Robin&BB
Member Since 2013
Hi, I'm Robin in northern AZ - new to your Board and pretty unnerved this morning, so need some input from your experienced membership re: ProZinc dosing parameters for my 10-yr.-old (normally feisty) girl, Bat-Bat.
Some background: She'd been in remission since 10.04.13, after just under 2 mos. TR using Lantus + low-carb diet (low-carb ever since). Her return to full-blown diabetic state appeared quite suddenly 5 days ago, with vomiting of golden liquid afternoon of 2.24.15 & again at 4 am on 2.25 - w/little appetite for either dinner 2.24 pm or breakfast on 2.25 (< 1/2 usual ration eaten). Most unusual for her! Alpha Trak2 tested 475 BG at 10 am on 2.25, so went to the vet, where he got a 426 BG.
Vet's testing also showed high WBC, anemia; and in urine, 4+ glucose & 1+ Ketones. He suspcts UTI, so rx'd Orbax 1x/daily, which I gave @ 3 pm after getting a tiny amt. of food in her. He told me she's "…critically ill & prognosis is guarded, so we'll see how the next 7 days go" and that if she were not such a fractious cat, he'd have hospitalized her. But given how badly she reacts in-office, he feared stress would make her worse. Vet had given her 2U ProZinc at 1:30 pm (she hadn't eaten since 8 am). She had to be gassed, as usual, with Isoflurane (<15 min) for the comprehensive exam, as she'll tolerate NO one touching her except for me. (Feral rescue @ 1 mo. of age; has issues with humans!)
She'd lost all bladder control on way home in her carrier - sopping wet up to armpits - & was both groggy and limp. I hosed her down in shower (so sick she just sat there w/no fuss), gently dried her off & spoon fed her a little. Unsure whether she was not throwing off the gas effect in her weakened state or had really gone hypo, gave a tiny amount of syrup and watched her carefully. He'd told me to give her 1U at 7pm if not eating, 2U if she ate, but could NOT get her to eat. As she was still extremely groggy/ weak all night, I didn't dose her at all (too petrified that I'd put her in a coma).
Since then, her appetite has slowly returned, and as of yesterday and this morning is quite good - Bat-Bat's enthusiastically eating close to full ration at am & pm meals. BUT … I'm having trouble getting her dose right. I've attached a list re: the BG #s I'm getting. Vet had me reduce her ProZinc to 1U yesterday am, but her +3, +6 and PMPS BG #s were so high (see below), that I raised it to 1.5U that night. Was dismayed to get AMPS BG @ 490 today, so after she ate 4.25 oz. low-carb food, bumped her back up to 2U. Plan to test her at 3+ and 6 + again today to see if that's working. Do you think that 2U shot was a prudent choice? (I'm starting to suspect that - although he put her on a 12-hr. dosing schedule - Pro Zinc isn't lasting a full 12 hrs. in her system.) My vet's office no longer does on-call, so can't reach him again until tomorrow morning. I'd be so grateful for any advice you can offer! Thank you so much. I have listed her BG #s & dosages, etc. below (NOTE: Had just 3 strips left until Friday; had to make those few last, hence the less-than-optimum testing first 2 days.)
Date BG/ time ProZinc/ time Pre-Shot Amount Eaten
2.25.15 485/ 10:29a n/a 2 oz.
2.25.15 426/ 12:55p 2.0 / 1:30 p @ vet's 1 oz. @ home, post-inj.
2.26.15 522 AMPS/ 7:31a 2.0 / 8:45a 2.5 oz.
2.26.15 no strips left! 2.0/ 8:45p 3+ oz.
2.27.15 165 AMPS/ 8:30a 2.0/ 8:45a 4 oz.
2.27.15 +6 = 198/ 2:35p n/a ---
2.27.15 443/ 8:45p 2.0/ 8:48p 4 oz. (tested BG after food; stupid!)
2.28.15 124 AMPS/ 7:48a ---- 4 oz. finished 8:42a
2.28.15 117 AMPS #2/8:09a ---- ---
2.28.15 172 AMPS #3/8:42a 1.0/ 9:07a - instructed to reduce dose by vet based on #s
2.28.15 +3 = 287 n/a
2.28.15 +6 = 265 n/a
2.28.15 509 PMPS/ 8:18p ---
2.28.15 524 PMPS #2/ 8:35p 1.5/ 8:45p 4.5 oz. by 8:35 p
2.28.15 +3 pm = 492/ 11:42p n/a ---
3.01.15 490 AMPS/ 7:43p 2.0/ 8:10a 4.25 oz. by 8:10a
3.01.15 +3 am = 435 ---- ---
3.01.15 +7 = 349
Bat-Bat will remain on antibiotic Orbax for a 20-day course, once daily.
Two thing of note:
1) Her food consumption increased (4+ oz both am/pm) to much nearer what she should have starting Fri 2/27, and her #s were good until that night, when I accidentally ck'd BG after she's begun eating. Both shots that day were 2U.
2) Those low AMPS #s yesterday were what caused vet to reduce by a unit, so shot 1U that morning after she ate 4 oz . But I think maybe that was too big a redux?
So I did up it to 1.5U on my own that night (noting high 200s at +3 & +6$ but her BG has remained in the mid -to-high 400s & low 500s ever since, except for last BG +7 posted above. Frustrating, as I know the 1.5u I gave this morning was a good shot. (All have been.). As it's still high, do you think I should go to 2U tonight, or wait until I can ck with vet tomorrow morning? She is sleeping aost all the time between meals ... Worries me, esp. considering the 1+ ketones found in her urine at vet on Wednesday.
Some background: She'd been in remission since 10.04.13, after just under 2 mos. TR using Lantus + low-carb diet (low-carb ever since). Her return to full-blown diabetic state appeared quite suddenly 5 days ago, with vomiting of golden liquid afternoon of 2.24.15 & again at 4 am on 2.25 - w/little appetite for either dinner 2.24 pm or breakfast on 2.25 (< 1/2 usual ration eaten). Most unusual for her! Alpha Trak2 tested 475 BG at 10 am on 2.25, so went to the vet, where he got a 426 BG.
Vet's testing also showed high WBC, anemia; and in urine, 4+ glucose & 1+ Ketones. He suspcts UTI, so rx'd Orbax 1x/daily, which I gave @ 3 pm after getting a tiny amt. of food in her. He told me she's "…critically ill & prognosis is guarded, so we'll see how the next 7 days go" and that if she were not such a fractious cat, he'd have hospitalized her. But given how badly she reacts in-office, he feared stress would make her worse. Vet had given her 2U ProZinc at 1:30 pm (she hadn't eaten since 8 am). She had to be gassed, as usual, with Isoflurane (<15 min) for the comprehensive exam, as she'll tolerate NO one touching her except for me. (Feral rescue @ 1 mo. of age; has issues with humans!)
She'd lost all bladder control on way home in her carrier - sopping wet up to armpits - & was both groggy and limp. I hosed her down in shower (so sick she just sat there w/no fuss), gently dried her off & spoon fed her a little. Unsure whether she was not throwing off the gas effect in her weakened state or had really gone hypo, gave a tiny amount of syrup and watched her carefully. He'd told me to give her 1U at 7pm if not eating, 2U if she ate, but could NOT get her to eat. As she was still extremely groggy/ weak all night, I didn't dose her at all (too petrified that I'd put her in a coma).
Since then, her appetite has slowly returned, and as of yesterday and this morning is quite good - Bat-Bat's enthusiastically eating close to full ration at am & pm meals. BUT … I'm having trouble getting her dose right. I've attached a list re: the BG #s I'm getting. Vet had me reduce her ProZinc to 1U yesterday am, but her +3, +6 and PMPS BG #s were so high (see below), that I raised it to 1.5U that night. Was dismayed to get AMPS BG @ 490 today, so after she ate 4.25 oz. low-carb food, bumped her back up to 2U. Plan to test her at 3+ and 6 + again today to see if that's working. Do you think that 2U shot was a prudent choice? (I'm starting to suspect that - although he put her on a 12-hr. dosing schedule - Pro Zinc isn't lasting a full 12 hrs. in her system.) My vet's office no longer does on-call, so can't reach him again until tomorrow morning. I'd be so grateful for any advice you can offer! Thank you so much. I have listed her BG #s & dosages, etc. below (NOTE: Had just 3 strips left until Friday; had to make those few last, hence the less-than-optimum testing first 2 days.)
Date BG/ time ProZinc/ time Pre-Shot Amount Eaten
2.25.15 485/ 10:29a n/a 2 oz.
2.25.15 426/ 12:55p 2.0 / 1:30 p @ vet's 1 oz. @ home, post-inj.
2.26.15 522 AMPS/ 7:31a 2.0 / 8:45a 2.5 oz.
2.26.15 no strips left! 2.0/ 8:45p 3+ oz.
2.27.15 165 AMPS/ 8:30a 2.0/ 8:45a 4 oz.
2.27.15 +6 = 198/ 2:35p n/a ---
2.27.15 443/ 8:45p 2.0/ 8:48p 4 oz. (tested BG after food; stupid!)
2.28.15 124 AMPS/ 7:48a ---- 4 oz. finished 8:42a
2.28.15 117 AMPS #2/8:09a ---- ---
2.28.15 172 AMPS #3/8:42a 1.0/ 9:07a - instructed to reduce dose by vet based on #s
2.28.15 +3 = 287 n/a
2.28.15 +6 = 265 n/a
2.28.15 509 PMPS/ 8:18p ---
2.28.15 524 PMPS #2/ 8:35p 1.5/ 8:45p 4.5 oz. by 8:35 p
2.28.15 +3 pm = 492/ 11:42p n/a ---
3.01.15 490 AMPS/ 7:43p 2.0/ 8:10a 4.25 oz. by 8:10a
3.01.15 +3 am = 435 ---- ---
3.01.15 +7 = 349
Bat-Bat will remain on antibiotic Orbax for a 20-day course, once daily.
Two thing of note:
1) Her food consumption increased (4+ oz both am/pm) to much nearer what she should have starting Fri 2/27, and her #s were good until that night, when I accidentally ck'd BG after she's begun eating. Both shots that day were 2U.
2) Those low AMPS #s yesterday were what caused vet to reduce by a unit, so shot 1U that morning after she ate 4 oz . But I think maybe that was too big a redux?
So I did up it to 1.5U on my own that night (noting high 200s at +3 & +6$ but her BG has remained in the mid -to-high 400s & low 500s ever since, except for last BG +7 posted above. Frustrating, as I know the 1.5u I gave this morning was a good shot. (All have been.). As it's still high, do you think I should go to 2U tonight, or wait until I can ck with vet tomorrow morning? She is sleeping aost all the time between meals ... Worries me, esp. considering the 1+ ketones found in her urine at vet on Wednesday.
Last edited:
)