Need a blood glucose monitor in uk urgently

Status
Not open for further replies.

phlika29

Member Since 2014
Hi everyone

I had ordered a alphatrak 2 starter kit but they are now telling me it won't be here till Monday. I am just back from the vets and remi has got his insulin and is ready to start. But now idont have a blood glucose kit to monitor his blood. What should I do?

Buy a human one? What one, where and is that ok with a script?
Start without one-don't want to but his blood glucose reading today was 23.7
Order the alphatrak from the vet at a much inflated price and hope it comes tomorrow

All suggestions gratefully received
 
I have phoned boots pharmacy and they have a number of different human testing kits in stock. So I will go up there in a bit and buy one of the accu track ones and hope it will do.
 
Just spotted your post, Sarah. Eliz uses the Accucheck Aviva. I can't recall any other recommendations from UK members.

What starting dose of Caninsulin are you giving Remi?
 
where are you based? If you're near West London and can drive, I can lend you one until yours arrives.
 
Critter Mom said:
Just spotted your post, Sarah. Eliz uses the Accucheck Aviva. I can't recall any other recommendations from UK members.

What starting dose of Caninsulin are you giving Remi?

Hi

I am so exhausted with all this that I am a little worried about a) getting blood out of his ear and b) reading this meter right. Am just off to boots now.

Caninsulin is one unit. Is that quite a conservative dose? Is there a link or anything for caninsulin users? I have emailed him and said I would prefer something else so we shall have to see.
 
SweetAngel said:
where are you based? If you're near West London and can drive, I can lend you one until yours arrives.

Thankyou for the kind offer. I will be in west London next Thursday but alas I am normally in dorset.
 
Saoirse started on one unit. On her first curves (taken during a 3-day stay at the vets) her BG was 33 or even off the monitor scale completely. She was on high carb dry food.

Be sure to warm Remi's ear for a decent amount of time to increase the blood flow. I didn't warm Saoirse's ear long enough on her first few tests and I had difficulty getting a blood drop. As you continue to test, more capillaries will form and it gets easier. If you apply a thin film of Vaseline over the test area, it helps the blood to bead up.

If you look on the main FDMB board index, there's a link to the Caninsulin support group on that page.
 
Saoirse started on one unit. On her first curves (taken during a 3-day stay at the vets) her BG was 33 or even off the monitor scale completely. She was on high carb dry food.

Be sure to warm Remi's ear for a decent amount of time to increase the blood flow. I didn't warm Saoirse's ear long enough on her first few tests and I had difficulty getting a blood drop. As you continue to test, more capillaries will form and it gets easier. If you apply a thin film of Vaseline over the test area, it helps the blood to bead up.

If you look on the main FDMB board index, there's a link to the Caninsulin support group on that page.

Sometimes a cat will look for food about an hour or so after the insulin injection and that can be an indicator of the insulin 'kicking in'. After the insulin has been administered, I'd suggest testing Remi at +2, +3 and +4 to see when main onset starts and give yourself some reassurance of where his BG is at. If you could also get readings at +6, +8 and +10 that would be a full curve (maybe a bit too much for the first day of home testing! nailbite_smile ).
 
Hello - yes, one unit of Caninsulin is quite a conservative dose, and with a BG reading in the 20s you should be safe giving that dose. However, it is always best to be sure, and if you do by now have a meter it would be good to try to get a test if you possibly can. I won't go through all the hints and tips here right now, as plenty of other people will, or you could post a new thread asking for testing suggestions.
Ref a meter itself (again, If you haven't as yet got one), many of us in the UK started with a One Check Ultra (I think it was called - it was reasonably reliable and strips were readily available on ebay). I don't have a need for diabetic supplies these days and gave away my previous things, but it may be that one of our other UK members will still have a meter that they could offer you. In any case, keep posting and we will help in any way we can.
Good luck
Diana
 
Okay I got the aviva accu chek. It comes with some sort of lancet.

So my plan is to feed remi at 7 his dinner and then straight after take a blood glucose and then if the number is okay give caninsulin injection.

Does it not make a difference than he will have just eaten before I take the blood glucose or should I do it beforehand? I am very confused.
 
Test, then feed, then inject. You need his fasting BG level. The food can influence the BG.

Don't worry, this will be second nature for you in a few days. :smile:
 
Just done it before food. The result was 23.3 mmol/l. I don't need to convert this figure at all do I? I was expecting a human number I had to convert. This is almost the same number the vet came up with

So now I go ahead feed him and dose him?
 
Yes, feed and give the one unit.if you can, test again after a couple of hours, so we can see what effect that dose has had. Well done for getting a reading so quickly!
 
Rather stupidly I gave him some food when we got back from the vets so he hasn't eaten that much just now. Do I still give the injection?
 
Yes, you should be fine at that bg number and that dose. Keep an eye on him and get him to eat a little more if you can, and test again in an hour or two - the reading will give interesting data on how the insulin is working.
 
I've injected him with 1 unit. Will retest in 2 hours and then agin abit later.

What should I expect if it all goes okay. Remi will perk up in abit? Want food ? He usually eats about 9 and then 11 pm. If the insulin lasts 12 hours does it suddenly drop off? If I retest the blood glucose in the morning at 7am will all the insulin have left his body and the number be back up to it was tonight? Or is the aim to redoes before it all wears off?

I am keeping a record and I know that I should start a spreadsheet but I think I will start that over the weekend.
 
You may not notice an immediate change but it all depends on how that particular insulin works in Remi, this particular cat. Different cats metabolise in different ways which is why we need to see other readings if possible. One unit is quite a conservative dose and his current bg is quite high. He may show a good drop quite quickly (which would be typical of Caninsulin) but if so, his bg may rise again quite soon in the 12 hours until the next shot. It's almost impossible to say at this stage.
Try to relax a bit, keep an eye on him, and post here with any updates or concerns.
 
Thankyou. I will try to relax for a couple of hours and stop obsessing over it. I am driving my partner mad!

Remi has got up and come downstairs and sat on my lap. The first time he has done this off his own back for a few days. :smile:

Will check back in in an hour with a new reading.
 
The +2 and +3 readings will give you some idea of Remi's nadir (although it could be later, hence the need for 12-hour curves.

drops the BG quite hard and fast at the beginning of the cycle and keeps it down mid-cycle (the period of peak effect of the amorphous insulin component). It then rises again but the crystalline component continues to act for the rest of the cycle. Tests around the +6 to +9 should give you a guide to how long the peak insulin effect lasts for Remi, but ECID. There may also be some carryover from the previous dose (a period beyond the manufacturer-specified period of effect where some insulin from the last dose may still be working in Remi's system.

It can take time for the dose to settle. As you gather more data, you will learn Remi's pattern.
 
I've just done a +2 reading and it is 15.06 mmol/l. It took three goes to get enough blood and the machine I got only comes with 2 lancet drums each with 6lancets. So we have already nearly used one!

Remi seems a little lethargic/spaced out and still hasn't eaten much. I am assuming this is just the effect of the new drug as he numbers aren't anywhere near low are they. I shouldn't be converting the number at all should I?
 
That's not a bad drop, more or less as expected. If you can, do a couple more tests tonight to try to give us an idea of how the insulin is working. I won't be on the board too much longer today but some of the Americans will be around and if you can multiply your numbers by 18 you will get the US equivalents (the US use their own numbers, the rest of the world use the ones you're giving here).

ETA: when you talk about lancets, do you mean strips? Lancets are the little sharp needles that are usually encased in a plastic device that you use to prick the ear. Also - if you re-name your thread, or start a new one, to say TESTING BG FOR FIRST TIME, HELP NEEDED, you should generate more supplies than to this thread which looks as if it is mainly about needing a meter in the UK. You have that now and have moved on to the next step!
 
Phlika29 said:
It took three goes to get enough blood and the machine I got only comes with 2 lancet drums each with 6lancets. So we have already nearly used one!

You don't have to switch out the lancet every time. ;-)
 
Diana&Tom said:
That's not a bad drop, more or less as expected. If you can, do a couple more tests tonight to try to give us an idea of how the insulin is working. I won't be on the board too much longer today but some of the Americans will be around and if you can multiply your numbers by 18 you will get the US equivalents (the US use their own numbers, the rest of the world use the ones you're giving here).

ETA: when you talk about lancets, do you mean strips? Lancets are the little sharp needles that are usually encased in a plastic device that you use to prick the ear. Also - if you re-name your thread, or start a new one, to say TESTING BG FOR FIRST TIME, HELP NEEDED, you should generate more supplies than to this thread which looks as if it is mainly about needing a meter in the UK. You have that now and have moved on to the next step!

Thanks for your reply

I will try to do two more if I can stay awake:). I feel exhausted with all the stress. Remi's appetite seems to have dismissed but I guess that might be the drop in BG?

Thanks for your help

No I mean the sharp needles that come in the drums. The pack had a fair amount of strips but only 12 needles that get put in a pen thing. I don't really get how it works, whether you just keep going around with the clicker thing or whether it stops you.
 
KPassa said:
Phlika29 said:
It took three goes to get enough blood and the machine I got only comes with 2 lancet drums each with 6lancets. So we have already nearly used one!

You don't have to switch out the lancet every time. ;-)

Ahh okay. But how does it work with the clicker pen /drum thing. Does it allow it to go around again? Or should I get hold of the individual ones?
 
Yes I sympathise, it is very tiring while you're getting the hang of it, but it does get much much easier. Maybe the best thing to do tonight is work out what time you want to go to bed and test again then, just to be sure that there is no steep drop further into the cycle. I'd say it is doubtful at that dose but there are no certainties in this game!
Sorry, when you mentioned lancets and drums I thought you meant strips, which can also come in drums. Lancets can, I think, be used several times without much of a risk. Others may disagree but if the lancet is only being used for one animal there should be no risk of contamination. The whole issue of supplies is one that you will work out as you go along.
As I mentioned before, I do suggest that you start a new thread or rename this one to reflect current contact, as us UKers will be off to bed before long and you may want other (US) eyes on it before you get some much needed sleep...
 
Seen your new thread, well done, hopefully that will attract some new members and more replies.
BTW sorry if my earlier posts contained a few odd spelling mistakes, had a long day here and just about ready to think of my bed! Good luck and will catch up with you tomorrow.
 
Phlika29 said:
Ahh okay. But how does it work with the clicker pen /drum thing. Does it allow it to go around again? Or should I get hold of the individual ones?

I use an Accu-Check FastClix that uses those drums instead of individual lancets. Once the countdown reaches 0, you have to switch out the drum set, which contains 6, if you're using the same or a similar model to what I use. Most people on here will switch them out after every test (i.e. one per test, regardless of attempts) or once a day. When I first started testing, I was getting help from a lot of my human diabetic friends and they switch theirs out maybe once every few months. :o I never felt comfortable doing that so I switch mine out every week or two...which I only found out later still seems to be less frequently than most people here. ;-) A single 6-lancet drum will last me about a month or so. It's up to you how frequently you feel comfortable changing them out.

ETA: Also, since the lancets are in that drum thing, you don't have to treat it as a sharps and can toss it in your regular trash.
 
KPassa said:
Phlika29 said:
Ahh okay. But how does it work with the clicker pen /drum thing. Does it allow it to go around again? Or should I get hold of the individual ones?

I use an Accu-Check FastClix that uses those drums instead of individual lancets. Once the countdown reaches 0, you have to switch out the drum set, which contains 6, if you're using the same or a similar model to what I use. Most people on here will switch them out after every test (i.e. one per test, regardless of attempts) or once a day. When I first started testing, I was getting help from a lot of my human diabetic friends and they switch theirs out maybe once every few months. :o I never felt comfortable doing that so I switch mine out every week or two...which I only found out later still seems to be less frequently than most people here. ;-) A single 6-lancet drum will last me about a month or so. It's up to you how frequently you feel comfortable changing them out.

ETA: Also, since the lancets are in that drum thing, you don't have to treat it as a sharps and can toss it in your regular trash.

Forgive me but I don't understand what you mean. Once the all six lancets in my drum have been used a red line appears and that is that. It doesn't seem to work anymore. Are you saying you can override this? I've used them up already. Can you reinsert the drum and it resets or something?
 
I'm saying you just don't flip the switch to the next lancet...unless they've changed the design to make it automatically change out the lancet?? Which lancing device are you using and I'll look it up for you?
 
KPassa said:
I'm saying you just don't flip the switch to the next lancet...unless they've changed the design to make it automatically change out the lancet?? Which lancing device are you using and I'll look it up for you?

Oh I think we mucked up then. We thought that was just a reminder thing. I am using the accu-check aviva. I thought it was just a countdown thing. Does that mean I can turn it back? I've got none let now and I didn't manage to take any more readings as I kept getting an error message. This stuff is tricky:(
 
I seem to keep coming up against problems that make this much more stressful than it needs be. I have not been able to take another reading as I have used up all the syringes and nearly all the test strips (I only got it tonight).

I can't stay up any longer and poor remi's ear looks a mess. What about tomorrow morning though. What shall I use to lance his ear and what I can't make the machine give me a reading. I did it ok the first two times but now I seem to add the blood to the strip wrong and it just gives me an error message. Would you just give the injection blind?
 
You might try free-hand lancing. Just brace the ear, hold the lancet in the other hand, and roll your whole had to make the prick. I find I can see where I'm aiming so much better and I feel like I have more control.
 
Hi from another UK'er,
Just a quick message to say what a fantastic job you are doing already! :RAHCAT
Well done for wanting to hometest, and for managing to learn it SO fast. Your cat may be unlucky in having developed diabetes but he is extremely fortunate in having you as a care-giver!!!

The glucose meter kits usually come with just a handful of lancets and strips to get you started, but you should be able to buy more (in larger quantity) in pharmacies. Ongoingly, if you're OK buying on Ebay, you may well get test strips for around half the RRP. (The test strips are the main cost of testing).

What are you feeding Remi at the moment (sorry if I missed that bit).

Here's a link to some FDMB info on Caninsulin (also called Vetsulin in the US): viewtopic.php?f=19&t=302

Eliz
 
Hi eliz

Many thanks for your encouragement it really helps.

I sort of feel responsible as remi has been on steroids for a while and although I monitored it I should have picked this up quicker. Anyway since his diagnosis I have been reducing his dose and transitioning him onto wet food. Remi is sensitive to fats and so have been looking for a food that has a high % of calories from protein -above 50%, fat that is between 35-45% and obviously low carbs. At the moment I have him on applaws chicken breast in jelly but it isn't a complete food. I have some thrive food which I would like to switch to slowly but bit worried about the sunflower oil in it.

Off to work now. Haven't injected him this morning as his readings were 7 mmol/l + 12. Possible due to Lille steroid in his system this am?
 
7.0!! :o Allowing for your human glucometer giving a lower value than a pet meter would, that's very nearly in the euglycaemic range. It will be interesting to see what Remi's readings are tonight.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top