My boy isn't feeling well tonight...advice needed

Status
Not open for further replies.

TammieCA

Member Since 2011
Hi all.

My boy, Caspian, hasn't been well today. I'm debating on taking him to the ER or waiting until tomorrow to go to my regular vet.

Bottom line is that he's been throwing up today. It started around 2:00 P this afternoon. It started as a large amount of food. But since then, he thrown up three more times, and now it's just liquid (with a kind of pinkish tinge?). He ate this morning, but hasn't had any food since. I haven't seen him drink either. When I tested him this afternoon at 2:30, he BG was at 246, which for him, is actually a lower number (we are having a very hard time regulating him.) He's due for his shot soon and I'm not sure whether to give it to him because he hasn't had food. I'm going to test him momentarily and hope I get a reading. The home testing has been a bumpy ride (and, yes, I know how important it is.) I don't/haven't tested for ketones and have no way of doing that tonight.

He's just not feeling good. I'm scared and I'm not sure if it's anything dire, or if he just needs to rest. I'm concerned over the lack of food/water today. I'm going to sign off and try and get a reading and decide what to do. He's sleeping now so I'm hoping I can get a sample to test. He's showing zero interest in food tonight and is incredibly finicky so there's nothing enticing I can even offer him.

I'm stressed and worried right now. Please keep good thoughts for him and hope I can get a BG reading. I'm fairly certain he will be high, but I'm not sure if he should get his shot since he hasn't had any food?

Thanks for reading.
 
He's at 372. He needs his shot. I'm going to offer food again, give him his insulin, and monitor closely. If anything changes, we're going to the ER. I tried to delete this thread, but couldn't figure out how. Thanks guys.
 
Is his current dose 3u? If he won't eat at all, you could maybe give a reduced dose to try to get the numbers from climbing higher? 1u?
I certainly agree with a trip to the vet. Vomiting once isn't really odd, but several times is not good. Is he prone to bouts of pancreatitis?
 
Sure hope you can get him to eat and he's able to hold it down!!

It's always a hard decision whether to shoot or not when they're not eating...You know they need the food, but when their BG is high, they also need the insulin!

You might want to test him for dehydration ...if he's dehydrated, he probably should go to the ER tonight
 
Do you know if he's ever shown ketones? Does his breath smell odd, like nail polish remover?
 
Yes, his current dose is three units. He has no history of pancreatitis.

He's never shown ketones since his diagnosis. His breath doesn't smell odd. I checked.

He does seem a bit dehydrated.

I'm going to give him a unit and keep an eye on him. Will try to entice him with baby food. We may end up at the ER.

Thanks all.
 
Thank you for asking. We did end up bringing him to the ER last night.

He got fluids and some anti-nausea medication. His glucose was high, but he was also very stressed. :( We talked with the ER vet for a while and she didn't feel he was crashing and he was stable. We opted for following up with our vet today for further tests. Due to the fact he was so sick and didn't eat, the doctor suggested skipping his insulin shot last night. By the time we were seen, it was midnight and he was already three hours past his typical shooting time. He has an appointment this afternoon where we will have his blood and urine tested, at the very least. When we got home last night, he drank water (I was so happy!) and seemed to perk up a bit. He wasn't as lethargic as he was earlier in the night. I think the fluids helped because he was dehydrated.

He woke us up this morning and wanted to eat. :) So, he had his breakfast and his pre-shot number was 376, which is pretty typical for him. He hasn't thrown up again and seems to be feeling better. He's sleeping right now and doesn't look uncomfortable or distressed.

Hopefully, all goes well at the vet this afternoon.

Thanks for your thoughts.
Tammie
 
Being dehydrated can really make them look and feel awful...I happy you took him in to get the fluids!

Keep feeling better Caspian!!

Sending lots of vetty vines your way for this afternoon's visit!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top