Need advice about bg test results

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barb & Mr. Frog

Member Since 2013
First, I will say, I'm pretty sure frog was nauseous again earlier, I gave him 1/4 pepcid AC approximately 2 hours before the first test (hoping to make sure he would actually eat for his shot)
The +11 reading was 151, since it was low, I waited 30 mins and tested again and this time it was 141. Any chance the pepcid would directly affect the bg?

I am confused, shouldnt it be going up at 11.5 hours past the last shot? Even if he hasn't eaten in the past two hours? I also, am assuming I should NOT give him his shot this evening based on those numbers, do I need to be testing him again soon this night, and if so, about how long apart and how many would I need to do?
 
Definitely no shot, good call. When he is going down at 11.5, what we usually think is that the dose is too high because it has lasted longer than "normal" Ideally you want two shootable preshots, one in the am and one in the pm. If I were you, I would reduce the dose a little. You can test a little after the +12, just in case the insulin does wear off and he gets up into a shootable range (over 200), but I would think it would be unlikely.

Depending on whether you can adjust your schedule, you could "chase" the number until it is higher and shoot then. But that means your next shot would need to be 12 hours from that one, which may not work for you.

If you skip, the number in the morning may be higher than usual. That will be because he will have been without a shot for 24 hours. Even if it is a little higher, I would reduce the dose.
 
His am number was a little higher (317) as expected, but not crazily so, so I reduced his shot to .75, hopefully that is enough of a reduction?

I've definitely caught this flu from my grandbaby, so even tho my daughter is picking him up this morning, I'm guessing the curve will have to wait a lil bit again. I got his pre test this am, but I almost vomited on him while getting it (sorry for being gross) Thank goodness cats dont get people bugs... this would be so bad.
 
Oh no, you and Frog take a quiet day in bed and both feel better. You can get back on track when you feel well again.. The good news is that he is responding well to the insulin and food.
 
Barb take care of yourself the best way you can. I know what you are going through.

I got the flu about two weeks after picking up Wink Wink the shelter to foster. It was all I could do for the first few days to feed the cats, scoop litter boxes, test and shoot Wink and sleep a lot. Didn't even feel like eating.

Take good care of yourself so you can take care of your kitty Frog.
 
Ok, so this mornings preshot number is higher yet (416), is it possible the dose reduction is a bad idea? I am feeling as though I should give him the 1u again, maybe his numbers were low that one day because of the nausea?
 
He may be bouncing - after going lower than his "normal" or dropping quickly, his body reacts as if it were in trouble and releases compensatory hormones and stored carbs to raise the glucose back up.

It is impossible to say because you have no mid-cycle tests. Are you able to get any - like before bedtime, or mid-day, or set your clock for the middle of the night? The mid-cycle tests would show if he gets dangerously low.
 
So, should I leave the dosage lower then?

Edit: I am starting to feel better from the flu, but I have alot of errands to run today, which means I'll be out almost all day, I am going to stay with the lower dose since I can't be here with him to test, and I'll do my best to get some middle numbers in.....

On testing... He has been eating 4-5 smaller meals each day, do I need to test before he eats each time, or is it ok that he eat for mid-cycle tests?
 
I would for this one cycle. You can get some midcycle numbers and then go from there. (better too high for a day than too low for a minute)

Just checking - you are getting some ketone tests in?
 
I have been getting ketone tests each time I can catch him at the box, I've noted the results in the comments section of his ss, so far all have been the exact same color as the negative on the bottle.
 
It's great if you get a preshot test and a midcycle test. (5-7 hours after the shot). You don't have to get more than that unless you are doing a curve, though every number adds to your information. So the rest are up to you.

Are you feeling better today?
 
But I am still confused on how feeding will affect mid cycle tests, are the pre-shot numbers the only ones that need to be done with no food 2 hours prior?
 
Yes, because those are the ones you want a true number for as you are deciding what to shoot. Midcycle or whenever you get a test during the cycle, just put something in the comments about when he ate so you know what might have influenced the number. Good info to have.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top