? NEED ADVICE Baby 11/9/18 - Day 2 Levemir - AMPS 34!

Mary Ann & Baby

Member Since 2018
Baby's AMPS was 43, then I rechecked at it came back at 34!!!! Gave her a can of FF gravy. She is acting totally normally. I will recheck in 15 minutes, but I'm assuming I do not shoot???

Tried to edit the title but couldn't - obviously mistyped the date! :facepalm:
 
Unless your schedule can take a day of a couple hours, and keep to that schedule slowly working back, you will be skipping today. And lowering the dose for tonight. Today's strong reaction could be from the antibodies being fooling by the new type of insulin.

Food usually takes 20-30 minutes to turn into carbs in the bloodstream. ECID. Checking sooner than that, 15 minutes, isn't worth it.

To edit the subject line, there should be a small Edit Title box to the right side of the first post. Click the downwards arrow beside it.
 
I would not shoot mid-cycle. You mentioned you would be around until 6:30, is that her normal +12 shot time? My boy had a strong reaction when switching too but the antibodies caught on pretty quick. The 215 number is not one I would focus on. The carbs from the gravy boosted her up which is GOOD, but her numbers can come back down as the carbs wear off. Is there anyone who can test while you are gone? I wanted to be around the first few days when switching and had a few late nights as my guy got adjusted to the new insulin.
 
Is there anyone who can test while you are gone?
Unfortunately, no. :( I will be back by 9:30 though, so not too late. Baby usually doesn't kick in for a few hours...she's pretty flatlined. But as this is only day two of Levemir, who knows what her body will do.
 
I will be back by 9:30 though
I was worried it might be 8hr+ for work. Lev usually takes a little longer to kick in than Lantus does.
Yes, still wait until 6:30 to shoot.

It looks like either the carbs are keeping her high or she is bouncing due to such a low number last night. If she stays up in the pinks and reds I would be more inclined to shoot a reduced dose. I'll let the other guru's offer advice on how much to reduce. If she starts dropping I would worry a bit more that the carbs are wearing off and she might need an even smaller dose or possibly another skip. High dose cats have a larger depot of built-up insulin that can help even with a skipped shot.

I would recommend getting a +11 and posting here if the numbers change or start dropping(and add a "need advice" in the title to get more eyes on your condo). This allows some time for others to see the numbers and offer suggestions before you are right at shot time.

Don't worry about one number or even one day. The long term goal is what you are working towards and Baby just had a big change switching insulins and keeping her safe is goal #1.
 
I was worried it might be 8hr+ for work. Lev usually takes a little longer to kick in than Lantus does.
Yes, still wait until 6:30 to shoot.

It looks like either the carbs are keeping her high or she is bouncing due to such a low number last night. If she stays up in the pinks and reds I would be more inclined to shoot a reduced dose. I'll let the other guru's offer advice on how much to reduce. If she starts dropping I would worry a bit more that the carbs are wearing off and she might need an even smaller dose or possibly another skip. High dose cats have a larger depot of built-up insulin that can help even with a skipped shot.

I would recommend getting a +11 and posting here if the numbers change or start dropping(and add a "need advice" in the title to get more eyes on your condo). This allows some time for others to see the numbers and offer suggestions before you are right at shot time.

Don't worry about one number or even one day. The long term goal is what you are working towards and Baby just had a big change switching insulins and keeping her safe is goal #1.
Thank you so much!
 
I am glad Wes was around to guide you earlier.

If Baby is really high at +11, feel free to shoot then. Since it was only the second cycle and she hit the 30’s, I might go with 7 units next. Much easier to go up in dose.
 
Back
Top