Hello,
I have a male 15 year old cat named Toby. He has been a diabetic for 2 years. Well controlled with 1 unit twice a day. Never had any problems. Took him for yearly check up. Had frutosimine test. His results were 210. Vet called said he is in remission stop insulin bring him back in 4 weeks for another frutosime. I have never tested bg at home never told to. One week later he was not eating lethargic. I took him to the hospital and they said he had mild dka and mild pancreatitis. His bg was 476. he also has cystitis. He stayed in the hospital overnight. Since coming home he still is not eating like he should and still not acting normal. After reading this board I think the vet made a mistake saying he was in remission and stopping insulin. Am I correct? When I questioned her she said it was standard protocol and he could have went too low and went into a coma and died. I am afraid he will never get well now. He did so good for 2 years
I have a male 15 year old cat named Toby. He has been a diabetic for 2 years. Well controlled with 1 unit twice a day. Never had any problems. Took him for yearly check up. Had frutosimine test. His results were 210. Vet called said he is in remission stop insulin bring him back in 4 weeks for another frutosime. I have never tested bg at home never told to. One week later he was not eating lethargic. I took him to the hospital and they said he had mild dka and mild pancreatitis. His bg was 476. he also has cystitis. He stayed in the hospital overnight. Since coming home he still is not eating like he should and still not acting normal. After reading this board I think the vet made a mistake saying he was in remission and stopping insulin. Am I correct? When I questioned her she said it was standard protocol and he could have went too low and went into a coma and died. I am afraid he will never get well now. He did so good for 2 years