Murphy Update-Grateful for Funderaising Opportunity W/ DCIN

Status
Not open for further replies.
Dear All:

Murphy is having a so, so day today. This morning, I woke up to change the litter box, and low and behold, more vomit. Seems that she has the vomiting part of the pancreatitis when she steps out of the litter box, perhaps from straining or trying to go. But, she was screaming for food, then she wouldn't eat, so I did hear her little voice.

I am proceeding with fundraising efforts for my dear little girl, as her bean, I am reaching out to all in an effort to keep her in the best care I can. My resources, unfortunately have tapped out over the enormous amount of vet bills since 2009. Had a nice kitty fund for both of mine at one time. It's amazing to me how one vet can literally change the life of a companion animal, whether good or bad.

So, here we are, waiting to hear from Murphy's vet - her name is Dr. Renee -- so I should introduce her to you all. I'm hopeful, although not certain, that she has spoken with the professor at Tufts today. It may take some time though.

Murphy does not want to eat dinner, so I suspect that her tummy is upset and I'm not quite sure what to do. If I have to give her dry, I suppose that's what I will have to do, but it's not in the protocol I've set up for her, but she has to eat, and I don't think she needs hepatic lipidosis or ketoacidosis. These are scary times.

The demodex has come back again, her nose is starting to turn color, a little dirty looking, and starting to get black. I've been afraid to give her the Ivermectin w/ the pancreatic bout, so Dr. Renee will have to guide me through this fear. The Ivermectin orally is terribly bitter. Then we have the constipation issue -- can I give her Lactulose. There are so many things out of control and disorder -- it's hard to make sense of this week at all.

This is her update -- I appreciate the caring people on this forum who have went way, far out of their way to help with Murphy's cause. She has 5 life-threatening situations going on - and it's getting a little too scary right now.

Bless all of you Lisa
 
Re: Murphy Update-Grateful for Funderaising Opportunity W/ D

Well, just got off the phone w/ Dr. Renee. She wants to see Murphy tomorrow to be sure she doesn't have a UTI, and she wants to do an ultrasound on her pancreas and I feel that needs to be done as well. She has yet to finish her dinner, and with her BG being 127 b/4 dinner at 6:00, we decided to not give the Lantus tonight. The OTU meter just fluctuates and can go either up or down, and I don't want her getting hypo. Oh, and she's going to be getting an enema tomorrow as well. Oh, she's gonna love that.
 
Re: Murphy Update-Grateful for Funderaising Opportunity W/ D

I don't know if the Ivermectin is a pill. If so, can you put it into a gel-cap
to disguise the taste.
 
Re: Murphy Update-Grateful for Funderaising Opportunity W/ D

Is there anything topical which can be put on the demodex? Its a mite, so I'm wondering if an occlusive medicated dressing would help, if there is such a thing.
 
Re: Murphy Update-Grateful for Funderaising Opportunity W/ D

Hi Lisa and Miss Murphy,

When you see the vet ask her about an-anti-nausea medicine. Don't let the vet give you an appetite stimulant without something for nausea. The lack of appetite is caused by the pain and nausea. Not all vets get this concept. My Harley was barely eating or drinking for three days due to severe nausea. Because he's a holy terror to pill, pills were out of the questions so we went the injectable route. Cerenia or Anzemet are the two injectables. Cerenia can only be given for no more than 5 days, I think. Anzemet can be given longer but carries a risk for kitties with heart conditions. Zofram (odansetron) can be given in a pill form if Miss Murphy allows you to pill her.

EDIT: Regarding her eating dry - put a temporary moritorium on the protocol for pancreatitis. I had my Harley eating and anything he wanted because you're right - it's critical that they eat something, anything, even high carb. dry to avoid hepatic lipidosis and DKA. When she feels better you can wean her back onto her correct food. And when she feels better, she'll want to eat her wet food again.

Hope your sweet furry feels better soon! cat_pet_icon
 
Re: Murphy Update-Grateful for Funderaising Opportunity W/ D

She will take pills, and so far, we've resorted to buprenorphine compounded with roasted chicken flavor and Pepcid. I also have been giving metachlopramide, but to me, it really doesn't do anything considering she only gets 1/4 the pill.

Ultrasounds today of abdomen and pancreas today, and testing the urine for sugar and ketones.
 
Re: Murphy Update-Grateful for Funderaising Opportunity W/ D

missmurphy2010 said:
She will take pills, and so far, we've resorted to buprenorphine compounded with roasted chicken flavor and Pepcid.

Chicken compounded bupe, way to go Miss Murphy! :mrgreen:

We did chicken compounded prednisolone and clavamox too. Harley would lick the pred off my hand like candy.

missmurphy2010 said:
I also have been giving metachlopramide, but to me, it really doesn't do anything considering she only gets 1/4 the pill.

Hard to say, the effect of antibiotics is typically additive. You might not know until you're done with the course whether or not it worked.
 
Re: Murphy Update-Grateful for Funderaising Opportunity W/ D

missmurphy2010 said:
She will take pills, and so far, we've resorted to buprenorphine compounded with roasted chicken flavor and Pepcid. I also have been giving metachlopramide, but to me, it really doesn't do anything considering she only gets 1/4 the pill.

I hope that your compounded chicken flavor buprenorphine is a liquid that you are administering in her cheek pouch. Buprenorphine is ineffective if swallowed.
 
Re: Murphy Update

Diabetic Cats in Need is fundraising for $300 to cover some of the outstanding balance from Miss Murphy's past vetting and for her vet visit yesterday. DCIN also is sending Lisa Lantus and some diabetic supplies.

Miss Murphy's Blog page is here. Please donate if you can. If that's not possible, as these are tough times for so many, Lisa and Murphy appreciate your prayers, thoughts, and good vibes.

A recent photo of Miss Murphy, after some very rough times in the past year.

12%2B1%2B10%2BIn%2BRecovery%2BInsulin%2Band%2BEnzymes.JPG
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top