Murphy Update-Grateful for Fundraising Opportunity W/ DCIN

Status
Not open for further replies.

missmurphy2010

Member Since 2011
ear All:

Murphy is having a so, so day today. This morning, I woke up to change the litter box, and low and behold, more vomit. Seems that she has the vomiting part of the pancreatitis when she steps out of the litter box, perhaps from straining or trying to go. But, she was screaming for food, then she wouldn't eat, so I did hear her little voice.

I am proceeding with fundraising efforts for my dear little girl, as her bean, I am reaching out to all in an effort to keep her in the best care I can. My resources, unfortunately have tapped out over the enormous amount of vet bills since 2009. Had a nice kitty fund for both of mine at one time. It's amazing to me how one vet can literally change the life of a companion animal, whether good or bad.

So, here we are, waiting to hear from Murphy's vet - her name is Dr. Renee -- so I should introduce her to you all. I'm hopeful, although not certain, that she has spoken with the professor at Tufts today. It may take some time though.

Murphy does not want to eat dinner, so I suspect that her tummy is upset and I'm not quite sure what to do. If I have to give her dry, I suppose that's what I will have to do, but it's not in the protocol I've set up for her, but she has to eat, and I don't think she needs hepatic lipidosis or ketoacidosis. These are scary times.

The demodex has come back again, her nose is starting to turn color, a little dirty looking, and starting to get black. I've been afraid to give her the Ivermectin w/ the pancreatic bout, so Dr. Renee will have to guide me through this fear. The Ivermectin orally is terribly bitter. Then we have the constipation issue -- can I give her Lactulose. There are so many things out of control and disorder -- it's hard to make sense of this week at all.

This is her update -- I appreciate the caring people on this forum who have went way, far out of their way to help with Murphy's cause. She has 5 life-threatening situations going on - and it's getting a little too scary right now.

Donations are not all monetary -- they can also come from the heart, by a prayer, lifting hands toward the big man upstairs and seeking peace for Murphy's health at this moment in time. Boy, I tell you, my heart sure needs a rest, I'm in tears almost all day long. The only break in this turmoil right now is sleep.

Bless all of you Lisa
 
Re: Murphy Update-Grateful for Fundraising Opportunity W/ DC

Poor Murphy...she has our prayers.

This is just a reach, regarding the litter box/vomit situation. I don't know what kind of litter you use, but I have a cat who is actually allergic to "traditional" clay clumping litters. When she was a kitten, she would jump in the box, do her business, jump out, and almost like clock work, vomit. Even with that evidence in front of me, it took me a bit to realize that her problem stemmed from the litter itself. We switched to SwheatScoop, then to World's Best, and she has literally vomitted once since then...and that was almost 8 years ago.

Again, we've got you and Murphy covered...

Amy
 
Re: Murphy Update-Grateful for Fundraising Opportunity W/ DC

She has feline asthma, so the first thing I had to change was the litter, to swheat scoop which is corn and wheat. It just seems that every time I see her vomit, it's right after she does her business. She's not eating, this sucks
 
Re: Murphy Update-Grateful for Fundraising Opportunity W/ DC

Aww, I'm so sorry. I wish I could do more to help, but I'm not familiar with Cushings. Murphy is a sweet little girl, though, and obviously very loved. You two will remain in our thoughts and prayers.
 
Re: Murphy Update-Grateful for Fundraising Opportunity W/ DC

missmurphy2010 said:
She has feline asthma, so the first thing I had to change was the litter, to swheat scoop which is corn and wheat. It just seems that every time I see her vomit, it's right after she does her business. She's not eating, this sucks

Belle always threw up in the litter room or right after exiting. She had chronic diarrhea, and the straining made her vomit. My Samantha was constipated last week and threw up in the litter room. At least there seems to be a trigger for the vomiting with Murphy. Samantha was just put on Miralax for her constipation, 1/4 tsp a day. Just started tonight, so I can't say how it works. She has Early CRF and IBD, and the vet assured me it wouldn't affect her IBD. She also is refusing to eat now, but it could be the rabies shot. I didn't want to give it to her, but was afraid that if we needed emergency care, they'd quarantine her.

I feel for you. Belle had IBD with chronic diarrhea, chronic dehydration, diabetes, pancreatitis, kidney and bladder stones, liver inflammation, HCM, asthma, anemia, hyperthyroidism, and a large gallbladder cyst. It was overwhelming, but Belle did well for almost 2 years until a UTI popped up and went septic. You just have to do the best you can, and it seems you are doing that and more. Hang in there, and enjoy her. Looking back, I got so caught up in her care that I sometimes didn't appreciate every moment. You can easily lose focus on what's important, the time you spend together.

As for the litter, I tried Swheatscoop, and didn't think it clumped or held odors well. Urine would actually made it to the bottom of the litterbox and stick there. I changed to Worlds Best Cat Litter and it was great until one of my cats boycotted it and refused to use the litterboxes.

Good luck, and I'll be thinking of you guys,

Jason :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: Murphy Update-Grateful for Fundraising Opportunity W/ DC

Well, just got off the phone w/ Dr. Renee. She wants to see Murphy tomorrow to be sure she doesn't have a UTI, and she wants to do an ultrasound on her pancreas and I feel that needs to be done as well. She has yet to finish her dinner, and with her BG being 127 b/4 dinner at 6:00, we decided to not give the Lantus tonight. The OTU meter just fluctuates and can go either up or down, and I don't want her getting hypo. Oh, and she's going to be getting an enema tomorrow as well. Oh, she's gonna love that.
 
Re: Murphy Update-Grateful for Fundraising Opportunity W/ DC

Lisa,
i found this....you may find it helpful reading the full link

http://www.felinecrf.org/constipation.htm#symptoms

Symptoms of Constipation

Some of the symptoms of constipation are:

loss of appetite

pooping next to the litter tray

vomiting before, during or immediately after using the tray

dry stools

an ungainly walk

Some of the symptoms of constipation are not what you might expect. Occasionally a cat may urinate outside the litter tray when s/he is constipated - our Karma peed on the sofa so we took her to the vet for a suspected urinary tract infection, but in fact she did not have one, her problem was constipation. Once the constipation was under control, her inappropriate elimination ceased.

Sometimes a cat will appear to have diarrhoea but in fact has constipation, and the runny stool is simply what can squeeze around the solid dry stool.
 
Re: Murphy Update-Grateful for Fundraising Opportunity W/ DC

Hi Lisa,

You and Murphy have been thru so much. I am keeping you guys in my thoughts and prayers.
I have not dealt with a lot of the issues you and Murphy are going thru, but it seems like Jason and Claudia as well as the others have offered some great advise.

I hope that you and Murphy can get some rest tonight. I am so glad you are getting some assistance, we will do anything we can to help.

Cheryl & Miss Witty (GA)
 
Re: Murphy Update-Grateful for Fundraising Opportunity W/ DC

As long as you are having an abdominal ultrasound done, it might be worthwhile to have the vet take a look at the adrenal glands. The assumption is that steroids have caused the Cushing's, but it wouldn't hurt to take a look at the adrenal glands while you are in the neighborhood.
 
Re: Murphy Update-Grateful for Fundraising Opportunity W/ DC

I have given her fluids 100 ccs for 3 days straight, and she has only pee'd once yesterday evening, and nothing yet this a.m., and she is to see Dr. Renee this a.m., but as she was sitting on my bed, I thought to myself, I need to sweep her up right now to get her into the pet taxi and there she went under the bed, so I may not be able to get her out of there this a.m. I'm afraid of the possibility that she may have a UTI, and worse, that we are looking at CRF. In that case, I will make her comfortable and try my best, but we are looking at some extenuating circumstances that may be out of my control.

Please keep your prayers lifted up -- she hasn't poo-d since Tuesday, so we are also going to have to give an enema this a.m. (If I can get her from out from under the bed). I should have listened to my instincts and picked her up right away.

Blessings to all, Lisa
 
Re: Murphy Update-Grateful for Fundraising Opportunity W/ DC

continued prayers for you ... I know it's hard to deal with all of this .. I wish I could do more ..
 
Re: Murphy Update-Grateful for Fundraising Opportunity W/ DC

Hi Lisa,

I hope you were able to get Murphy off to the vet this morning, and am hoping the vet will be able to offer some positive help. I'll check back for updates if you can.

((((hugs Lisa and Murphy))))
 
Re: Murphy Update-Grateful for Fundraising Opportunity W/ DC

DCIN helped us when we were in need...so we are glad to be able to pay it forward!

hang in there, Miss Murphy...let's get you back to health, little one!

celi & binks
 
Re: Murphy Update-Grateful for Fundraising Opportunity W/ DC

Back from the vet just a moment ago. Murphy had a ton of stuff done to her today. X-rays, tested her urine which was sent off, enema, she was very very backed up -- the 2nd poo was over 6 inches, and there were several more, they had to give her a bath. Full panel of blood work, pancreatic ultrasound.

Murphy appears to possibly be approaching a honeymoon, although we cannot say for sure and these are dangerous waters right now b/c of the Cushing's and the inhaled meds we are trying to decrease. She tested negative for sugar in her urine this morning w/ Dr. Renee, so I was sent home w/ a few urine strips to keep an eye on her. I understand it can change in a heartbeat. It is confusing to me, and maybe to Dr. Renee as well, but it could possibly be that the Cushing's was there before the diabetes set in, which can happen with Cushing's. The idea is to keep her in check right now, and have the insulin on hand, as soon as things start changing to where it looks like she is acting diabetic again, off we go with the insulin again. And, of course, the strict diet has to stay in place. We have to continue with her pain meds, the Panakare Plus, and the dreaded Ivermectin for the mite that has gotten worse. And, she will get her buprenorphine as needed. Oh, and she has arthritis in the tail end of her spine.

We are not sure if the pancreatitis was making her vomit, or the fact that she was severely backed up. She did vomit today right b/4 she poo'd the first time, so my guess is that is what made her sick. Her PLI is still sort of high.

Oh, so tonight, we get home, and she doesn't want to eat, although I know she ate there today twice. I'm assuming I need to give her a break and let her just relax.

All good news for a very sickly cat. Nevertheless, we will be making 1-2 visits to Dr. Renee each month to monitor her pancreas, kidneys, liver, etc. It is going to be touchy, but I feel less stressed than I did.

In final, we aren't out of the woods yet, there are too many things going on that can turn on a dime, and so the one eye open is still part of my life. The Lord has laid his hands on her today though -- that I do know.
 
Re: Murphy Update-Grateful for Fundraising Opportunity W/ DC

I think the sweet, brave Miss Murphy needs a visit from the KTSS to help her relax and feel better.
Bless you for taking such good care of her.
 
Re: Murphy Update-Grateful for Fundraising Opportunity W/ DC

What is the "KTSS?"

Okay, so she doesn't want to eat dinner. I'm worried about this one.
 
Re: Murphy Update-Grateful for Fundraising Opportunity W/ DC

KTSS is he Kittenhood of the Traveling Soup and Spa...
it's when all the kitties know another one doesnt feel good, and we "Virtually" visit to lend comfort...

where do we find the link to DCIN contributions for Murphy?

celi
 
Re: Murphy Update-Grateful for Fundraising Opportunity W/ DC

Hi Lisa,

So glad you got Murphy to the vet today. cat_pet_icon . I am worried about the not eating. It was suggested we try meat based baby foods when Witty wasn't eating. The one without carbs we used was Gerber chicken or Turkey. I think you can find it in most grocery stores, I've also seen it at Walmart too. You can warm it just a little too, for some reason it increases the smell and makes it more enticing. It worked for us.

Celi, the link for donations to DCIN for Lisa and Murphy is in this condo http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=40483 . I believe it is the last post in the condo.

DCIN also helped us when we were in need, so I was also glad to pay it forward as well.

I will keep you and all of our other sick kitties in my thoughts and prayers.

Missing Sue and Miss Witty.
 
Re: Murphy Update-Grateful for Fundraising Opportunity W/ DC

Good morning to all. Well, this morning, no insulin -- but she is not eating very much at all. The nausea is something I don't feel I'm able to control. She only ate 1/4 of her morning meal.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top