My Molly has diabetes, I’m scared and unsure

Status
Not open for further replies.

MsMolly

Member Since 2017
Hello, I’m new here; so here’s my story. Sorry this is so long. My cat, Molly, has just been diagnosed with diabetes and I’m so afraid to start the injections. Here’s why. After she was diagnosed, they had me bring her in the morning after a long fast. They said they could keep her about 6 hours. They were going to test her glucose when she got there, inject her and recheck her numbers after eating. However, they called after 3 hours and said she wouldn’t eat so they told me to come pick her up. When I got there, I did not see the vet. Instead, they had a vet tech come to the waiting area and show me the insulin and how to get the correct dosage into the syringe. They told me to give it to her twice a day. Then they had me fill a syringe with saline and inject into one of their resident cats. The only other instructions were to not inject her if she hadn’t eaten. That’s it. As I said I didn’t see the vet and was not given anymore info on cat diabetes. He didn’t discuss with me her diet or anything else I need to do to help my cat. They didn’t even tell me when to bring her back for a recheck. Heck, I even had to ask when to give her the next dose. But my biggest concern was that they didn’t test her blood sugar after eating since she wouldn’t eat. How do they know what dosage to prescribe if they didn’t test her blood after eating? The vet prescribed 2 1/2 units of Prozinc twice a day.


So I’m afraid to start injections because I don’t want to cause her sugar level to drop too low. I’m so disgusted that I’m considering taking her to another vet. Right now, she seems to be doing ok. I’ve taken her completely off dry food and she’s eating Fancy Feast Classic food only quite well. Her urine output has significantly dropped and she’s not drinking as much water. She seems to be feeling better.


Unfortunately, right now I couldn’t give her an injection even if I wanted to. She went berserk when I tried to get her in the carrier and attacked me. I have quite a few painful bites and scratches on my hands. After I got her home, I had to go to the ER to tend to my wounds which were quite swollen and bloody. I’m on a course of antibiotics and my hands are still swollen. I don’t know why she lashed out at me. I had taken her to the vet 2 days before and I wonder what they may have done to her. She’s normally a very sweet cat.


So I’m so worried and I don’t know what to do. I’m concerned that she’s really going to fight me when I try to inject her. I’m so afraid she’s going to attack me again. I’ve read about using a glucometer but I’ll be lucky if I can just inject her. But I know I have to do this. I love her so, so much!

Thanks, Barbara
 
Hi Barbara, welcome. It’s all scary at first, but you’ve come to the right place! First
2 1/2u is too high a starting dose, especially with the food change to the low carb fancy feast, so good job realizing that! The best thing you can do is learn how to home test. I know that may be difficult for the next few days until your hands heal, but it’s really an easy thing to learn and we will be happy to help you with that. For now, you can start to desensitize her to the testing. Find a spot that will be your testing spot. Take her there multiple times a day and just pet her and maybe rub her ear if she’ll let you, then give her a low carb treat and let her go. Soon she will look forward to going to the testing spot and you’ll be more relaxed too. Keep asking questions, we have all been where you are and will help you through it.
 
Wow, sorry to hear you got attacked by your poor little Molly. Maybe she was just upset from everything. Hopefully, that will not happen again.

You have come to the right place. We can help and support you through this. You did great to get her off dry food and on low carb wet food. That could very well have lowered her glucose significantly. I suggest that you get a glucometer and test her glucose yourself. Then, you will know for sure if her glucose is high enough to need the insulin. You said the vet prescribed 2 1/2 units of Prozinc twice a day. Do you mean 2.5 units two times a day for a total of 5 units a day OR do you mean 1/2 unit twice a day for a total of 1 unit a day? The normal starting dose for Prozinc is not more than 1 unit two times a day. So, if he told you 2.5 units twice a day, do not do it. That is way too much to start with.

Unfortunately, a lot of vets know very little about feline diabetes. From the experience you have had, it sounds like you may want to start shopping for a new vet, but be prepared to have to learn a lot yourself so that you can play a very active role.
 
I'm sorry your vet left you feeling so unprepared for this care. But you definitly came to the right place. We are very supportive and will help you through this!

2.5 units is WAY TOO MUCH for a starting dose. 1 unit twice per day is the best starting dose. It's not safe to give more than that right away, esp since you changed to an appropriate diet and aren't home testing yet. Please reduce the dose.


Please familiarize yourself with signs of hypoglycemia, and be prepared with honey /syrup/high carb food just in case. Here's our link on what to look for and do. http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-to-treat-hypos-they-can-kill-print-this-out.15887/



If she is hard to inject try doing it all stealthy while she's eating. She may not even notice you doing it.

Sharon gave great tips for desensitizing her.

The best way to keep her safe would be to home test. I have a video in my signature showing how I test my cat CC at home.
 
Last edited:
He definitely meant 2.5 twice a day for a total of 5. Yikes! I’m glad I didn’t do that. I’m so thankful for this board, otherwise, I might have really harmed my kitty. Thanks!
 
Hi Barbara,

Welcome! I'm so sorry to hear about your experience. It makes me so sad that (most) vets do not give good guidance and then we feel so overwhelmed and upset. Diabetes is SO manageable and it's great that you've already switched Molly's food. As everyone has said, please get testing supplies (Walmart if you're in the states!) and we will all walk you through how to do this and give tips on finding what works best for the two of you. Also, once you do begin giving ProZinc, please also start at the lower dose! 'Start low, go slow' is such a good motto. Some cats need such a small amount and when they get too high a dose, it causes them to 'bounce' (we'll explain all the lingo) and then things can get wonky! In the meantime, just as Sharon said, spend a few days finding a comfortable spot, with good light and pet her and try to rub her ears for as long as she'll let you. Reward! Even if it's only for 30 seconds. I promise this is the best forum and we will do everything we can to help and support you! Keep us updated :)
 
Hi Barbara - I just wanted to say welcome and that you are absolutely in the right place! The amount of information is definitely overwhelming at first, but I promise you - once you start home testing and get into the routine of things, it takes away a lot of the stress and worry! :bighug:
 
Hi Barbara,
Sorry you have to be here but the folks here sure are kind and very knowledgeable and helpful. My cat Reger was diagnosed at the vet's but they didn't even tell me what his blood glucose was I had to call ask them. They said his bg was 615 when they tested it October 5th. Since then I got on here and learned a lot, actually I got on here right before the vet visit. I have learned so much here and Reger's bg is 75 this morning all from switching from Science Diet C/d to Fancy Feast with low carb and low phospherous. Food can make a huge difference!
Welcome Barbara and Molly!
Sherill
 
Hi Barbara and Molly. If you want some good weekend reading pour over and even print the "stickies" in the Prozinc forum. You'll get more responses from people if you post questions in either the Feline Health forum or more specific questions in the Prozinc forum. Some people don't come in this forum, it's more a meet and greet. What your vet did was not good, it's happened before. The good thing is that you already know what just looks or seems wrong so you're off to a good start. We can help you with everything.
 
Hello, I’m new here; so here’s my story. Sorry this is so long. My cat, Molly, has just been diagnosed with diabetes and I’m so afraid to start the injections. Here’s why. After she was diagnosed, they had me bring her in the morning after a long fast. They said they could keep her about 6 hours. They were going to test her glucose when she got there, inject her and recheck her numbers after eating. However, they called after 3 hours and said she wouldn’t eat so they told me to come pick her up. When I got there, I did not see the vet. Instead, they had a vet tech come to the waiting area and show me the insulin and how to get the correct dosage into the syringe. They told me to give it to her twice a day. Then they had me fill a syringe with saline and inject into one of their resident cats. The only other instructions were to not inject her if she hadn’t eaten. That’s it. As I said I didn’t see the vet and was not given anymore info on cat diabetes. He didn’t discuss with me her diet or anything else I need to do to help my cat. They didn’t even tell me when to bring her back for a recheck. Heck, I even had to ask when to give her the next dose. But my biggest concern was that they didn’t test her blood sugar after eating since she wouldn’t eat. How do they know what dosage to prescribe if they didn’t test her blood after eating? The vet prescribed 2 1/2 units of Prozinc twice a day.


So I’m afraid to start injections because I don’t want to cause her sugar level to drop too low. I’m so disgusted that I’m considering taking her to another vet. Right now, she seems to be doing ok. I’ve taken her completely off dry food and she’s eating Fancy Feast Classic food only quite well. Her urine output has significantly dropped and she’s not drinking as much water. She seems to be feeling better.


Unfortunately, right now I couldn’t give her an injection even if I wanted to. She went berserk when I tried to get her in the carrier and attacked me. I have quite a few painful bites and scratches on my hands. After I got her home, I had to go to the ER to tend to my wounds which were quite swollen and bloody. I’m on a course of antibiotics and my hands are still swollen. I don’t know why she lashed out at me. I had taken her to the vet 2 days before and I wonder what they may have done to her. She’s normally a very sweet cat.


So I’m so worried and I don’t know what to do. I’m concerned that she’s really going to fight me when I try to inject her. I’m so afraid she’s going to attack me again. I’ve read about using a glucometer but I’ll be lucky if I can just inject her. But I know I have to do this. I love her so, so much!

Thanks, Barbara
How are things going
 
I’ve been doing a lot of reading trying to educate myself. Trying to take in all this information in a short time is a bit overwhelming. I’m going to Walmart today to get a glucometer. That video on testing her glucose made it not look so hard. But I am so anxious about doing this because Molly is still so skittish. She’s always been a fraidy cat but the bad vet experience has just made it worse. I’m so afraid she’s really gonna fight me no matter how hard I try to make it not a bad experience. The last thing I want to do is hurt her or lose her trust. I’ve been trying to find some info on how I can work with her or train her to accept me doing things to her. Does anyone know how I can do that? Are there any good websites or books about cat behavior. Right now, she’s doing ok. I’m amazed at how much better she’s been just by switching to wet food. By the way, she’s only 8 years old; isn’t that kinda young for diabetes?
 
I’ve been doing a lot of reading trying to educate myself. Trying to take in all this information in a short time is a bit overwhelming. I’m going to Walmart today to get a glucometer. That video on testing her glucose made it not look so hard. But I am so anxious about doing this because Molly is still so skittish. She’s always been a fraidy cat but the bad vet experience has just made it worse. I’m so afraid she’s really gonna fight me no matter how hard I try to make it not a bad experience. The last thing I want to do is hurt her or lose her trust. I’ve been trying to find some info on how I can work with her or train her to accept me doing things to her. Does anyone know how I can do that? Are there any good websites or books about cat behavior. Right now, she’s doing ok. I’m amazed at how much better she’s been just by switching to wet food. By the way, she’s only 8 years old; isn’t that kinda young for diabetes?
@Chris & China
Has some good tips on starting to home test and desensitizing her to it. Mind posting your info, Chris?

If say for now start by just getting your cat used to having her ears touched and rubbed. Rub the ears for 10-20 seconds then give her a low carb treat. Soon she will associate having her ears messed with, with getting a treat.

8 is a little young but there are cats on here younger.
 
Leo loves carb treats after a test. Now he almost loves getting tested. There is a "special" blanket on the floor by the test area. I call him over and he gets right on it and lays down. I test him and he gets the treat. So, yes, he has trained me well :)

Eight years old isn't too old to get diabetes. Some kittehs get it at a younger age.

Yes it is scary to test and dose the first few days or so. But you are helping your kitty. And as your kitty gets healthier from your testing/insulin treatments the rewards are very high - a healthy kitteh.

You are doing well to self educate. There is some good info here. We are lucky. Diabetes is a very well understood disease, wish an easy treatment.
 
Welcome.... you have some great advice here and I want to let you know from experience you will learn here more than from most vets how to properly care for your kitty.... some of us get a bit overwhelming about certain things like home testing but please do not take it personal we just want to keep you and your kitty safe. Diabetes is very manageable it is just a learning curve. The more you read and watch others you will learn but be carful not to copy others dosage as they may have other issues. You will do great! Welcome aboard:bighug:
 
I found that I have to calm myself & even fake being self assured! For your kits sake! I eventually got it! I didn’t think I could ever test Baby repeatedly & she does still hide from me - but after a few verbal reassurances & treats, she trusts me again. Actually it seems she is closer to me, like she knows I’m helping. My story was not unlike yours in the beginning! Hang in there & bless you!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top