? Nayeli's BG >500 3 times today

Status
Not open for further replies.

CLS

Member
Could you look at Nayeli’s spreadsheet? Today she has had three high >500. Would you suggest I go back to giving her the one unit if she is in the >500 at her PMSP. She has not been feeling good since Thurs, 25th. Her legs are giving her a lot of trouble moving. Walk or stand a little then she will lay down.
 
Wow. Her spreadsheet is certainly confusing. One unit on a 557 gave you a 78 pmps while 0.5 gave you blacks across the board. You have confidence in those low preshot tests - no chance they were inaccurate?

The only idea I have is that she is bouncing all over. I think I'd give her 0.5 for 3 cycles and see if things settle down. If she is consistently high and you see no lows, increase to one unit and hold that dose for at least 3 cycles. If you see a more settled pattern with either dose, hold it longer.

I do think it is very important that you get ketone tests daily while her numbers are so high.

Also maybe start keeping track of what foods you feed on which cycle and see if any flavor/brand is connected to the higher cycles.

My final idea is to try Lantus or Levemir. If she is this bouncy with ProZinc, a depot insulin might flatten out the cycles.

I wish I had better ideas. Her reaction to insulin is unlike any kitty I have seen.
 
Since Aug 23 I have been using the ReliOn Confirm, basically our same schedule, same process for testing and pretty much if not all the same food and brand, just rotating of the food. I will have to check back when I started a new box of test strips.

I have done two curves on her, both times with the AlphaTrak. I get so frustrated because on the first curve I did, July 16 thru the 17th her curve looked really good. These are her numbers from the first curve, 324, 362, 207, 139, 174, 253, 377, 536, 398, 417, 304, 276, 410, 140. Big time change with this second curve. Aug 13 and the 14th, 622, 623, 574, 474, 540, 511, 509, 504, 515, 526, 471, 454, 459, 497, 168.

Can pain make BG number change also. I would not call her active either, only moving when necessary. I will go back to checking the ketones, and note what she is eating on spreadsheet.

Not sure what to say about the chance of the numbers being inaccurate. Do I wait a certain amount of time then re-poke her, same ear to see if i get a similar reading?

Thank you again,
 
If those low numbers for pmps weren't in the picture, it'd seem like raising the dose is the obvious conclusion. Maybe check anytime you get a number that doesn't fit.
 
So Nayeli's PMPS is down to 342, I'll keep her at the 1/2 unit for the next three cycles. At 8pm tonight I gave her famotidine which is in a transdermal.
 
Thank you for that link because I sure do want to get her started on B12, give her any relief. Also thinking of adding a good probiotic. Maybe between the two she will gain some weight back.
 
When we were at the vet on the 15th her potassium level was good. Have to see if I can get some more food into her, so I can get the insulin into her. Tonight she is playing I dont like that what else do you have. Thank you so much again.
 
Is the famotidine for high blood pressure? Any chance it raises or lowers the bg level? You might post on Health and see if anyone else gives it and if it affects the levels, and if there is an alternative if it does. (I am looking for a reason for the sometimes drastic drop before pmps)

Nicer pmps this am!
 
The famotidine is a compounded transdermal medications for her, that is rubbed into the inside of the tip of an ear . "A systemic gastric acid production inhibitor, that is, it inhibits the production of acid rather than neutralizing it. It is not an appetite stimulant. It simply eliminates one of the disturbances that can cause a cat not to eat and, therefore, may improve appetite." (http://www.felinecrf.com/meds0.htm) explains this drug in more detail.

I have applied the famotidine again this morning after I tested her BG at 6:30 am. ReliOn gave me a "HI" so I checked it with the AlphaTrak, same blood sample and its reading was 657!!! So, I think her earlier >500 test were correct.

I am wondering if I should go back to the one unit of insulin. The 27th, 28th and 29th she received just the 1/2 dose. If she is having pain issues, wondering if her levels will still be high even by increasing her dose back to one unit.

I need to call the vet and get Nayeli in to have her blood pressure taken and weighed as well. I weighed myself with her then again alone and did the difference and she has lost a pound according to my scale, not good, she was only 7 lbs last check up.
 
Can you monitor next cycle? I might go ahead and raise to 1 unit again if you can since she's been high for a few days.
 
I can work around her BG checks. Thinking tonight I would give her 1 unit of insulin at her PMPS check. We ran over to PetSmart so I could get an accurate weight on her. Vet will be calling in a script for buprenorphine Wed, so I hope that will give her some relief until I can get my hands on Meth Vit B12. She went from 7 lbs to 6.4, not to happy about that. Guess I might have to use the appetite stimulant for a few times/days.

Thank you
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top