue (if applicable)
    • Acro, IAA, or Cushings (if applicable)
    • Spreadsheet link. Please put the signature link on the bottom line of your signature information, on its own, so it is easy to find.
    • Please do not put any information about your location in the signature for security reasons. If you wish to add your country location, please add it to your profile.
Be sure to click the 'Save Changes' button at the bottom. If you need help urgently it is important we know these things at a glance. We don’t want to waste valuable time finding out information.
You might want to set up our spreadsheet where we track our cats BG so we can follow along and give you advice about the dose if needed
We can also have someone set it up for you just ask
Take a look at mine
The spreadsheet is easier than it looks
Just some info about it look at mine at the end of my signature it says Tyler's spreadsheet to get a look at it, you can look at anyone's spreadsheet

About the spreadsheet
AMPS - means AM Pre Shot the first test you take in the AM ,you need to withhold food 2 hours before testing so it's not food influenced

Units is where you would put how much insulin you gave
+1 is one hour after giving insulin if you were to test then that's where you enter his _BG number
+2 two hours after giving insulin. ditto
+3 and so on until you get to PMPS - PM pre shot withhold food 2 hours before testing

+1 same as you do for AM cycle

We don't give times because we are all in different time zones that's why we use the + numbers
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top