Murphy having dental today

Status
Not open for further replies.

Carol & Murphy (GA)

Member Since 2015
Murphy has been doing okay - pretty stable on 2.2 units
He is having a dental today
Of course, last night, for no reason at all, he was quiet so I poked him at +5 and he was 49 Of course this happened right when I wanted to go to sleep as I had to get up at 5 am to get him ready to take in the morning - I got him up around midnight
Then this morning, he was 517 - I could only give him half his dose so I gave him only 1 unit - I guess it's okay as he didn't each much before his cutoff at 6 am
but worried that he will have a horrendously high sugar all day and don't know what kind of shape he'll be in post procedure. Really hope it doesn't set off pancreatitis or IBD :nailbiting:
 
Murphy, Murphy, Murphy - always throwing Mom a curve. Paws crossed that the dental goes well, Carol. I know it is hard to be confident about your dosing when Murphy's numbers are so volatile, but you have proved, time and time again, that you know him best and can take anticipate what he needs.

We'll be watching for an update. Thinking of you and Murphy today.
 
thank you, Sue
I thought it was going to get less stressful as time went on
It's hard when he goes low because he is such a poor eater even at the best of times
and when he will go low is now unpredictable
I am still grateful to @Merlin for finding the Waggers food - he's eating that right now
I will post this evening
 
Murphy is home - everyone said he did great and all the staff loved him He had one extraction and has some sutures in his mouth
They checked his blood sugars several times at the vets and he was always in the 400s - which made me very happy
One big thing- with the sutures, they said I can only give him soft food until the sutures dissolve - so I will gingerly feed him wet (I'm going to try Nature's variety instinct and tiki cat) - the challenge will be for him to eat enough calories with the wet food (it will be a miracle if he will eat 1/2 of a 3.5 oz can for a meal and 2) not get IBD/pancreatitis in the process. I'm feeding him dinner now he ate about 1/4 of a small can - I don't know what his insulin response to the canned will be so I'm going to give him 1.4 units - probably too low but worried too he might be super sensitive to insulin with the hypo last night
 
Murphy is home - everyone said he did great and all the staff loved him He had one extraction and has some sutures in his mouth
They checked his blood sugars several times at the vets and he was always in the 400s - which made me very happy
One big thing- with the sutures, they said I can only give him soft food until the sutures dissolve - so I will gingerly feed him wet (I'm going to try Nature's variety instinct and tiki cat) - the challenge will be for him to eat enough calories with the wet food (it will be a miracle if he will eat 1/2 of a 3.5 oz can for a meal and 2) not get IBD/pancreatitis in the process. I'm feeding him dinner now he ate about 1/4 of a small can - I don't know what his insulin response to the canned will be so I'm going to give him 1.4 units - probably too low but worried too he might be super sensitive to insulin with the hypo last night
Could you moisten his YA for him since he loves that?
 
Hi Bobbie unfortunately the only food Murphy really loves in Fancy Feast dry kibble which is about 80% carbs, I think
He liked YA for awhile then stopped eating it - he does that to every single food - I read that this is typical with IBD
I always offer him YA first every meal, but 9 times out of 10 he won't eat it - earlier in the week, I was combining YA with Evo and he ate that for a few days - yesterday he ate Waggers - it is extremely difficult
 
Hi Bobbie unfortunately the only food Murphy really loves in Fancy Feast dry kibble which is about 80% carbs, I think
He liked YA for awhile then stopped eating it - he does that to every single food - I read that this is typical with IBD
I always offer him YA first every meal, but 9 times out of 10 he won't eat it - earlier in the week, I was combining YA with Evo and he ate that for a few days - yesterday he ate Waggers - it is extremely difficult
I feel for you as you must feel like a Jewish mother with "EAT EAT!!" I hope he will surprise you and be really hungry and eat.
 
Well Carol, I'm an idiot and didn't see this until today! It's been rough here lately so I'm not as great at keeping up as I'd like to be...

So glad to hear that Murphy did well with the dental! Maybe this will help his BG numbers a bit?

Sending lots of healing vines and eating vines! Does Murphy like tuna juice? Could flavor some wet food with it maybe to get him to eat?
 
- Thanks for the positive thoughts everyone. Murphy did great last night - ate all his wet food - now I'm just hoping history doesn't repeat itself and he develops pancreatitis/and or IBD flare as he always does after wet food
What is unusual is his insulin requirements - yesterday am he got 1 unit for a amps of 517 - the vet said he was in the 400s all day - last night for a pmps I gave him 1.4 (his usual dose had been 2.2) - his +4.5 last night was 219 and this morning his amps was 190 - I stalled for 45 minutes to get it to 207 !!! I had no idea what to give him this am so I gave him 0.8 this morning -- maybe removing that tooth will really decrease his insulin (that and now the wet food ) Oh, how I wish he could tolerate wet food
and Rachel - you are not an idiot - I'm sorry things are rough for you now - and unfortunately, Murphy won't touch tuna juice :(

update - his +5 was the same as his amps - so .8 units not such a bad choice - boy I am clueless as to what is going on with his insulin requirements now
 
Last edited:
Carol, have you tried a home-made raw diet? I have an IBD kitty. All commercial foods (dry or wet) throw him into chronic and uncontrollable diarrhea. Since starting him on Dr. Lisa Pierson's recipe at catinfo.org, he has been symptom free for going on 3 years. He loves the food and really loves it when I sprinkle it with a bit of FortiFlora.
 
I somehow doubt if Murphy would eat it- Lacey also has a recipe on ibdkitties.net which she says is easy. the one on catinfo seemed like a real pain to make -don't you need a meat grinder? Thanks to @Merlin who found Waggers -it's a semi-moist no starch no grain food - I've been wetting that down with water and some tiki cat to make it soft and so far he's eating that but I don't know if that will last for 2 full weeks
 
Wow! Nice numbers. It would be great if the dental helped with his levels, Carol. Hoping the food sits well. You two deserve a break! :bighug:
Sue Please knock on wood when you say something good about Murph's numbers - he's up to 511 this amps - not at all sure why but not unusual for him pre-dental Happy valentine's day, everyone
 
Okay. I'll keep quiet. Not seeing much to bounce from.

Carol, what are you thinking about an insulin change? I know you were hesitant, but you have tried so many other things.
 
I really need to learn more about Lantus - I'm worried about how it would work on the days when he won't eat
I think his #s have a lot to do with his food and my inability to feed solely a low carb wet food diet due to his aversions, and wet food setting off pancreatitis and/or IBD
This morning he is acting like something has scared him. I live in a
historic building built around 1900, and some residents have seen/felt "presences" I don't believe in that, but this morning, Murphy keeps looking at things that aren't there, and before he eats, keeps looking over his shoulder
It's kind of unnerving
 
Last edited:
That would be unnerving.

I can see your hesitation. But if he gets a shot and refuses to eat, you have the same issue with ProZinc. I guess it just might last longer with one of the depot insulins. @Bobbie And Bubba , you've been using it awhile. What do you think?
 
That would be unnerving.

I can see your hesitation. But if he gets a shot and refuses to eat, you have the same issue with ProZinc. I guess it just might last longer with one of the depot insulins. @Bobbie And Bubba , you've been using it awhile. What do you think?
Hi Sue! With Lantus, it's not as important for food to be on board right away since the number you are shooting isn't being affected by the Lantus till much later.( Bubba , even later than most cats) Having said that, I do still test, feed, and shoot. I am very glad I made the switch to Lantus. To me, it seems so much easier to work with and less guess work and you can shoot lower numbers than you can with ProZinc which I think helps keep up the momentum.

Carol, since you feed YA you can't follow TR , but you can follow SLGS.
 
Making the home-made raw isn't difficult at all. There is an initial investment in a meat grinder and you'll want to order supplements online to have on hand. Everything else can be purchased at your local grocery store. I'm feeding the raw to 8 cats so I make a minimum of about 45 pounds at a time. That will last roughly 3 weeks. A batch of that size takes me about 5 hours to make and package for freezing. If you're only feeding 1 or 2 cats, you could certainly reduce the amount and time involved in making it. I anyone wants additional information, it might be best to start a new thread so as not to highjack Carol's thread.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top