Murphy PMPS (-1 = 96)

Status
Not open for further replies.

missmurphy2010

Member Since 2011
I was under the impression from when I initially joined that I needed to keep my condo in the same post, but thanks for the information and I'll keep that in mind as we change topics. Murphy was on the low side for her prior to eating, and I did not shoot last night b/c she was in the 60s almost all day yesterday. My vet was aware of this yesterday and called me last night to check on her, and stated that if she is that low, she does not want me shooting - it is far better to be hyper than hypo. She's hyperglycemic don't forget. I will find out about her results tomorrow morning, but with the way she is running her numbers, she is fairly certain that Murphy is starting to produce her own insulin and that there is a small possibility that she had pancreatitis b/4 she actually had diabetes. Her pancreas looked good on ultrasound a few weeks ago, and so far, no more nausea, etc. She asked me to drop to 1.0 units if her numbers weren't that low, and that's where we are sticking at least until we find out about the test results and her curve on Wednesday. I'd go with the data on the forum, but I have to listen to her. She's been super good with Murphy and I totally trust her.

That's all I have now.
 
Please don't be offended by this, I truly am just trying to understand what you are looking for from this group. I understand that you trust your vet, you have said that, and that your dosing decisions are based on what she says. That's your choice, and I respect that. If your vet is telling you not to shoot if she's that low and you trust her advice, why are you asking us if you should shoot or not?
 
Because that was before I talked to her today and I didn't know if I would hear from her after hours. I am not offended as this seems to be the tone on this forum, but find this an almost unwelcome experience and will take my need for a newly-diabetic kitty owner's questions and discussions elsewhere. Thank you all for your support -- well some of you.

None of you should be shooting your cat with insulin unless under the orders of your vets anyways.
 
Hiya.. Welcome.. Things can get kinda CrAzY with feelings, advice & stuff.
I have not seen your condos & cannot comment on what has happened.. probably wouldn't anyway..
But.. I do want to say welcome to you & Murphy.. I think that there is nothing less than the very best advice given here. We learn to work our way around each other & stick in it for the kitties.
Please don't go..
It sounds like you have an awesome Vet.. these people know Feline Diabetes & have absolutely saved my furbaby..
You need advice... ask.. I cannot promise you will not be offended.. I can promise Murphy will get the best medical advice ever :YMHUG:
Sometimes we are all sensitive (myself included) but.. but.. what? nothing. Life goes on & lets just take care of Murphy.. your an awesome mom or you wouldn't be here & these people (me too) care.. or we wouldn't be here. We are data driven.. not replying to you (we dont know you) we are looking at data & felines... that is it.. the bean (you) just comes with & most times turns out to be great! Yes, you too...
 
I'm sorry if you missed the introduction to my question, I have no wish to offend you. You are sending mixed signals here, and I'm trying to sort out what you want. I tend to be pretty direct, there are a lot of people on this forum and my time is limited. I'm sorry if you think that is taking a "tone".

We use a published protocol here, my advice is based on that protocol. It's the only protocol I'm familiar with for Lantus, so my advice will be based on it. I don't know what protocol your vet is using, but if you are following hers then I would suggest that you follow her advice on dosing.

If you choose to follow the protocol here, and want dosing advice based on our protocol, I'll be happy to help you.
 
Hi.... I have not posted in your condo before so welcome. I have been away and was just catching up on what I missed over the last week. I just finished reading your other thread.

It is not very hard to misread or decide what tone is being taken when reading other's comments. When I was new there were a few times that I took offense to what other's were saying but I finally came to realize that we can often read one's comments with any tone we assume it is written and many times we are wrong. I also had to realize that I was posting in this forum to get help for Putty and my personal feelings had to take a back seat. Having a cat with FD can be overwhelming and it is very easy to become defensive when we are new and trying to learn all there is to know about insulin, testing, food etc., as well as making sure our kitty is safe and healthy. Please don't assume when somebody is trying to help you to learn or question why you did or did not do something that they are being nasty. Everyone here has the same goal.....to keep our cats safe.

As far as your vet....I think it is great that you have found a vet that you love and trust. I also have a vet that I love and trust but she does not have any say in Putty's diabetic care. Why....because I have done more research on FD than she has. Yes, she went to vet school and she may have touched upon FD in vet school but I know it is impossible for her to keep up with all the latest research when she cares for so many different animals and cannot possibly learn all there is to know about FD. She has told me over and over that I know more about feline diabetes than she could ever know.....she has learned along with me. As far as dosing....she lets me do what I feel is best for Putty. She has lurked on this board because I asked her to and has recommended this forum to others.

I would much rather learn from the people here that have been treating their own cats and have done extensive research on their own so they can pass on the knowledge to me and you. Every bit of information that is given to you is not given lightly.....it is backed up by research.

Putty has been a diabetic for over 2 years. The wonderful people here have taught me so much and have given me the confidence to feel comfortable in helping others.

I hope for Miss Murphy's sake you will allow this wonderful community of people to help you learn how to treat her. Nobody is saying to disregard your vet.....we all need our vet's for many things.

As far as your statement about none of us should be shooting our cat's with insulin without the orders of our vets.....I beg to differ. There are many cats here whose vets put them in great danger because of bad dosing advice. Some people were also told that testing our cats is cruel or unnecessary which is also wrong.

As far as feeling unwelcome....I am sorry you feel that way.....I think people were just trying to point out that everyone was just trying to help you so I hope you do stick around. :smile:
 
just wanted to drop in and say, that whatever course of action you take,whether you decide this is the right forum for you or not...
we wish you the best of results with Miss Murphy.

celi & binks
 
I don't know what you are looking for either. If you trust your vet great. You can lurk on here and learn a lot, and maybe have items to discuss with your vet in more depth.

I find your tone defensive and unreceptive. You may possibly get this feedback on other forums if you participate in them. In the future, you should ask yourself if it is us, or maybe your approach. Most of us have an amazing experience on this forum and have made wonderful friends. I couldn't imagine the last five months without their daily support.

We would love for you to continue on the forum, but there are so many kitties on here and their owners that really do appreciate the advice and NEED the advice given.

Wishing you the best with Murphy and your vet. Don't discount the value of the knowledge in this forum, even if you chose not to post.
 
I think that looking back at all of your posts, for the most part, were compassionate, for the rest, you've cyberbullied me. Read your posts and you will see what you've wrote before thought. Murphy's numbers were getting weird because of the Wellness recall and the deficiency in thiamine which causes problems with blood glucose. So, thank you for your support and thanks to those who chose to make this a bullying experience.

Seriously, how much more unwelcome could you make it for someone?

Karrie and Maverick said:
I don't know what you are looking for either. If you trust your vet great. You can lurk on here and learn a lot, and maybe have items to discuss with your vet in more depth.

I find your tone defensive and unreceptive. You may possibly get this feedback on other forums if you participate in them. In the future, you should ask yourself if it is us, or maybe your approach. Most of us have an amazing experience on this forum and have made wonderful friends. I couldn't imagine the last five months without their daily support.

We would love for you to continue on the forum, but there are so many kitties on here and their owners that really do appreciate the advice and NEED the advice given.

Wishing you the best with Murphy and your vet. Don't discount the value of the knowledge in this forum, even if you chose not to post.
 
I've done my best to try to either be helpful or just stay quiet, but I am tired of reading post after post of you attacking people I have come to care deeply for in the past few months we have been here.

If you are honestly going to interpret Karrie's post as "cyberbullying," the problem isn't the people here... it is you. Despite people's repeated attempts to help you, you've done nothing but show defensiveness, rudeness, and have even gone to the point of accusing all of us of harming our pets by choosing to make dosing decisions on our own as opposed to blindly following the (often bad, inaccurate, and sometimes deadly) advice of veterinarians. But we are the bullies?

If this is truly the way you feel, then I am puzzled why you keep returning. The goodwill and generosity of this board is one of the most overwhelmingly wonderful things in so many of our lives, and yet is something you willfully refuse to see. That goodwill and generosity has limits, however, and frankly, you have pretty much burned that bridge to the ground.

As Karrie said, this board has a lot to offer, even to those who do not post. I hope you take the opportunity to actually learn something here. Your cat's life may depend on it at
some point. But please, if you have nothing better to do than to attack people here, perhaps your energies would be better spent elsewhere. Because right now, the only bully here is you.
 
Christie: The spirit in which you, and a few others, have conveyed yourselves even in the beginning is far from what I would call a forum based on caring, compassionate, and helpful individuals. It is this character that I stay away from because it brings toxicity to others, including myself. I feel sorry for those of you that have had to "blindly" follow inaccurate advice of your vets, and am so, so fortunate that I have a terrific vet, an internist, who specializes in feline diabetes. I know the frustration b/c Murphy had MRSA many times b/4 I actually switched vets and find that she was in fact diabetic, and nearly died. But, frankly speaking, I have seen just two or three that have shown good will, and that's about it, and a few that have actually apologized to me for others' actions on this forum. If I had more experience, like I do with feline asthma and the guidance I have given on another forum because of my long-term learning experiences, and good relationships, I would be wearing kid gloves with the new people on this forum. People need guidance, not necessarily advice, which is where this thread started from in the first place. I asked for guidance, not advice. So, forgive me, but I believe I'm entitled to feel this way. Obviously, no one has gone back and read their own postings to me. Perhaps there are other ways to convey your posts by reading them first and understanding the effects they may have on the recipient, if you don't watch your wording and come across the right way.

Whether or not I had a question about Lantus, or insulin in general, someone could have at least reached out and brought their posts to me in a more fruitful way instead of jabbing at me for wanting support and made it a more supportive environment.



Christie & Willie said:
I've done my best to try to either be helpful or just stay quiet, but I am tired of reading post after post of you attacking people I have come to care deeply for in the past few months we have been here.

If you are honestly going to interpret Karrie's post as "cyberbullying," the problem isn't the people here... it is you. Despite people's repeated attempts to help you, you've done nothing but show defensiveness, rudeness, and have even gone to the point of accusing all of us of harming our pets by choosing to make dosing decisions on our own as opposed to blindly following the (often bad, inaccurate, and sometimes deadly) advice of veterinarians. But we are the bullies?

If this is truly the way you feel, then I am puzzled why you keep returning. The goodwill and generosity of this board is one of the most overwhelmingly wonderful things in so many of our lives, and yet is something you willfully refuse to see. That goodwill and generosity has limits, however, and frankly, you have pretty much burned that bridge to the ground.

As Karrie said, this board has a lot to offer, even to those who do not post. I hope you take the opportunity to actually learn something here. Your cat's life may depend on it at
some point. But please, if you have nothing better to do than to attack people here, perhaps your energies would be better spent elsewhere. Because right now, the only bully here is you.
 
I would ask that everyone please refrain from any further discussion on this thread about anything other than how we can help Murphy.

I do want to note that Murphy's SS is no longer accessible to me, and I don't see any questions to answer so I'm not sure what help I can offer.
 
Laurie and Mr Tinkles said:
I would ask that everyone please refrain from any further discussion on this thread about anything other than how we can help Murphy.
agreed.
mrs. murphy, please feel free to start a new thread if you have any questions, are looking for guidance, or need any help with murphy.
i'm closing this thread for now.

wishing you the best,
jill
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top