Grady'smom
Member Since 2014
Hi all:
My boy Grady has been on Lantus 1 unit BID, which he started a month ago. He has been transitioned to a canned diet, currently Fancy Feast Classics. He went to the vet today for his one month follow up. As he has lost significant weight, I was very happy to learn he's put on 10 ounces! I know that's not much but considering how sick he was ( had a raging UTI) I think it's progress. We're getting better with home testing too. It was a tough start at first but I think we are making progress there too. His BG's pre shot run around 380, 3 hrs post around 350, 6 hrs post 369, 11 hrs post 387. I know there are gaps in there that we need to fill in and we are woking on it. The vet wants to increase his dose from 1 unit to 2 units BID. Based on what I've read here, I'm feeling very uneasy about that. I'm thinking 1.5 would make me more comfortable.
Any advice and/or opinions are most welcomed!
Thanks!!
My boy Grady has been on Lantus 1 unit BID, which he started a month ago. He has been transitioned to a canned diet, currently Fancy Feast Classics. He went to the vet today for his one month follow up. As he has lost significant weight, I was very happy to learn he's put on 10 ounces! I know that's not much but considering how sick he was ( had a raging UTI) I think it's progress. We're getting better with home testing too. It was a tough start at first but I think we are making progress there too. His BG's pre shot run around 380, 3 hrs post around 350, 6 hrs post 369, 11 hrs post 387. I know there are gaps in there that we need to fill in and we are woking on it. The vet wants to increase his dose from 1 unit to 2 units BID. Based on what I've read here, I'm feeling very uneasy about that. I'm thinking 1.5 would make me more comfortable.
Any advice and/or opinions are most welcomed!
Thanks!!