My feral FIV positive kitty "Keith Richards"

Status
Not open for further replies.

kjmysko

Member Since 2014
Re: New to this forum need some advise please

Postby kjmysko » Sat Feb 22, 2014 9:50 pm

I am the permanent foster mommy of a feral cat with FIV for the last three years. I reached out to a cat rescue organization in my area back then since this poor kitty had a fractured front leg. The rescue group had a vet neuter him, and vaccinate him. The fracture eventually fused together. When this black feral returned to my home one week after the TNR process (Trap-Neuter-Release) - he has never left. My husband & I fell in love with this pathetic survivor, and with love, good food, & shelter, he came back to health and we named him "KEITH RICHARDS". It took over a year, but this "feral" is now my lap cat, with caution, however.

Even though the rescue group legally owns him, I am his caregiver, and KEITH lives in our heated garage, forever, I hope. My two purebreds live indoors, and have to be separated from Keith, and his FIV virus, which is contagious through blood.

To the point here, Keith was losing weight (four lbs.) the last six months and hair loss. Yesterday's weight was 7.95 lbs. down from 12.13 lbs. one year ago! I attributed much of that to FIV, and his years as a feral outdoors (we do not have an age for him!) Yesterday, 2/21/14, he wasn't eating or drinking his water excessively as usual. He also vomited twice and when I wiped it up with a white paper towel, I noticed blood in the vomit. I panicked, and phoned the rescue group who secured a vet appt. for Keith. I always pay for Keith's vet appointments as a "charitable" contribution, however, I receive the rescue groups 50% discount. Otherwise, we could not afford it. The vet's office is wonderful, and family owned. They not only treat feral cats and strays, they offer adoptions, and free service to "comfort dogs". Keith was hospitalized overnight and had a battery of tests and an abdominal X-Ray.

Keith was diagnosed with diabetes and pancreatitis as a secondary infection. He was given SQ fluids, buprenorphine injection, and 2 units of insulin. Doctor said initially his glucose level was over 600 - which would be diabetic coma for humans. Today, (Saturday 2/21/14), his glucose was in the 400's. We brought Keith home this morning, with pain syringes, and my Wal-Mart purchased Novolin insulin and syringes. Instructions at this early time for me is 2 units in AM, and 1 unit PM. Besides the diabetes shock, I was also shown the abdominal X-Rays where the doctor pointed out the three buckshot bullets that were lodged in Keith's hind leg and lower abdomen. Obviously, Keith was shot at when he was out in the wild, and because the buckshot bullets are encased in scar tissue - it does not appear to be a medical problem. I was appalled at all this and felt even more empathy for this cat.

Keith Richards will go back to the vet hospital Monday morning for a glucose curve over two days. The vet told me to keep Keith's diet the same for now - Fancy Feast Classic, with dry kibbles. I am committed to the insulin injections but am overwhelmed considering Keith's domestic situation is far from normal!

I will be able to give you more medical info on Keith's diabetes after his testing next Monday & Tuesday. I will definitely need your professional advice! Thank you very much, Kathy
kjmysko Posts: 1Joined: Sat Feb 22, 2014 8:46 pm


------------------------------------------------------------------------------


Re: New to this forum need some advise please

Postby Chris & China » Sat Feb 22, 2014 10:35 pm

Kathy, please go ahead and start a new post with your information. It's fine for you to just copy/paste your info from here, but it's important that you start a separate post so we don't accidentally give the wrong person the wrong information.

Just real quickly though, the dry food is too high in carbs for our diabetic kitties, and this includes the expensive "prescription" diets. The Fancy Feast classics are fine since they're less than 10% carbs. Here's a Food Chart that includes pretty much any food you can buy and the percentage of carbs (Column C). Again, it's important that you feed foods that are less than 10% carbs.

Novolin is NOT a good insulin for cats. The only 3 insulins that work well are Lantus, Levemir and ProZinc. Lantus and Levemir are human insulins so are available at any pharmacy. ProZinc is only available through a veterinarian. Novolin is too harsh, can drop their blood glucose too low too quickly and wear off too fast too. It sounds like you are going to need to talk to the rescue as well as either getting your vet to do a little research on the latest treatments for diabetes in cats or you find another vet so you can get a prescription for a better insulin. If your current vet is willing, here's the Roomp/Rand Tight Regulation Protocol which uses Lantus insulin. (Works for Levemir too)

It's very important that you learn how to home test. You wouldn't give a child insulin without knowing if it was safe first, and it's the same with our furkids.

Please go ahead and start your own thread and we'll all do our best to help you. There's a lot to learn, and we understand it can be overwhelming at first, but the people here are very experienced in treating diabetes at home, both safely and effectively.

God Bless you for caring for a FIV+ kitty too!!

Chris & China White (12yr F/S)
Dx date 5/10/13
Lantus
Relion Prime
Nature's Variety Raw Chicken 1%/Fancy Feast 4%
China's SS 2014
China's SS2013
China White's Profile
Civies..Cheaser & Cleocatra..Maine coon X's

Re: New to this forum need some advise please
 
Welcome, Kathy.

Give yourself some time to learn all the info here. After a while, the repetition will make it seem like second nature and you'll find yourself passing on the information to someone new.

Take a look at my signature link Secondary Monitoring Tools for some additional ways to asses the health of Keith Richards.

The insulin you got lasts about 6-8 hours in the cat.
Always test and feed about an hour before you give this insulin. It hits very quickly and very hard and may drop the glucose lower than desired if food is not being digested.

Here is a post with detailed information on how to use it.
 
Hello and Welcome :cool:

You have come to the right place. I too have a former street kitty, who came to us FIV+ and diabetic.

As Chris pointed out - dry food is inappropriate. Change his diet to wet only, under 10% carbs. The proper diet is the foundation for treatment.

FWIW, I used Lantus for my kitty; it's a gentle long acting insulin. After 21 months his diabetes went into remission - it's been a little over 4 years now :-D
 
Thanks everyone for giving me some sound advice. I will only feed Keith the Fancy Feast Classics, or other decent, cost effective canned food. He does like his treats though (Temptation, Party Mix, Greenies). The treats were my way of training this feral to behave when I want him off my lap without pawing me.
This morning early I brought Keith back to the vet hospital for his glucose curve testing, and I left a copy of Chris/China's posting about Novolin insulin. Keith's two vets are very educated, so we will see what their guidance is. This weekend went well with the insulin injections, and also Keith's pain syringe with Buprenorphine liquid for his pancreatitis. Forgot to mention before, he was also given a Convenia Injectable (0-10#) which is a long lasting antibiotic for any infection in the pancreas. Since Keith is feral, albeit has come a long way to domestication, his meds are going to be slightly different than your typical indoor kitty. I have two Balanese purebreds, so I know the difference. I will keep my postings current as much as I can. Again, thank you everyone . . .
Kathy
 
Before changing his food its important you start home testing because the food change will reduce his insulin needs and you could then overdose!!! Its even more of an issue with Novolin as thats a very harsh insulin.

For treats many of us feed freeze dried chicken which cats love and is zero carb.

Do you want more information on home testing?

Wendy
 
Yes, Wendy, in answer to your question, I will need home testing guidance. The urine strips will not work, because Keith sometimes uses the litter box, or the puppy training pads placed all over our garage - yes, he has been quite a lot of maintenance!

What I would like to use is a glucose monitor that is small, easy to use, and cost effective. I do not want to mess around with conversion tables from human to feline if I do not have to. The handling of Keith is always a challenge because he has all his claws, and since he will be feeling better, I am sure he will get friskier. Fortunately, the few insulin injections I have administered thus far are simple enough. But remember, Keith is currently on pain medication so he may not feel the sting as a normal cat would.

Any assistance is worth my time and effort. Thank you very much.
Kathy
 
We suggest using an inexpensive human glucometer with pet-specific reference numbers. One many of us use is the WallMart Relion Confirm, or Confirm Micro, which is also sold at American Diabetes Wholesale as as the Arkray USA Glucocard 01 or 01 Mini (same manufacturer - Arkray USA). It uses a tiny blood droplet and the cost is significantly lower for test strips (like $0.36 each).

Comparing a human glucometer to a pet-specific glucometer is like reading temperature in Celsius vs Fahrenheit. Both are correct. You just need to know the reference ranges to interpret what the numbers mean.

[Glucose reference ranges are unsubstantiated and have been removed by Moderator]


* * * * * * * * * * * * * * *​
Examples of using the chart:

Ex. You are a new insulin user and you test your cat before giving insulin. The test is 300. It probably is safe to give insulin.

Ex. You are an established user of Lantus, following the Tight Regulation protocol. You've tested around +5 to +7 to spot the nadir. It is 200 mg/dL. You probably need to increase the dose, following the instructions for the protocol.

Ex. Your cat is acting funny. The eyes are a bit dilated. You are concerned and test the glucose. The number is 35 mg/dL. ACK! The cat may be in a hypoglycemic state. You quickly follow the HYPO protocol linked in the glucose reference values chart. (which we really, really, suggest you print out and post on your refrigerator.)
 
Ok cool so here is a shopping list - the meter I recommended below is a human meter but many of us use this meter and it works great. No need to worry about conversion.

Getting started shopping list
1. Meter ie Walmart Relion Confirm or Micro.
2. Matching strips
3. Lancets - little sticks to poke the ear to get blood . new members usually start with a larger gauge lancet such as 28g or 29g until the ear learns to bleed. Optional - lancing tool.
4. Cotton balls to stem the blood
5. Neosporin or Polysporin ointment with pain relief to heal the wound
6. Mini flashlight (optional) - useful to help see the ear veins in dark cats, and to press against
7. Ketone urine test strips ie ketodiastix - Important to check ketones when blood is high
8. Sharps container - to dispose of waste syringes and lancets.
9. Treats for the cat - like freeze dried chicken
10. Karo syrup/corn syrup or honey if you dont have it at home - for hypo emergencies to bring blood sugar up fast
11. A couple of cans of fancy feast gravy lovers or other high carb gravy food- for hypo emergencies to bring blood sugar up fast

Get the kit and we can advise on how to test!

Wendy
 
He does like his treats though (Temptation, Party Mix, Greenies). The treats were my way of training this feral to behave when I want him off my lap without pawing me.
Oh, I'm sorry to tell you this Keith, but you'll need to learn to love different cat treats as all your current favorites are high in carbs.

How about some Halo Liv-a-little freeze dried chicken treats or some Pure Bites freeze dried chicken treats (have your mommabean buy the dog size, it's less expensive) or any other pure protein treat would be much better for you. Hope you can find another treat that you love.
 
kjmysko said:
The treats were my way of training this feral to behave when I want him off my lap without pawing me.

You're soon going to be using the treats in reverse (to get him to stay on your lap) when it comes to ear-testing. :lol: As Deb mentioned, you will need to change the treats to something that is pure protein-based, i.e. the only thing on the ingredient list is meat.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top