Murphy back to vomiting after wet food

Status
Not open for further replies.

Carol & Murphy (GA)

Member Since 2015
After working for so many weeks to get Murphy able to tolerate the novel protein venison canned food, he was spending a few weeks eating mainly that - when he started vomiting - so I stopped and fed him Young Again only (dry) for about 5 days - 2 days ago, gave about 1 tsp of canned for a treat and about 2 Tbls yesterday - this am he wanted only canned so he got about 1.5 oz - yay!! well, this afternoon his stool is light colored and foul smelling, and he vomited quite a bit of clear liquid ~ 4 hrs after eating It seems clearly a reaction to the canned food Don't know what to do now - he sometimes isn't that crazy about YA - I wish I could find a canned food he could tolerate without becoming nauseated and vomiting. I guess I can try other novel protein foods, like lamb, but I'm wondering if it is a reaction to the fat content in canned food? This is pretty discouraging but I'm going to get some Evo and Wyson Epigen 90 as a backup - although I don't know what is wrong with him
 
Thanks Sue - no he has never been officially diagnosed with IBD- his problems only surface when he eats canned foods, so the problem was solved with "no canned foods." I certainly don't want to give him steroids, maybe I will try duck or another novel protein - too bad as he was tolerating the venison so well for a few weeks. I've posted several times on health but maybe I can try again

ETA: great - now his pmps is 134 so I'm having to stall - will mean tiny dose tonight
 
Last edited:
Murphy's pmps was 134 - 40 minute stall = 140
don't understand this - I hate to not give him anything - do you think it's okay to give him a tiny amount - like 0.25 units in a little while (after he's eaten - he's not too keen on his Young Again at the moment)
 
I gave him 0.25 units (at least my best guess of that) just now
I hope he doesn't hypo on me because he won't eat the Young Again now (he develops food aversions very easily - he gets ill and won't eat the food he is eating at the time - at least for awhile) I'm going to try to buy more Evo and Wysong Epigen 90 tomorrow
 
Hope he does well for you tonight. To bad the Slippery Elm Bark didn't seem to help him.
 
If he starts to drop, you can always put honey on his gums, if he won't eat for you, Carol.

I hope he surfs along and you both have a better night. Eating would be good if you can find something he likes. Inappetite can definitely lower the numbers.
 
Thanks Sue I found some Evo and he is eating that - he will hopefully start back on YA tomorrow - I am going to buy more Evo and also check out Wysong Epigen 90 tomorrow to have on hand.
 
Sooooo- his amps was 557 - I honestly didn't know what to expect I left out some Young Again overnight but he didn't touch any of it . I got up in the middle of the night and gave him a cyproheptadine (appetite stimulant) and this morning he woke me up, pawing at me to get up and feed him. He wouldn't much of the YA at first, so I gave him some of their 0 carb treats, which he ate, and is not eating the regular YA. Bobbie - unfortunately, he won't even look at chicken breast. I blended some Tiki Cat chicken into a pate, but he wasn't at all interested. I ordered some Evo and Wysong Epigen 90 to have on hand - whenever he gets sick, he develops serious food aversions to whatever he was eating when he got sick - but he'll usually eat something new
 
Good morning Carol. Wish I had some words of wisdom for you. Hope the new foods work, and his BG's come down(but not too far down!)
 
Sooooo- his amps was 557 - I honestly didn't know what to expect I left out some Young Again overnight but he didn't touch any of it . I got up in the middle of the night and gave him a cyproheptadine (appetite stimulant) and this morning he woke me up, pawing at me to get up and feed him. He wouldn't much of the YA at first, so I gave him some of their 0 carb treats, which he ate, and is not eating the regular YA. Bobbie - unfortunately, he won't even look at chicken breast. I blended some Tiki Cat chicken into a pate, but he wasn't at all interested. I ordered some Evo and Wysong Epigen 90 to have on hand - whenever he gets sick, he develops serious food aversions to whatever he was eating when he got sick - but he'll usually eat something new
I wish I could offer something that would help. How does he seem otherwise? I remember reading that pale stinky poops could be pancreas. Does he seem like he is uncomfortable at all? Meatloafing?
 
No meatloafing - this has been going on for 5 year - getting sick for a day or two after canned food - although the pale stinky poop is new since diabetes - It may be lack of pancreatic enzymes or the fat content of wet food - I did try some pancreatic enzymes but I thought they were making him sick - maybe that wasn't the case
Sharon - two yellows yesterday!! how is the 23 year old cat doing?
Bobbie - what does 5.0 ketones translate to - very high? moderate?
 
No meatloafing - this has been going on for 5 year - getting sick for a day or two after canned food - although the pale stinky poop is new since diabetes - It may be lack of pancreatic enzymes or the fat content of wet food - I did try some pancreatic enzymes but I thought they were making him sick - maybe that wasn't the case
Sharon - two yellows yesterday!! how is the 23 year old cat doing?
Bobbie - what does 5.0 ketones translate to - very high? moderate?
I think moderate, I am getting ready to put a call into the vet. The meter is not specific. If it gives a HI it means 8.0 and over.
 
Had you made any food changes around the time the pale poop started? Colin had the pale, stinky poop for awhile. I thought it was the antibiotics and put him on probiotics, but it didn't help. Then I realized the nasty poop started when I switched foods, so back to FF, and poop's been fine since.

DJ is doing fine. Haven't heard him sneeze today and he's eating. Now 2 others are sneezing. Kinda like kids in school, one gets it, they all get it. Hopefully it resolves as easily for them as it did for DJ.
 
Had you made any food changes around the time the pale poop started? Colin had the pale, stinky poop for awhile. I thought it was the antibiotics and put him on probiotics, but it didn't help. Then I realized the nasty poop started when I switched foods, so back to FF, and poop's been fine since.

DJ is doing fine. Haven't heard him sneeze today and he's eating. Now 2 others are sneezing. Kinda like kids in school, one gets it, they all get it. Hopefully it resolves as easily for them as it did for DJ.
Good luck with the gang and the sniffles. Peeked at Colin's SS, he was almost yellow.
 
I don't know how to help, Carol. I wonder if there are dietary specialists for cats like there are for people? I do know Dr. Lisa does phone consultants about diabetic cats in general, and she knows a lot about nutrition in cats. Wonder if she'd be able to help you?

Or a vet college?

It just seems like you are dealing with more than diabetes...and it is hard to know what does what.
 
I've talked to my friend who is a feline only vet about this - she said she could put me in touch with a feline dietary specialist - perhaps I should do that - she told me I'd likely have to make his food which I guess I could do it is also likely he won't eat it (that is a common outcome with food I prepare for humans as well :( -) since I posted this am, he has eaten the YA like a horse - already consumed about 150 calories - I figured I'd let him eat as much as he wanted this morning as I don't know what tonight will bring But as long we we stick to dry food, he'll probably be ok (until I try another canned food) This was a vexing problem that far pre-dates diabetes. I think many of the diabetic kitties have some predisposing GI issue - just looking at the wide range of GI conditions on people's signatures

ETA: Sue - do you have any kitties at the moment?
 
I think it would be worth a try. I do agree that many Fd kitties also have digestive issues and that makes the diabetes that much harder to control. The dosing is hard enough to figure out just with everyday stuff affecting it, but when you throw digestive upsets in, it becomes so murky.

My avaitor is Niko, a Russian Blue mix who is, thankfully, not diabetic. He is our only cat. We adopted him from the shelter a year after we lost Oliver.
 
I think it would be worth a try. I do agree that many Fd kitties also have digestive issues and that makes the diabetes that much harder to control. The dosing is hard enough to figure out just with everyday stuff affecting it, but when you throw digestive upsets in, it becomes so murky.

My avaitor is Niko, a Russian Blue mix who is, thankfully, not diabetic. He is our only cat. We adopted him from the shelter a year after we lost Oliver.
Niko is gorgeous
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top