MurphsMom said:
Murphy is on Lantus . . . I understand that 4-6 hours after the morning insulin is when he would have his lowest reading???? And that at night before his second dose would be his highest reading?????
Although there are generalities about each insulin (and 5-6 hours post-shot is commonly quoted as the time when Lantus "peaks" -- i.e., gives you the lowest blood glucose levels), every cat is different and there's no way to know whether Murphy falls in the "typical" category.
For example, Charlie's lowest BG was frequently around 2 or 3 hours after his Lantus shot, whereas Chip's is often around +12 to +15.
To truly know how Murphy is responding to the Lantus, you need enough data that you can begin to see a pattern . . . and the most effective way to gather that data is to hometest. Why? Because you can easily take a reading any time of the day or night. Because those readings will show you Murphy's BG levels in his typical environment, with typical activity level, typical feeding and shot schedule, and so on. This is the data you want in order to make the best choices for your cat -- to make informed decisions about dosing.
Going to the vet clinic is an "event" for your cat, whether he shows it outwardly or not, and it can impact blood glucose values. Other than a few meows in the car, Chip is very non-plussed about going to the vet. However his BG can be 140 at home and over 300 a mere 15-30 minutes later at the clinic. I've learned not to make dosing decisions based on what we see at the clinic because the data is misleading. For Chip, it's artificially inflated.
I don't understand the vets reasoning with continuing with 2 units twice a day still.
You might want to ask him. He's probably looking at the BG of 362 a week ago as showing a need for some insulin, but today's 62 as an indicator that the dose needs to be dropped. So he's tweeking the dose downward to see what happens. He's limited by the data he has, which appears to be not much, and so it's really a guessing game.
There are so many variables to consider, such as how long the cat has been on a certain dose (it typically takes several cycles to see the impact of a dose increase with Lantus), whether any shots have been missed, whether the shot times have been consistent, where the BG test falls within the cycle, how recently the cat ate, and so on.
You'll find plenty of information, help, and support around here. Please keep asking questions. It can seem confusing and overwhelming but we've all been where you are and it does get easier.
One question: Has your cat been on any type of steroids recently?