Patricia&Bernie
Member Since 2023
Hello,
I recently joined the forum and need some advice related to behavioral issues. I just adopted Bernie, a 13 yo diabetic cat. He is on 3.5 units Prozinc. (I gave his full history in my initial post last week). I've had him about 3 weeks now (adopted 7/24/23). In the first 2 weeks I was testing and changed his diet, and his glucose went from the high 300s- low 400s to low-mid 200s and once in the 190 range which was great. It looked like I was going to be able to get him regulated. He never liked getting his glucose tested, but I was able to do it with just a bit of fuss from him but at least I could keep him still enough for a test. It took him a few days to get used to me and the new environment, but he warmed up to me and things were looking good.
Last Thursday 8/10 I brought Bernie to his first appointment with my vet and he had a full exam -- urine, blood, fecal, etc. He wasn't happy and was super stressed and anxious at the vet. Hissing, biting, screaming. My vet said it was really hard for her and the vet techs to handle him. Almost immediately since we got home his behavior changed and now I can barely get any blood from him no matter what I try. His glucose has gone to the mid 400s practically overnight. He fights me immediately when I try to ease into pricking his ear and in just the couple of times I've gotten a reading it was after 5 minutes of him hissing, struggling and biting. I've been through this forum and have tried all the tricks -- rubbing ears, treats, the heated rice ball to warm the ears -- everything. He is not a lap cat and has only ever let me pet his head/neck area, which was fine. He's not what I'd call cuddly, but in the first 2 weeks of having him I was able to get blood with some fuss but nothing like it is now. I'm not sure what to do. My vet told me to increase insulin to 4 units BID and also suggested he get a Freestyle Libre implanted. I'm going to do the Freestyle Libre for 2 weeks so that there's no stress of getting ears pricked for blood. But I can't do it continuously since it's super expensive. I'll have to do home testing once the Freestyle comes out.
Any advice/suggestions related to his behavioral issues? I thought he'd calm down within a day of being home but it seems to be getting worse and any readings I get are really high (high 300s at nadir, morning readings in high 400s) and this is trending opposite of where I was before I took him to the vet. Seems like we're spiraling right now.
I'm keeping my distance right now to give him some space, but I'm not sure how to manage him long term. He seems to hate me now. I really need some help to get back to where we were so I don't have to just pump more and more insulin into him.
Thanks,
Patricia (& Bernie)
I recently joined the forum and need some advice related to behavioral issues. I just adopted Bernie, a 13 yo diabetic cat. He is on 3.5 units Prozinc. (I gave his full history in my initial post last week). I've had him about 3 weeks now (adopted 7/24/23). In the first 2 weeks I was testing and changed his diet, and his glucose went from the high 300s- low 400s to low-mid 200s and once in the 190 range which was great. It looked like I was going to be able to get him regulated. He never liked getting his glucose tested, but I was able to do it with just a bit of fuss from him but at least I could keep him still enough for a test. It took him a few days to get used to me and the new environment, but he warmed up to me and things were looking good.
Last Thursday 8/10 I brought Bernie to his first appointment with my vet and he had a full exam -- urine, blood, fecal, etc. He wasn't happy and was super stressed and anxious at the vet. Hissing, biting, screaming. My vet said it was really hard for her and the vet techs to handle him. Almost immediately since we got home his behavior changed and now I can barely get any blood from him no matter what I try. His glucose has gone to the mid 400s practically overnight. He fights me immediately when I try to ease into pricking his ear and in just the couple of times I've gotten a reading it was after 5 minutes of him hissing, struggling and biting. I've been through this forum and have tried all the tricks -- rubbing ears, treats, the heated rice ball to warm the ears -- everything. He is not a lap cat and has only ever let me pet his head/neck area, which was fine. He's not what I'd call cuddly, but in the first 2 weeks of having him I was able to get blood with some fuss but nothing like it is now. I'm not sure what to do. My vet told me to increase insulin to 4 units BID and also suggested he get a Freestyle Libre implanted. I'm going to do the Freestyle Libre for 2 weeks so that there's no stress of getting ears pricked for blood. But I can't do it continuously since it's super expensive. I'll have to do home testing once the Freestyle comes out.
Any advice/suggestions related to his behavioral issues? I thought he'd calm down within a day of being home but it seems to be getting worse and any readings I get are really high (high 300s at nadir, morning readings in high 400s) and this is trending opposite of where I was before I took him to the vet. Seems like we're spiraling right now.
I'm keeping my distance right now to give him some space, but I'm not sure how to manage him long term. He seems to hate me now. I really need some help to get back to where we were so I don't have to just pump more and more insulin into him.
Thanks,
Patricia (& Bernie)
