My Meter is all over the board - Is this normal?

Status
Not open for further replies.

hnkstr

Member Since 2011
Increased the dose to 3u this morning. Hoping the numbers come down.

Will work on the profile tonight, I have created the code and saved it, but the document wasn't accurate with Google Docs and it would not work.
i'll try and get something online tonight.
 
Re: 6/27 Tigger AMPS 354

I have the Relion Confirm, should I buy the control solution to check the accuracy of the meter?
Just pouring through the hundreds of pages of documentation and saw you can test the meter.
 
Re: 6/27 Tigger AMPS 354

Good morning.....good luck with the dosecrease.

It is always good to have the solution to check your meter once in a while.
Have a nice day. :-D
 
Re: 6/27 Tigger AMPS 354

Good luck Brent!

I read your post about scheduling problems and can only say Tigger's lucky to have you. You're doing a fantastic job
with the hand you've been dealt.

As I understand meters, even if they're "off", they're usually consistently off - meaning with Tigger's numbers
the variance would be applied consistently to all the readings, so you still have a pretty good idea what's happening.
Not that I'm saying "forget about it", but I'd be a lot more concerned if Tigger was flirting with hypo regularly.

Also, not to be a pessimist :twisted: , I've heard here and elsewhere of wonky control solution too.

Bruce
 
Re: 6/27 Tigger AMPS 354

Hey, thanks for the post Bruce!

Well I'm trying, and from the feedback i'm getting from my inner circle of family, friends and co-workers, the majority do not understand why i'm doing it.
So, I don't get alot of support or sympathy or assistance I guess. Its just a cat, right? cat(2)_steam

Well, my 10 year old nephew thinks its "Cool" since he was diagnosed with Type 1 Diabetes 2 years ago. He's on Lantus as well and now trusts Uncle Brent to give him his shots! :-D

All I can say is this website has been a blessing to say the least. Kind of felt like i've been on an island the past year since Tigger was diagnosed.
Passing on social activities that just wouldn't work out timing wise and explaining to family/friends that I just can't make it.

Trying to figure out my plans for the 4th of July weekend, both of my back up dosers are out of town and all of my options for the weekend are an hour away or more. But i'm sure i'm preaching to the choir here as everyone here knows how tough it can be to do this stuff!

I think I will pick up some control solution just to see what this puppy reads. Hate to have a meter that is off!
 
Re: 6/27 Tigger AMPS 354

I understand what you are talking about with friends and co-workers. I don't talk about it anymore because they all think I am crazy. I imagine it is even harder on a man. This board has definitely been a life saver for me, but especially Tarragon. I can come here and vent my frustrations and emotional breakdowns and everybody circles around. Taking care of a pet with FD is very emotionally exhausting and it is nice to feel like you are not alone.

You are doing a great job! It will just take time to find that balance. You don't have to eliminate your social life, just plan a little bit more.

Hope you have a great great day!
 
Re: 6/27 Tigger AMPS 354

I think we all understand about organizing our lives around our diabetic cats. I'm very lucky that my closest friends are cat owners and are as devoted to their cats as I am to mine. But, they are the exceptions. One of the members here would take her cat along when she and her DH were at a friend's house for the evening. I don't know if this is feasible for you and Tigger but, it's a thought.

If you're concerned about your meter, there's roughly 20% variance in any meter. In the absence of control solution here's what I'd suggest. First, when you poke Tigger, get a big drop of blood and test twice. Then, do the same thing with yourself. Are the numbers for the 2 tests consistent? Testing Tigger and yourself should give you an idea when testing with both higher and lower numbers. As long as the 2 tests with the same droplet are close, I would assume your meter is fine.
 
Re: 6/27 Tigger AMPS 354

just saw your answer about scheduling - i understand. i didn't realize it was a scheduling issue - a lot of vets, mine included, said you have a 2 hour window for giving the shots - i thought it was something like that.

your co-workers are clearly unenlightened sorts! :lol: don't tell them i said so though!!! i've always been a cat person - they like me and i like them, so i've never really understood the whole anti-cat sentiment. my dad's widow is 83 and she comes over sometimes and she doesn't want the cats to touch her or get hair on her clothes. ok. she's so lonely and i think a cat would be great company, but whatever.

we all get why you're devoted to your cat . . . cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 6/27 Tigger AMPS 354

Yes, my Vet said basically the same thing. Its a "Best Effort" and said you have a two hour window as well.

I will try a bit harder to get that as close to 12 hours as possible, maybe 4:30am - 4:30pm. Sometimes its just not possible.

The co-workers all have dogs i think and to them cats don't do anything but lie around. Well, when Tigger was 6 months old or so some lady was walking two dogs (no leashes) and one of them chased tigger into my house through my patio door. Well, Momma proceeded to jump the dog behind my recliner and beat the living snot out of that dog! All you could see was a blur of white as she pounded on that dog!
The lady looked at me like angrily and i'm like "leash your dog and keep them out of my house or this is what happens!" Never saw her again.
lol

So, she's my guard kitty.. lol And Tigger is the hunter, can let him out for 5 minutes and he's back with a mouse, or a 10lb rabbit!
 
Re: 6/27 Tigger AMPS 354 +11=295 PMPS 331 or 365

Ok, here's my new plan. Used to dose Tigger when I got home (3:30pm or so), but that's only 11 hours so I waited for 4:30pm and the 12 hour mark.
Now, he tested in at 295 at the +11 and then I fed him (If I wouldn't have I would have been seriously injured!) lol

Now, I waited for +12 and tested him twice, one came in at 331 and the second immediate test was 365.
I don't know if its very accurate.

Then I think I fur shot him.. @$^%^&$@$# cat(2)_steam
 
Re: 6/27 Tigger AMPS 354 +11=295 PMPS 331 or 365

Now this is the Tigger I love! Just chillin out. :cool:
 

Attachments

  • TiggerChillin.jpg
    TiggerChillin.jpg
    117.2 KB · Views: 344
Re: 6/27 Tigger AMPS 354 +11=295 PMPS 331 or 365

Ok, this meter is all over the board.
Tested Tigger at +2 and tested 3 times in about a minute
1. 309
2. 265
3. 297

So it dropped 44 points from the first to the second test and then raised 32.
What in the world do i do and which reading do I put on my Spreadsheet??
 
Re: 6/27 Tigger AMPS 354 +11=295 PMPS 331 or 365

Here's my 8:30pm +4 readings, took 4 different readings this time
1. 382
2. 259
3. 349
4. 290

That's a 123 point difference from high to low
Which should I use for the spreadsheet?
 
You can't look at this from high to low.

low ----- test ----- high
306 ----- 382 ----- 458
207 ----- 257 ----- 309
279 ----- 349 ----- 419
232 ----- 290 ----- 348
What I plotted out is your tested number and the +/- 20% range around that number. When you look at it this way, the numbers actually overlap. I would use the number you first tested.
 
Out of curiosity, why would you use the first number?

You are talking about the 382 right? Are there any meters that are more accurate?
 
I don't remember what the regulatory agency is (FDA?) but meters are permitted up to 20% variance. So, they are plus or minus 20% of the number you tested. It's the standard error of measurement for any number. So, you take the number in the middle as the best estimate but you need to remember that there's a range around any individual number.

A lot of people here use Relion meters. Several years ago, Consumers Reports did a comparison. The Relion got good scores.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top