G2 & Buddy
Member
I have previously posted on the Main Forum, and have read through some others, but need some specific PZI experience. Buddy was diagnosed 1/25/2023, was started on PZI and increased up to 3 units, and has now been on PZI 1.25 unit q12hr for over 2 weeks. His spreadsheet and labs are posted. We use AlphaTrak, and he eats wet Purina DM pate over 2 hours 4x day. His Vet has set his normal range goal between 100-250 mg/dl. His AMPS and PMPS are usually in the 400's, occasionally 300's, but midcycle numbers drop to 120-140 around hours +5 to +8. I'm reluctant to increase his dose further as he did have hypo's (40-60) on previous doses 1.5 units and above. (The protocol indicates no dose change for nadir 90-149 with a human meter which reads 40-50 points higher than my AlphaTrak using the control solution.) Clinically he is really good, now with a stable weight and energy. His behavior gives me no clue to what his BG is doing even when BG are low.
My question is this: Is a daily BG drop of 250-300 mg/dl with PZI the norm? The shape of his BG curves seem almost right, but those steep changes are problematic for me. I was hoping the range would narrow with time but see no trend that way. He obviously is sensitive to the PZI effect, it just does not last long enough. I'm hoping experienced members here could give some perspective.
My Vet and I are thinking that Lantus or Levemir might be a better alternative, although I do see some posts about not bringing down higher numbers that give me pause.
Thanks for your guidance.
My question is this: Is a daily BG drop of 250-300 mg/dl with PZI the norm? The shape of his BG curves seem almost right, but those steep changes are problematic for me. I was hoping the range would narrow with time but see no trend that way. He obviously is sensitive to the PZI effect, it just does not last long enough. I'm hoping experienced members here could give some perspective.
My Vet and I are thinking that Lantus or Levemir might be a better alternative, although I do see some posts about not bringing down higher numbers that give me pause.
Thanks for your guidance.