Murphy still doing the unexpected

Status
Not open for further replies.

Carol & Murphy (GA)

Very Active Member
@Sue and Oliver (GA) (and others) After a +4 last pm of 351, Murphy was 200 this morning (the reading was a +12.5)- he got 1 unit. I don't get this at all. He only got wet food last night (no YA) I am going to give him only wet food today to see what happens to his sugars. Poor guy will be so hungry. I'll be home all day so I'll be able to monitor @Robin&BB - hope you are still feeling okay.
 
Good morning Carol. Things are ok here. Siete seems to be feeling fine and I couldn't contain him anymore. He was driving me crazy wanting to go out, so I let him(hope I don't regret that!). Colin's doing ok after my screw up. I was exhausted from no sleep the night before and while everyone was eating I went to feed Siete in the bathroom. I actually fell asleep and woke up 4 hrs later! When I went back in the other room and tested Colin he was sky high and that's when I realized I had left the room with all the kibble still out! Don't know how much he ate.:( I've only given Colin a couple feedings of the YA, before that he was strictly canned food(except when I screw up). I didn't see a difference from his usual numbers, and he seemed happier, so even if there's a difference, unless it's a lot, I'm probably going to keep giving it to him.
 
Good morning Carol. Things are ok here. Siete seems to be feeling fine and I couldn't contain him anymore. He was driving me crazy wanting to go out, so I let him(hope I don't regret that!). Colin's doing ok after my screw up. I was exhausted from no sleep the night before and while everyone was eating I went to feed Siete in the bathroom. I actually fell asleep and woke up 4 hrs later! When I went back in the other room and tested Colin he was sky high and that's when I realized I had left the room with all the kibble still out! Don't know how much he ate.:( I've only given Colin a couple feedings of the YA, before that he was strictly canned food(except when I screw up). I didn't see a difference from his usual numbers, and he seemed happier, so even if there's a difference, unless it's a lot, I'm probably going to keep giving it to him.
You must have been very sleepy!! so happy Siete is better - he pretty clearly ate something he should not have I tend to have faith in YA as well - I'm just doing a little experiment today
 
Good morning Carol. Things are ok here. Siete seems to be feeling fine and I couldn't contain him anymore. He was driving me crazy wanting to go out, so I let him(hope I don't regret that!). Colin's doing ok after my screw up. I was exhausted from no sleep the night before and while everyone was eating I went to feed Siete in the bathroom. I actually fell asleep and woke up 4 hrs later! When I went back in the other room and tested Colin he was sky high and that's when I realized I had left the room with all the kibble still out! Don't know how much he ate.:( I've only given Colin a couple feedings of the YA, before that he was strictly canned food(except when I screw up). I didn't see a difference from his usual numbers, and he seemed happier, so even if there's a difference, unless it's a lot, I'm probably going to keep giving it to him.
Glad Siete is better! Maybe he got a bad mouse! HA !
 
@Sue and Oliver (GA) (and others) After a +4 last pm of 351, Murphy was 200 this morning (the reading was a +12.5)- he got 1 unit. I don't get this at all. He only got wet food last night (no YA) I am going to give him only wet food today to see what happens to his sugars. Poor guy will be so hungry. I'll be home all day so I'll be able to monitor @Robin&BB - hope you are still feeling okay.
It's all so maddening, isn't it? He was doing so well and then BAM. What the heck? That's what Bubba did, going down to lower nadirs and then decides to go up and get stuck.........
 
Hi Carol,

Can't explain the number last night, but really like the amps. I think your experiment of not feeding the dry is a great one. Have you tried smearing the food on a plate so he has to work harder and take longer to eat? I'm sure you already add water to it and make it seem like more?

I would guess it isn't a matter of his being really hungry - you know he is getting enough food, right? It's just that he is conditioned to get a certain food at a certain time. This might seem silly but maybe substitute something else he likes when h might have gotten a dry snack. Does he like to be brushed/played with/just petted and praised? And then give him a low carb treat.
 
It's all so maddening, isn't it? He was doing so well and then BAM. What the heck? That's what Bubba did, going down to lower nadirs and then decides to go up and get stuck.........
Hi Carol,

Can't explain the number last night, but really like the amps. I think your experiment of not feeding the dry is a great one. Have you tried smearing the food on a plate so he has to work harder and take longer to eat? I'm sure you already add water to it and make it seem like more?

I would guess it isn't a matter of his being really hungry - you know he is getting enough food, right? It's just that he is conditioned to get a certain food at a certain time. This might seem silly but maybe substitute something else he likes when h might have gotten a dry snack. Does he like to be brushed/played with/just petted and praised? And then give him a low carb treat.
Thank you Sue - I do try some of those tricks to distract him, but he frequently doesn't buy it I just did a +3 and he was 182.
 
Then how about a distraction for you? A walk or bubble bath with the door shut? Earplugs? He won't starve and he will forgive you. He needs to be conditioned, just like he did to go along with the poke. You are a wonderful mom to Murphy, but a little tough love wouldn't hurt?
 
Hah - actually I have no problem ignoring him - I just feel badly -
I've also been conditioned by a hypo scare early on in this sugar dance - he was acting very hungry - laying almost in his food bowl - I just decided to check his BG "for the heck of it" - and it was 28 (on alphatrak) so I've always been a little wary of seeing him act really hungry
 
hope you are still feeling okay.
Hi, Carol - yes, I'm feeling much better. Just rather distracted by family health stuff: My sister & brother-in-law are down here @ the Mayo in Scottsdale. He was originally scheduled for neurosurgery this Monday, but then the Mayo docs took a closer look at what their family doctor had called "...a 'little' heart murmur; no big deal" --- and the neurosurgery has now been postponed because they need to replace his aortic valve instead. The valve replacement is tomorrow.

Was great to see Colin's nice 200 AMPS - good work, Carol!
I've also been conditioned by a hypo scare early on in this sugar dance - he was acting very hungry - laying almost in his food bowl - I just decided to check his BG "for the heck of it" - and it was 28 (on alphatrak) so I've always been a little wary of seeing him act really hungry
Just a few words of encouragement here: Keep in mind, Carol, that that scary hypo event back in August was very early on ... and you know so MUCH more now than you did back then:) (we're all proud of you, btw). Just look back at that little scare as the incident that underscored for you the true value of home-testing.;)

You're an ace at the ear-pokes now, AND you also know how to steer out of a low BG# when it's needed. Embrace your growing level of experience and move forward with the confidence that you've got a great skill-set going on now (and friends here who will cheer you on and be there for you no matter what's going on from day-to-day).

About that hungry-kitty thing: ECID, of course, but I've gotta say that my "chow-hound" Bat-Bat didn't really stop with the "I'm starving, Mom!" routine until she was more consistently running in blues and greens only. Diabetes makes them feel hungrier, period. And as you know, I'm not a fan of any dry food (Bat was a serious dry kibble addict). And even though she no longer squawks at me repeatedly during the day/night, she is still very enthusiastic (and chirpy) about mealtimes. As I believe she's part Labrador Retriever:p, she will always be on the lookout for crumbs that Dave drops on the kitchen floor because long-ingrained habits die hard. I feel very strongly about this: We make our kitties into dry food addicts. And we can break that addiction, too. Not easy, but it can be done. So ... @Sue and Oliver (GA) Sue is spot-on about that tough-love approach.:cool:

Nobody is ever going to make me buy the idea that there's such a thing as "zero-carb" dry kibble*, no matter how cleverly they market the product.
(When I see those Javalina fly past my house just like the Canadian geese; maybe then...) So I'm rooting for you 100% on getting him to low-carb canned exclusively!:bighug::bighug::bighug:

(*Dave likes to say, "Sure looks to me like kibble = killable! I don't think I'd even feed that stuff to a dog now ...":D)
 
Thank you Sue and Robin (good thoughts for the aortic value replacement tomorrow) for the encouraging words
okay - I'll hold off the Young Again although since this venison novel protein is the only canned food he has ever been able to tolerate with becoming ill, I feel like I am in a very precarious situation in case he ever gets sick of it or becomes intolerant. Plus he's not having a good cycle today - after a 200 amps, something kicked in and the 1 unit wasn't enough to carry him through the day (381 @ +7)
 
Bummer. But it's one cycle and gives more data for Cindi.

Are there other novel proteins that you might try. I know I have seen a thread with a number of different manufacturers.
 
Hey Carol - just got home and looked at your SS. Dang on the +7 test. If you look at the last three cycles, it does looks like Murphy could have used more insulin. So you can do one of two things. I typically will note the numbers on the last three cycles (pend). Then if I get that same or close to number again and shoot what I shot before and the results are the same, I make a note of it and increase/decrease the dose by 0.25 next time. If I get improved results, I move my sliding scale OR you can increase the dose by 0.25 the next time you get a same/similar number. If it gets you better results, move/update the sliding scale.

So what I see as potential numbers to watch are 322, 200 and 476. I would either shoot the same or increase 322 (may need 2.25), 200 (may need 1.5) & 476 (may need 2.5). You will need to decide what you want to do i.e. 1) shoot the same & check the results or 2) increase by 0.25 (next time) and see if you get the same/similar number.

Let's just do this exercise on how to update your sliding scale. If you decide to change a dose and move the sliding scale; this is how you do it. So let's just take those last three numbers and use them as examples. Your current sliding scale looks like this.

Current Sliding Scale
180-199 0.5
200-222 1.0
221-239 1.25
240-260 1.50
261-301 1.75
302-360 2.00
361-420 2.25
421 plus 2.50

Your new sliding scale would look like this that includes the updates for the following numbers; 200, 322 and 476.

Updated Sliding Scale
180-199 1.00
200-239 1.25 I moved 200 down to the 1.25 dose and increased the 180-199 dose from 0.50 to 1.00
240-260 1.50
261-301 1.75
302-321 2.00
322-420 2.25 I moved the 322 number down to the 2.25 dose and then changed the last number in 2.0 dose to 321
421-475 2.50
476 plus 2.75 I moved to the last dose on the scale and changed the dose from 2.5 to 2.75 while changing the last number on the 2.50u dose to 475

So do you see how I keep moving the sliding scale based on a good result? You just keep doing this until all the numbers are getting it's correct dose. So with each number, you are questioning, "is this dose giving me low blue or high green numbers? If no, then you need to "test" that number either another time with the same dose or test that number with a different dose. This an illustration on how to increase a dose. You would change your scale the same way if you need to decrease a dose.

Let me know if you have any questions.
 
thank you so much Cindi - his pmps was 481 and I didn't see this post in time so I gave him 2.5
I sorta see what you are doing, but not completely - I'll really try to figure it out this weekend - thank you so much for spending so much time helping me - I was surprised today turned out the way it did - at the +2 I thought it was going to be a good day - kinda bummed
 
But remember that you did have some good numbers...give it some time. :) Celebrate the small victories and eventually we'll have bigger ones.
 
Things are going okay here. Been a tiring few days at work, but the weekend is almost here!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top