Musette's color for this morning is....GREEN!

Status
Not open for further replies.

MommaOfMuse

Member Since 2010
I knew from the moment I woke up this morning Ms. Musette was going to give me a great amps....how did I know this? Because the cat that was purring in my ear and giving me head butts from my pillow wasn't Maxwell but the Lady Musette. She only does this when her BGs are in normal range. When she is high she is a grumpy tortietudey girl, that only likes her daddy. I am normally just her loyal servant that cleans her litter box and serves the cat food, so if she is loving on me, then her BGs are down.

AMPS is.............drum roll please!.....................61!!!!

Still holding my breath with her but I think we have finally done it, and found her perfect dose....and it figures on a day that I planned to run a curve...lol So we will see how the rest of her day plays out.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Lana,

I shot at the 61 since she was rising, she was only 46 at her +10 from last night, so the 202 is more than likely both food and a little bit of a bounce from last night..I can almost predict now that she will shoot up on the tail end of her dose, which is why I went ahead and shot at the 61, she should is she holds true to her pattern drop back down by +4 since her onset seems to be around +4/+5. The only other difference was last night she had her Special Kitty Turkey & Giblets and this morning she had Friskies. And she always seems to spike higher on Friskies. I need to go out tonight and get more Special Kitty for her as I didn't buy a lot of it this week when I was at Walmart since I saw it was a new formula, and was worried she wouldn't eat...however she loves it and it seems that she runs lower on it.

If she has taught me anyhing its that she is a goofy cat, she treats Lantus more like Levermir, she bounces up with food then drops back down with a long surf and her nadir usually hits around +9/+10, instead of +5/+6 where it should be on Lantus.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
MommaOfMuse said:
I shot at the 61 since she was rising, she was only 46 at her +10 from last night, so the 202 is more than likely both food and a little bit of a bounce from last night..I can almost predict now that she will shoot up on the tail end of her dose, which is why I went ahead and shot at the 61, she should is she holds true to her pattern drop back down by +4 since her onset seems to be around +4/+5. The only other difference was last night she had her Special Kitty Turkey & Giblets and this morning she had Friskies.

Predictability is a treasure, for sure! And it was obviously a good call since she was 202 two hours later.

MommaOfMuse said:
If she has taught me anyhing its that she is a goofy cat, she treats Lantus more like Levermir, she bounces up with food then drops back down with a long surf and her nadir usually hits around +9/+10, instead of +5/+6 where it should be on Lantus.

True! There is a more dependable rise on Levemir than with Lantus. Except for the exceptional Musette, of course.

Good job!

Lana
 
Mel, I wonder if you are still a tad too high on that dose with her numbers in the low 40s during the cycle. I know the Tilly protocol says not to reduce until below 40, but I don't like to see 40s or even 50s on a regular basis. They don't leave much wiggle room if she has a more active day or doesn't eat as much. She might do better on 1.15u - just a hair over 1u, but not as much as 1.25u. She might stop hitting the occasional 300 or climb so fast from her lows. I'm wondering what the rest of her day looked like today?

Why do you think she did so well on both .5u and .75u for a week or so, but now needs over 1u? Is she eating more (from being settled in and feeling more comfortable)?

Nice that she is allowing you to receive her gift of affection. Maybe she really knows that you are responsible for feeling good. I used to try and determine Beau and Jeddie's numbers from how they acted, but I was never right.
 
Updated her spreadsheet now. Didn't get her +8 yesterday because I went down with a splitting headache, so laid down for a nap and didn't hear the alarm. But otherwise she pretty much stayed in the blues all day until right near the end. She does seem to be more settled in now, more affectionate and more playful ( she loves balls, but not too keen on catnip toys or string type toys). She is also eating a little more these days as well, now that she has trained mom that only commoners eat on the floor but she who is a princess eats on a table. :roll: I'm still waiting for the day that she demands a knife and fork :lol: Or at the very least a napkin tucked in her collar...lol.

Now this morning she started out still in the blues but fairly high at 188, but that is probably my fault since I gave her the wrong can of Special Kitty last night, I gave her the tuna dinner which was 7% carbs instead of her normal turkey & giblets at 4% carbs. She seems to be really carb sensitive, but last night I still had such a blinding headache I'm surprised I even managed to drag my butt out of bed to test, feed and shoot at all.

And I really wish I knew why she did so well for a week or two on the .5 and .75 but that seems to be a pattern with her, she does well on a dose for awhile and then slowly her numbers will start creeping up again, bets me why.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Oh, gosh, was it a migraine? I used to get those a lot when I was younger. And bending over just a little to see their ear to test would be awful with one. Hope you feel better today.

My dear Charlotte had to eat everywhere but on the floor for years. First the ironing board, then the bed, then the table, then the cabinet behind the sofa.... they are so funny with the finickiness!
 
It was sort of kin to a migraine, the pain is about the same. I was thrown from a horse onto railroad tracks when I was 16 and broke 17 bones in the left side of my body, two of which were my brow bone and my cheek, so now I have a bone chip that floats behind my left eye. It will occassion put pressure on the nerves and cause a splitting headache. When that happens about all I can do is lay down until it decides to move again and release the pressure, they've told me that they could surgically remove it, but there is a good chance if they do I could go blind in that eye, so as long as I can stand the headaches every once in awhile I've opted not to have it removed.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top