Must be full Moon- more mystery numbers

Status
Not open for further replies.

Carol & Murphy (GA)

Very Active Member
Hi Everyone - I've been gone from the forum for a few days - I increased Murphy to 2.5 units and was seeing mostly yellow numbers (which is a huge victory, considering what the week before that brought) I was starting to feel good until yesterday - 9-21 - uneventful day except his +6 was 331 (about 50 points up from 9/20) but PMPS was only 371 - lowest ever I think - I hesitated to give him 2.5 units with that number, but I did - he seemed quite hungry a few hours later. So I checked him at +3 - it was 100. I fed him his regular kibble plus about 1 tblsp of fancy feast dry (VERY high carb) and recheck 30 minutes later was 298 - check in another hour was 297 - this morning he was back to his normal amps of 551. Does anyone know what could have happened with his sugars yesterday? Should I use a sliding scale? I am not sure how to proceed and any help greatly appreciated. I am very slowly introducing a single protein canned (Royal Canin venison) to see if he will tolerate at least one canned food
 
Hi Carol, wish I could offer some advice, but every time I think I'm beginning to understand this sugar dance, I realize that I know less than nothing! Good luck with Murphy we're rooting for him!
 
I'd think the high this am is a combination of the high carb and the blue. Next time, I'd just watch. You don't need to give any high carb until they drop in the 40s. But I get it, when you have been seeing pinks and then suddenly a blue, it seems so low.

It would be wonderful to find a wet lower carb alternative for him. I really think it'd make a huge difference in his levels overall.
 
Any guess as to why his pmps was low (for him) last night - was the insulin for some reason hanging around for longer than usual?. Does that happen? Should I have given him his full dose of insulin with a preshot in the 300s - should I go to a sliding scale? the reason I gave him carbs last night was that his sugar was 100 and it wasn't the nadir yet, so it was going to go lower in the middle of the night and I didn't know how low because it was unclear if some of the am insulin was still hanging around . I do realize it was an over reaction - if it had happened during the day, I wouldn't have done it but close to midnight-urgh!
 
Perfectly understandable!

If he is eating even a little lower carb, that could account for some lower numbers and then the resulting bounces.

For right now, it looks like 2.5 was not too much for that yellow so I would stick with that dose any cycle you can monitor. If he starts eating more lower carb, then you could look at lower doses for lower pre shots if his range is lower overall.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top