Corinne
Vets like to be cautious as they don't have too many clients that hometest and they don't want the liability if your kitty hypos. However, in the Lantus TR ISG, we follow a tight regulation protocol and we teach our new members to gradually shoot lower and lower. The goal is to shoot low to stay low. Of course, we do not encourage
anyone who is new at this to do that because you have to build data to see how your kitty will react to food management if they do start
to go lower. Normal BG in a cat is 50-120 on a human glucometer although many non-diabetic cats and cats who are diabetic but are now off insulin will test below 50 routinely.
Many vets use Alpha Trak meters (I'm not sure what meter you are using). The AT meters "can" run about 30 mg/dl over a human meter; there can also be up to a 20% variance in meter readings. So if your vet is saying that 150 is top of the normal range, that could be totally in line with the human glucometer top of normal being 120.
We do not have the rule "over 170, give 1/2 unit, under 170, do not give". Like I said, we work with new members on shooting lower gradually once they have built up some data. Lantus likes consistent dosing but we also err on the side of caution and safety. Here is some information about Handling Low Preshots but I strongly urge you to ask for help before you shoot a number lower than you have shot before:
Dealing with Low Preshots
What I would suggest is that you do a Spreadsheet for us with her numbers. Here is the link for setting up a SS:
Creating a Spreadsheet
A SS helps us help you. If you can then come over to the Lantus TR ISG, there is usually always someone there who can walk you through shooting numbers.
The vast majority of the members of the TR Insulin Support Group are using a dosing protocol that is based in clinical research and that has been published in leading veterinary journals. It is referred to as the Tight Regulation (TR) Protocol (or by other names as well, the Tilly Protocol or the Rand/University of Queensland Protocol). They are all the same. A modified version of the protocol and links to the formal versions is available in the Tight Regulation sticky. This approach will give your cat the best chance of going into remission or keeping his/her blood glucose numbers in a range that will prevent organ damage.
It is not mandatory that you follow this approach. However, you should be aware that most of us do and it is how we approach dosing decisions. As a result, we are very numbers oriented.
In order to follow a TR protocol...which has been shown as the best way to get a kitty into remission, you will need to do the following:
• You will need to test the blood glucose levels of your cat at least 4 times per day. (A human diabetic typically tests at meal times – 3 times a day.)
• You will need to know about hypoglycemia and be prepared to deal with it. It’s important that you know how to keep your cat safe.
• You will need to test for ketones regularly to start with and know about diabetic ketoacidosis (DKA). Be aware that ketones don't occur once a cat is (and remains) properly regulated.
• You will need a brand-name glucometer made for human diabetics that measures whole blood (not plasma-equivalent) and which preferably uses 0.6 µL of blood per test or less
• You will need to use syringes which allow you to measure tiny doses: U100-type, 3/10 cc = 0.3 ml volume and with the half-unit increments printed on the barrel
• You will need to feed the right diet: high-quality low-carb canned food or raw food exclusively
• You will need to feed your cat lots of small meals spread over the day, free-feeding canned food can be an option for some cats.
Please let us know how we can help.