squeem3
Very Active Member
I posted this in Lantus but haven't gotten a response yet so I thought I'd try the general Health forum.
I've noticed that when a pen gets down to the last 100 units or so of insulin, the insulin packs a punch. Has anyone experienced this as well? Leroy has needed daily dose decreases in the past few days because PMPS is under 100 and I'm not sure if he goes too low during the day. His feeder is set with snacks but sometimes Leroy messes with the feeder (Petsafe 5 compartment one) and the tray doesn't rotate to give him the snacks
I think there's about 40 units left in the pen as of this morning. Do I continue with the pen and keep dropping the dose? Or just start a new pen? A new pen doesn't really affect bgs and we always have to increase the dose until the pen is nearly empty and then we have to do dose decreases because the insulin just suddenly packs a punch
The vet is away this week but his secretary is well aware of the recent dose decreases and have been updating him. No response from the vet but that just means he trusts my judgement on adjusting the insulin dose.
I've noticed that when a pen gets down to the last 100 units or so of insulin, the insulin packs a punch. Has anyone experienced this as well? Leroy has needed daily dose decreases in the past few days because PMPS is under 100 and I'm not sure if he goes too low during the day. His feeder is set with snacks but sometimes Leroy messes with the feeder (Petsafe 5 compartment one) and the tray doesn't rotate to give him the snacks

I think there's about 40 units left in the pen as of this morning. Do I continue with the pen and keep dropping the dose? Or just start a new pen? A new pen doesn't really affect bgs and we always have to increase the dose until the pen is nearly empty and then we have to do dose decreases because the insulin just suddenly packs a punch

The vet is away this week but his secretary is well aware of the recent dose decreases and have been updating him. No response from the vet but that just means he trusts my judgement on adjusting the insulin dose.