My boy has FD (just diagnosed) & pancreatitis.. please help.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lara

Member Since 2014
Hi all,

I am at my wits end...

I'll try to make this history as brief as possible, without negating important details...

Late September, I bring Seamus to vet for sinus problems (he has always had the snots...) While there, we decide to do exam and bloodwork, as he is 12, and due in October.

-bloodwork cam back great, except high glucose- 366

-recheck 2 days later- 250, 1 month later-322


During that month, we started him on purina DM wet pate'- he liked it at first, then needed to be guilted into eating it, so I switched to the DM savory selects, same thing & his weight was down 1 lb.(this from a cat who would eat ANYTHING and EVERYTHING!)


I did a lot of research on feline diabetes, saw that diet changes can prevent the need for insulin, and even took a shot at making homemade food. (He liked it at first, then off it...)


After he seemed to lose interest in eating, I brought him in (11/12/14), and he was diagnosed with pancreatitis, given fluids & a convenia shot, and B12 shot....( recheck a week later- bloodwork confirmed pancreatitis , and he was put on cerenia & zenequin. From the appt. on 11/12, until this past Thursday (12/4,) Seamus was eating ok... some days better than others, some days needing more fork-assistance to get in his required food. (all days excessive drinking & peeing). On his recheck on 11/28, his weight was up 1.5lbs! (When the cerenia was tapering off, his eating slowed down, so he was also put on an appetite stimulant.)


I brought him back in on Thursday (12/4) primarily because I wanted answers! Everything was so wishy washy... why was he not eating like crazy? Why is he not starting insulin (I had been home-testing #'s in the 200-300's & the non-stop drinking & peeing..) Why have they not discussed digestive enzymes or many of the things I have read about to help pancreatitis? Why can't they tell me how long this takes, and if he is going to get better? I'm not asking for a promise, just something to hold on to.

So on Thursday, his weight was down 1.6Lbs:( Vet was concerned (of course) he was given fluids & vitamins, & buprenorphine shot and I was sent him with insulin, Hills A/D diet & more bup. to give when shot wears off. Thursday was an awful night!!! He did come home & gobble down a whole can of food (most he's eaten at once in a long time,) I gave him insulin (as of now, he's only on .5 units and they don't want to increase that because he is not eating well), then he spent the rest of the night on Thursday with his head over his water dish- not drinking, just zoned out- he was soaking wet & didn't care. I was so scared. After a few hours of this, I tested his glucose, as I was worried it got too low- it was at 587! Emergency vet said not to worry, that can happen & zoning was a reaction to insulin or pain med.

Called my vet in am, and they said don't change anything- give insulin & bup. I did, and he was better Friday- still zoned, but not as much water bowl time & he ate 2 and 1/2 cans of the A/D (still w/ some assistance)- but that is twice as much as he would normally eat on a good day.

So, I didn't give bup. Friday night, as he was still asking to eat at 11pm- 3 hours after it was supposed to wear off. (I hated how zoned out he was, and figured 1 dose a day may be better?)

Saturday morning- he came downstairs with me, only ate a little before his insulin & bup, and stayed under the bed all day. Barely even coming out to go to the litter pan. Only ate a small amount. Vet said maybe because he ate too much the day before?

By Sunday, I had him at the er vet, to get fluids & a shot of cerenia. She thought his pancreas may have flared up due to the amount of food he ate, and that it was A/D (which my vet prescribed, but on the Hills website cleary states it is not good for cats with pancreatitis!)

Now today (Monday,) he is so weak. He ate some yesterday 1/2- 3/4 can of I/D, after his visit to the vet, and he ate a little I/D (prescribed by er vet) this morning and a jar of beef & broth baby food over the course of the evening. He is still going down 2 flights of stairs to his litter pan, walking downstairs with me sometimes (I usually am able to feed him then,) and greeted me when I got home from work. But there have been many times over that past few days (especially today,) that he seems to have zero energy, and I don't know how he gets up.

I'm not sure if this is that he still needs to get over the pancreatitis, or that the diabetes is getting worse (numbers have been steadily hovering in the 400's- yes, since we started the insulin!) Or both... I assume his glucose numbers have escalated due to the food he has been eating all weekend (prescribed because his appetite was so bad, but now he's worse!)

Vet took over a month starting him on insulin, despite my pushing- because his numbers were in the 200's, with only a few 300's sprinkled in. But he was drinking & peeing like crazy. (Vet said he shouldn't be doing that with numbers in the 200's. BUT HE WAS, and his CBC in late September showed everything else was great, so it had to be diabetes, right? Maybe Seamus became diabetic before 300?

Ok, so I haven't really asked much here, but if any of you have any insight you can offer, it would be greatly appreciated. With him so weak all of a sudden, I am worried about having to make a decision that I cannot even fathom.
(He's had poor appetite for a month, yes- and he's been under the bed a lot, but he's never been weak like this!)

Has anyone had a similar situation? Has anyone had a kitty get so weak, and them recover? I don't know what to do here, and my heart is breaking over and over.

Any suggestions will help:)

{Seamus is currently taking:
1/2 tablet (8mg) Cerenia every 12 hours
1/4 tablet Cyproheptadine HCI (4mg) 2-3 times a day
.15 Buprenorphine (was .36, then .3, then we cut it in half again, because he was a zombie on it)
.5 units Vetsulin every 12 hours (I know- that insulin sucks... my vet gets annoyed when I quote things I've read on the internet, and does not offer PZI)}

Food suggestions too, would be great, as he seems to need variety. Tried beef & broth baby food today, ate that very well

Thanks so very much,
Lara
 
Re: My boy has FD (just diagnosed) & pancreatitis.. please h

I am sorry you and your sweet boy are having such a hard time. It sounds like you have been a great advocate for him, trying lots of different things without enough support

You might try syringe feeding and see if he will eat something. Here is some info on it:

Syringe feeding

I would also get ketone strips and test for ketones. Inappetite, high blood glucose levels and an infection can cause DKA.

ketones

Here is a great thread on pancreatitis:

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=14&t=83108

I'd move him or his litter box so he didn't have to go so far. Have you tried Fancy Feast or Friskies pates? Most cats seem to like those.

Are there any other vets in your town? You are right - Vetsulin is not the best insulin and he has definitely been off on food choices. I would think he should be treating him more aggressively.
 
Re: My boy has FD (just diagnosed) & pancreatitis.. please h

Hi Lara. I saw your post on the Feline Pancreatitis Support Group. I would also suggest letting him have a litter box closer to where he hangs out.
I know my kitty had good days and bad days which really seemed more like good hours and bad hours.
For J.D., giving the bupe was important, he would not feel good if I with held it.
I would also suggest trying to find a different vet, maybe go to a Veterinary Specialist, like an Internal Medicine Vet.

I wish you the best of luck with your boy.
 
Re: My boy has FD (just diagnosed) & pancreatitis.. please h

Thank you for your responses, and the helpful information. I took him in today, and he was so dehydrated, that the vet (the one who started the practice 25+ years ago, I asked to see her,) suggested he be admitted to the hospital. I am scared, but actually happy something more aggressive is being done. If any of you have a similar experience, with a kitty who had to go to the hospital, I would greatly appreciate it. I just hated leaving him tonight. I am so worried.

Thanks so much!
Lara
 
Re: My boy has FD (just diagnosed) & pancreatitis.. please h

Hi Lara, I am so sorry your kitty is having a difficult time with pancreatitis. I think you did the wise thing bringing him back to the vet even if he has to be hospitalized. He probably needs fluids because he is dehydrated, and meds that can be difficult to administer at home. My Tiger was hospitalized at the beginning of November with acute pancreatitis. Because the attack came on a Sunday I had to bring her to the ER rather than her vet but I am glad I did! She was put on IV, Cerenia, Bupe, carafate and antibiotics, plus Famatodine. The vet techs were nice enough to call me twice the day she was admitted for updates, plus the ER vet called as well to let me know how Tiger was doing. The ER vet said that because we got her there early enough, she was able to begin eating on her own by that night, and she was able to come home the next day. I fed her Purina EN, which is meant for gastrointestinal upset, I gradually mixed this with her low carb Wellness food over the course of one week.

I agree about trying to switch to a different insulin- there are better long lasting insulins available. Are you testing for ketones by the way? Hope our kitty feels better tomorrow.
 
Re: My boy has FD (just diagnosed) & pancreatitis.. please h

Wow, that's great for your kitty. How's Tiger doing now?

I was not testing for ketones- didn't know how. But I have had many people asking, so I guess I better learn.
I am assuming they will check for that at the hospital? I just called, and they said he is doing well,
and all of his levels are normal. His potassium was low, so he is being given potassium.

Thanks so much for your help:)
Lara
 
Re: My boy has FD (just diagnosed) & pancreatitis.. please h

Hi Lara and welcome from Elise from the FPS board. I'm glad Seamus is responding to treatment at the hospital. As suggested I would find a new vet that will change insulin and treat him differently. Max pees a lot still with numbers numbers mostly in the 50-250 range so with the numbers Seamus gets of course he pees a lot. I'll answer your questions on the FPS list tomorrow. I've been busy today and too tired tonight.
 
Re: My boy has FD (just diagnosed) & pancreatitis.. please h

Hi Lara, just wondering how you and Seamus are doing? Yesterday this site was shut down, it was very frustrating for a lot of us- I just wanted you to know we're still thinking of you and Seamus and hoping he feels better!
 
Re: My boy has FD (just diagnosed) & pancreatitis.. please h

Seamus did have ketones and was hospitalized and responding to treatment. I haven't seen an update today, Ruth.
 
Re: My boy has FD (just diagnosed) & pancreatitis.. please h

Hi all,
Thank you all so much for you help and concern,

Seamus is doing much better, and the vet was going to send him home today, she had switched him from the fast acting insulin to glargine (1 unit)on Thursday, and his numbers were in the high 400's last night, so she upped him to 2 units today. I did want him to have time to acclimate, while still at the hospital (under 24 hour watch,) before I brought him home, so I said lates wait one more day. She liked that idea. (When they tested him at his peak today, his BG was at 106.)

When I went to visit him, he was my Seamus again!!! The cat next to him was being offered a variety of food, but refused to eat, and Seamus was going bonkers- "give it to me!" :)-
(He always was a big eater, but- as you know, I was doing everything to get him to eat, with little success, in the past month.)
I am so happy he has his appetite back!!!

If anyone has any other suggestions for care, when he comes home tomorrow?

Thank you!!!
Lara
 
Re: My boy has FD (just diagnosed) & pancreatitis.. please h

Lara, that was a big increase in insulin. We usually increase by .25,units. I'm glad you are now giving lantus. I would read the stickies on dosing and how to treat low numbers. Make sure that you have karo syrup and some high carb food on hand. What are you feeding him?
 
Re: My boy has FD (just diagnosed) & pancreatitis.. please h

I was feeding him low carb wet food for the past 2 months. (But obviously the last 2 months had other problems...)

When he returns home, I planned on continuing to use some version of low carb wet food, though maybe not just the fish varieties that my original vet suggested, as I have read some negative things about faish varieties, and he has been wrong about nearly everything else.

I do have Science Diet light dry food in the house, as well as karo syryp. If you have any other suggestions, please let me know.

He has not been released yet, I think maybe today. (He will have been on the 2 unit for over 24 hours by the time I bring him home. Do you think that is enough to get an idea of how he'll do on 2 units?)

Thank you!
Lara
 
Re: My boy has FD (just diagnosed) & pancreatitis.. please h

It takes time for the depot to build up so it can take up to 10 cycles to see how he is doing on this dose. How much does he weigh? There is a formula to figure out the starting amount. You are right about not feeding an all fish diet. If you look at these food lists it will give you an idea of some foods to try based upon carb amounts. I usually give Max 3% and go up to about 9% if he is dropping too fast and have 15-22% for when he gets too low.

http://www.catinfo.org/docs/FoodChartPublic9-22-12.pdf
http://www.felinecrf.org/canned_food_usa.htm
 
Re: My boy has FD (just diagnosed) & pancreatitis.. please h

He has not been released yet, I think maybe today. (He will have been on the 2 unit for over 24 hours by the time I bring him home. Do you think that is enough to get an idea of how he'll do on 2 units?)

The problem, Lara, is that often cats are stressed at the vet and we know stress raises blood glucose levels. So a dose that may be safe at the vet may not be safe once the cat gets home and relaxes. I would be careful and take tests before each preshot and at least in the period 5-7 hours after the shot to be sure he stays in safe levels.
 
Re: My boy has FD (just diagnosed) & pancreatitis.. please h

We have 2 protocols for giving Lantus

Start Low, Go Slow
Tight Regulation

Take a look over both and see what will fit best into your life.

Please add a few things to your signature, to help give us better feedback to you.

To edit your signature

Go to the top left of the screen.
Click on User Control Panel.
Click on Profile
Click on Edit Signature
A text box displays.
This is where you paste the link for your spreadsheet, once it is set up.
Add any other text, such as
your name,
cat's name,
city, state,country
date of Dx (diagnosis)
insulin
meter
any other pertinent issues like food issues, DKA, hepatic lipidosis, pancreatitis, allergies, IBD, etc.
Then Click on Submit to save it.
 
Re: My boy has FD (just diagnosed) & pancreatitis.. please h

Hi Lara, so glad to hear Seamus is doing better!! :YMHUG: :YMHUG: I hope his appetite stays good, and I am with Elise, too much fish is not a good thing. For a high carb food, Elise uses Soulistic Triple Harmony, and I have used it as well- Tiger liked it very much! of course she also liked Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers, but that is way too high is phosphorus plus it has grains in it. :roll:

When Tiger came home from the hospital, I had to administer carafate, metronidiazole;and famatodine, but what I forgot to ask for was Cerenia for the nausea and bupe for pain. Luckily, my regular vet set us up right away. I hope that you will not need them for Seamus, but P-titis is a dreadful thing for a kitty to have. I hope he can come home soon! Thanks for the update and please keep us posted!
 
Re: My boy has FD (just diagnosed) & pancreatitis.. please h

Seamus came home last night:)

He's bright and acting happy & healthy!

He slept with me (which he has not done in a long time,) and only went under the bed for a minute here an a minute there. (I hate that he did it at all, but I'm trying to focus on the positives.)

He followed me down for breakfast and his insulin, and ate better than he has for me in a long time. I'm a little sad that he didn't eat it all right away (like he used to, before this all began,) but he was acting very hungry, kept going back when I encouraged, and he ate 3-4 ounces or more, without any fork-feeding.

(He was meowing like he was starving, even though he had some food left in his bowl-(EVO beef- vet's suggestion), so I gave him another type-(EVO duck,) he ate a few bites, then meow with some left, (more of the same EVO duck, despite the fact that hes still had some,) ate a few bites of the new scoop...
He kept this up, acting hungry, but not finishing what he had. I can't just leave it because I lock up my other cat while Seamus eats, and Barley will eat it as soon as he comes out. I don't want to seclude either, and I am happy with the amount Seamus ate, so I just let it be....
(After that, he did also go bonkers for the turkey I was putting on hubby's breakfast sandwich- stood up and grabbed with front paws- gobbled it!

Do i have a kitty who is playing games, or just has become finicky, when he never was before?
I'll take either, I'm just so happy I have Seamus back, and so scared about anything other than finishing his food in one gulp, like he used to!

Seamus is on 1 unit of glargine. He was doing well on 1 unit, but his BG got high (not sure what #) on Friday, so Vet switched him to 2 units. BG was 75 at midnight, then 98 yesterday morning, so they skipped his morning dose, and he went back to 1 unit last night at 8. I gave him 1 unit today at 8.
Vet said I do not need to check BG, as we are not going to make any changes, at least until recheck on Thursday or Friday. (I am trying not to check,as I don't need anything else to worry about, and he is doing well, plus we aren't going to make changes.)

I showed her the info, on how to do TR with glargine, and she said info looks great, and she regulates similarily, but not exactly.

When I go for recheck, we are going to discuss changes, but she wants him on the same amount for 5-7 days first. (Plus, I am a teacher, and cannot be home to check as frequently as needed, but have my Christmas break coming up, so may see if she thinks that may be a good time to do a curve.)

Does that sound good? Any suggestions?
 
Re: My boy has FD (just diagnosed) & pancreatitis.. please h

With an erratic appetite, it would be unsafe not to test before shots to make sure the number is shootable, and to not check around the nadir between +5 to +7 to make sure he doesn't go too low. With all respect to your vet, home testing is about safety, as much as it is about guiding doses. I wouldn't skip testing.

I had a cat with IBD who would intermittently eat, vomit, or have diarrhea ... or some combination thereof. Without testing, I could have killed him by keeping the dose the same and not testing.
 
Re: My boy has FD (just diagnosed) & pancreatitis.. please h

If he does not eat, I will certainly test. And probably more often, as I know myself....

One other question, that I forgot to post last time...

Seamus has the herpes virus, has since he was a kitten. He often gets congested, and I would like to keep that at bay.

When I mix lysine into his food, it sometimes turns him off the food, and the last thing I want right now, is any more problems with him being finicky.

The vet tech told me about Enisyl-F Lysine Treats, so I bought a bag (they had it at the hospital.)

Vet does know about them, so I assumed they are ok, and he only get 6 per day (12, if he becomes symptomatic- each treat is about the size of a skittle.)
Think these are ok to give to my diabetic kitty?

(They contain "poulty meal, rice flour, corn flour, L-lysine monohydrochloride, sugar salt, potassium sorbate, titanium dioxide.")

Thanks,
Lara
 
Re: My boy has FD (just diagnosed) & pancreatitis.. please h

Here is what they contain
ENISYL-F® LYSINE TREATS
Vétoquinol USA
PALATABLE LYSINE SUPPLEMENT
INGREDIENTS
Poultry meal, rice flour, corn flour, L-lysine monohydrochloride, sugar, salt, potassium sorbate, titanium dioxide.
Guaranteed Analysis
Crude Protein (Min.)
30%
Crude Fat (Min.)
8.00%
Crude Fiber (Max.)
1.0%
Moisture (Max.)
15%
Ash (Max.)
8.00%
CAUTIONS
 
Re: My boy has FD (just diagnosed) & pancreatitis.. please h

Thank you Larry! So, what do you think?
 
Re: My boy has FD (just diagnosed) & pancreatitis.. please h

The problem that I see is that it contains sugar. I used to put the powder in Gerbers all meat 2nds baby food and it was undetected by Tiffany. I currently give Max Miralax that way each morning.
 
Re: My boy has FD (just diagnosed) & pancreatitis.. please h

Chronic respiratory symptoms, unless diagnosed by lab, aren't always herpes. You might have the vet run a blood test for other respiratory infections such as bartonella. I've had 2 cats now, presumed to have herpes, who turned out to have Bartonella instead.
 
Re: My boy has FD (just diagnosed) & pancreatitis.. please h

Ya, that's what I was worried about. Ok, I won't use it anymore. I'll try the lysine & baby food combo.

Thank you!
 
Re: My boy has FD (just diagnosed) & pancreatitis.. please h

Seamus just had diarrhea, which he has never had before, that I know of.
(Hard to tell, as I have 2 cats- litter boxes are in the basement, and Seamus is very private.)

Could it be because I gave him EVO, which he has not had before?

Should I do anything?

This stinks. I was so hopeful with him doing so well at the hospital. I don't want to take a step back:(
 
Re: My boy has FD (just diagnosed) & pancreatitis.. please h

Having diarrhea is common when changing foods. Did you gradually increase the Evo and decrease the current food? That is recommended.
 
Re: My boy has FD (just diagnosed) & pancreatitis.. please h

Nope. To my knowledge, Seamus has never had diarrhea.
I changed things so much, just to get him eating, before he went in to the hospital, but
I guess what is "normal" for him, is no longer normal.

It was one wet poop, nothing in a few hours, and he's out & begging.
I'm driving out to the hospital to get him the w/d that he was on. That worked, so why change it.

Wish me luck:)

Thanks,
Lara
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top