Music is playing...Grayson has a spreadsheet!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Grayson & Lu

Very Active Member
Shall we dance??? flip_cat

It'll probably be confusing, but it's up - FINALLY! This [now formerly] self-proclaimed spreadsheet geek tried to fit the square pegs into round holes... you'll see what I mean about his extended cycles. I'm sure I'll need to tweak it some more, but for now there's something to look at.

NOTE TO NON-BRADY BUNCH PRIME-TIMERS...Back in the dark ages, when I was a student, there weren't urls and links... just manual TYPEWRITERS!!! :o

Lu-Ann
 
Still waiting for him to climb back up [not that I'm complaining!]. This is what I meant about the long cycles. He was just 130 @ +14.5 - been holding close to that number for more than 3 hours now. Looks like I'd better wake up a time or two during the night to catch him before he skyrockets.
 
That's why I asked earlier about the varied dose amounts... I see both extremes... but there doesn't appear to be any rhyme or reason to their timing. Am I missing something?

I realize that ECID, but his numbers seem to hang on after his preshot, then about 4-6 hrs later we see a reasonable drop, then Nadir about +11. Kim gave me a pack of U100s, so I'm gonna see if that helps the accuracy of the doses. They looked promising.

Any observations about the location of the shot? My vet said anywhere under the skin is fine. I saw someone here mention alternating between the shoulders and flanks. Thoughts?
 
I would try reducing the dose first. Ideally, it is best to have a number 12 hours apart that you can shoot. Is he still going down and still in the 120s tonight? If so, I would skip tonight's dose.

Then tomorrow, even if the number is high (and that is likely to be if you skip tonight) I think I'd try .5. If you still get a long cycle, then reduce again.

Lu, these are great problems to have. You are getting lovely numbers on tiny doses.
 
Trust me, I LIKED having the doses 12 hrs apart. I could actually plan my schedule. I worked to get him shifted to a 7/7 or 6:30/6:30 schedule which was very convenient for me. Then right before a business meeitng out of town... one of these crazy cycles and suddenly Kim had to chase him around my diningroom for half an hour in the middle of the day! I guess THEY want to be the one in charge of the schedule - not the beans!
 
I would definitely skip tonight and start again tomorrow at the time that will work best for you.

The longer the cycle, the lower I am thinking for the dose tomorrow. Maybe. .3?
 
Yay for a spreadsheet. :RAHCAT

Oh my gosh yes, lower your dose.

I'm with Sue on this, no shot tonight and start fresh tomorrow on whatever schedule suits you. I'd go with a dose of .3u and definately nothing over .5u.

Aren't you glad you published your ss? :-D
 
Told You!!!!! :lol: The dose is too high, you need to reduce and split the dose so you can shoot twice a day!
 
Lu Ann and Grayson,
I don't really know you and your story, but sounds like you're doing great. If you're going to have problems, you're having the ones we all dream of. Keep up the good work!
 
I like to think I know how lucky I am. Sometimes I wonder about Grayson's preshots being over 400+, but he doesn't have a ketone issue, and that's huge! (although I've got to keep testing him, just in case!) He's sipping his insulin, the only down side of having him off schedule is the getting up in the middle of the night to check/shoot... but last night I got to sleep - the WHOLE night! WOO HOO!!! Even though he doesn't bleed well, he does bleed, AND he lets me poke him... again HUGE! And my house is filled with a number of "practise kitties" (who wondered why I was poking them?... but usually only once each!) Most importantly, I was MOST fortunate to have a coach just down the street that advised me before I had time to get onto this board and interact. The food change, waiting before starting the insulin, testing, being there to demonstrate the poking/shooting thing, etc., etc. I know I wouldn't be where I am if it hadn't been for that one-on-one support & encouragement from Kim. For all these things we are grateful.

I can't stress enough the value of letting your friends/associates know about your special kitty's condition. Had I not known about Kim's Kitty, I would've been shooting 2 units twice a day blindly. We can only imagine what might have happened - especially w/ Gray's long cycles.

TEST! TEST! TEST!

Lu-Ann
 
Kim is awesome isn't she, someday I would like to meet her in person. Wouldn't it be nice if everyone could have a personal FD trainer.

Speaking of tests, what are your numbers from today :?:
 
I guess now that I have a spreadsheet, I need to keep it updated, huh? :-D

AMPS 460
+6 336
+7 412

Looks like we're dancing on the high wire after the previous 24 hr cycle! Will get some more frequent tests this afternoon.

Got to run now & stock up on food for all the little munchkins in my house. Back shortly!
 
Kim is awesome and helps so many with their sugar cats.
You're lucky to have her for a neighbor and she sent you an email about the DCIN cookbook :-D
 
AMPS 460 .4u given
+6 336
+7 412
+9 430

Here's where I am inclined to stop the madness and not let him continue to dance on the high wire. This seems to be the standard rebound after one of his 24 hr cycles. Doesn't appear to have had much of a nadir unless it came before +6.
 
I'm wondering if the 400s weren't just a reaction to the long cycle yesterday. I think I'm going to stay with the .4 and see where it takes us. PMPS 454. Did I really do him a favor, making him wait 2 hrs when it was already 430? Breaking out the Fancy Feast!
 
No, you didn't do him a favor, but you did yourself a favor. It is all about gathering data. If you had fed and shot at +10, you would lose the opportunity to get the data from the last two hours of the cycle. As it turns out, it was anticlimactic and nothing really happened, other than he stayed flat. But what if he had gone up 100 points, or even come down 100? That data would have been lost. Truly, early in the dance, when you do not have a lot of data-- it is best to let the cycles play out.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top