maddyjoann
Member Since 2021
My boy Cooper was diagnosed end of June 2021, so it's only been about 4 months. He's still not regulated and is constantly in a very high range, and deals with pretty bad neuropathy in his hind legs. He currently sees 2 regular vets at the same facility, and one internal medicine specialist, who keeps in contact with his other vets before making any changes to his regimen. So 3 vets total are working with us on his care.
He's on 2.5u of Lantus right now, and we've been all kinds of up and down with his units since diagnosis. He's been on Lantus since diagnosis and always been using the SLGS approach. I wasn't using a spreadsheet then so I don't have that recorded, only current numbers. As far as we know, he does not have any kind of other conditions or internal problems that could be causing this rollercoaster of BG. He was treated with I-131 for hyperthyroidism just over a year ago. One vet keeps insisting an ultrasound/sonogram to see if there's something we've missed. I would love if someone could look at his chart here and give me insight/ideas?
We've tried B12 shots with the vet (weekly for 6 weeks and now once a month), but they keep saying there's not enough research on it and they're not confident it will work. I know it isn't the methyl B12 and that could make all the difference, but none of his vets know enough about it or say the research isn't substantial enough to go off of. He eats Friskies pate, but prefers dry food. He was eating Dr. Elsey's Clean Protein, but suddenly stopped and won't go back to it. My mom put down Hills GlucoSupport on a day he was low, and now he won't stop eating it. We know it is way too high in carbs and I am looking for another replacement.
He tolerated the Freestyle Libre for a while, but the last month has gotten worse. Today, he finally ripped it off himself after just under a week of having it on. Putting little shirts on him doesn't seem to work because he refuses to try to walk on his own while wearing one, and just flops over when we try to sit him up, like cats do. Home testing is hard because the lancing device with the Alpha Trak 2 is terrible and almost impossible to use, so we just have to prick him ourselves with the individual lancets. He has not tolerated home testing any more now than when we started and he gets very stressed/aggravated at test time. He's started wincing and meowing as we prick his ear.
His daily life is just eating, drinking a lot, and sleeping almost all day in the living room, under a bed, or in my brothers room. He struggles to walk with his neuropathy because our house is all wood/tile flooring and the main floor he stays on is quite big. This last week, his bathroom habits have changed to where he no longer covers things in the litter box, and today we found a small poop on his regular blanket. My mom has to do all of his stuff with me because I have a 9-5 job but she is able to be home most days to watch/take care of him, but this is why we have the Freestyle Libre for him at all. We just worry his quality of life isn't great and will decline, and we worry about how much we're putting him through to try to help him, yet he doesn't seem to be making great progress at all. I don't know how much more there is to do/try for him to just get him regulated, because I know we at least need to do that before trying to work on anything else.
I know this is a lot and I'm so sorry, I'm just feeling horribly overwhelmed and I don't know what else to do from here. I'm not even close to giving up on him, but I just worry about what I'm putting him through.
He's on 2.5u of Lantus right now, and we've been all kinds of up and down with his units since diagnosis. He's been on Lantus since diagnosis and always been using the SLGS approach. I wasn't using a spreadsheet then so I don't have that recorded, only current numbers. As far as we know, he does not have any kind of other conditions or internal problems that could be causing this rollercoaster of BG. He was treated with I-131 for hyperthyroidism just over a year ago. One vet keeps insisting an ultrasound/sonogram to see if there's something we've missed. I would love if someone could look at his chart here and give me insight/ideas?
We've tried B12 shots with the vet (weekly for 6 weeks and now once a month), but they keep saying there's not enough research on it and they're not confident it will work. I know it isn't the methyl B12 and that could make all the difference, but none of his vets know enough about it or say the research isn't substantial enough to go off of. He eats Friskies pate, but prefers dry food. He was eating Dr. Elsey's Clean Protein, but suddenly stopped and won't go back to it. My mom put down Hills GlucoSupport on a day he was low, and now he won't stop eating it. We know it is way too high in carbs and I am looking for another replacement.
He tolerated the Freestyle Libre for a while, but the last month has gotten worse. Today, he finally ripped it off himself after just under a week of having it on. Putting little shirts on him doesn't seem to work because he refuses to try to walk on his own while wearing one, and just flops over when we try to sit him up, like cats do. Home testing is hard because the lancing device with the Alpha Trak 2 is terrible and almost impossible to use, so we just have to prick him ourselves with the individual lancets. He has not tolerated home testing any more now than when we started and he gets very stressed/aggravated at test time. He's started wincing and meowing as we prick his ear.
His daily life is just eating, drinking a lot, and sleeping almost all day in the living room, under a bed, or in my brothers room. He struggles to walk with his neuropathy because our house is all wood/tile flooring and the main floor he stays on is quite big. This last week, his bathroom habits have changed to where he no longer covers things in the litter box, and today we found a small poop on his regular blanket. My mom has to do all of his stuff with me because I have a 9-5 job but she is able to be home most days to watch/take care of him, but this is why we have the Freestyle Libre for him at all. We just worry his quality of life isn't great and will decline, and we worry about how much we're putting him through to try to help him, yet he doesn't seem to be making great progress at all. I don't know how much more there is to do/try for him to just get him regulated, because I know we at least need to do that before trying to work on anything else.
I know this is a lot and I'm so sorry, I'm just feeling horribly overwhelmed and I don't know what else to do from here. I'm not even close to giving up on him, but I just worry about what I'm putting him through.
Last edited:
