Murphy 10/14/10 AMPS 214 (LAST NIGHT PMPS 146 +2 84)

Status
Not open for further replies.

msmurphy2010

Member Since 2010
Okay, so Murphy hit green last night at 84, but two hours after her dinner. I'm not sure if this is good or not. She seems to take a nose dive between one and two hours after eating, and is this uncommon or common? I left a little Evo dry out for her because I didn't want her getting any lower than that. It's something she's not used to. Did I do the right thing? Why is she diving so quickly?

Lisa
 
msmurphy2010 said:
Okay, so Murphy hit green last night at 84, but two hours after her dinner. I'm not sure if this is good or not. She seems to take a nose dive between one and two hours after eating, and is this uncommon or common? I left a little Evo dry out for her because I didn't want her getting any lower than that. It's something she's not used to. Did I do the right thing? Why is she diving so quickly?

Lisa

when kitty dips into double digits early in the cycle, you'll want to follow up with more testing to see how low the dose is taking her. generally speaking, the dose should be reduced by 0.25u if kitty drops below 50.

some kitties do have a tendency to drop early in the cycle. many caregivers have softened the drop by splitting up the main meal into smaller portions/mini-meals fed at ps, +1, +2, and +3. the timing and amount of each portion may have to be tweaked to fit murphy's needs.

when trying to bring numbers up, using high carb wet food instead of feeding dry food in preferable because the effects from the carbs seem to be in and out of the system faster. look on janet & binky's food chart for foods in the 15% carb range: http://binkyspage.tripod.com/CanFoodNew.html
 
Hi Lisa! Here is your link to yesterday's condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=27362
We include the link in our first post of the day so it is easy to click on it to see what transpired the previous day.

that was a nice +2 last night....and the yellow is a good start for this morning!
 
She goes in for her curve tomorrow at 7 a.m., I'm a little concerned that she dove that low 2 hours after eating, but yes, she is having nice numbers. My guess is that we will be reducing the dosage somewhat tomorrow. She got a little glassy eyed last night. I had to leave dry food out for her so she wouldn't get too low. And, tonight, one hour b/4 dinner, she was at 157. She's doing well over all, but shooting low that quickly makes me nervous, as how long would she be low during the day, and how long will she stay low. Very scary.
 
Was she glassy eyed at the 84, or after that? A 60 point drop at +2 definitely calls for more testing, normally +2 would be about the same as PS so if it's a lot lower, that means test, test, test.
 
Just talked with her vet and she said that she may becoming more sensitive to the Lantus and the dosage may need adjusted. I have to bring my OTU, she's not convinced that the numbers would be the same on their hospital meters. Who knows! Yes, I thought it was a drastic drop. Makes me wonder what happens during the day. If she got to peak, she could hit really low, don't you think?
 
msmurphy2010 said:
Yes, I thought it was a drastic drop. Makes me wonder what happens during the day.
the beauty of being able to hometest is you don't have to wonder. pull out your trusty meter and test murphy! :mrgreen:
if murphy has dropped below 50, you do not need your vet's permission to lower the dose. it's just the safe thing to do.

here's a list of hypo symptoms:

* glassy eyes - it may look like cat is staring into space
* abnormal hunger
* restlessness
* meowing, crying, yowling, or vocalizing in a way that is unusual for your cat
* sniffing around (like a dog)
* dilated pupils
* laying, sleeping, hiding or curled up in an unusual location of the house
* vomiting
* cat looks/acts 'freaked out'
* problems with eyesight
* unusually aggressive (hissing , swatting, etc.)
* unusually overly affectionate
* weakness, lethargy, sleepiness
* head tilting
* unable to wake the cat easily when it is sleeping.
* drooling
* shivering
* staggering, uncoordinated movements, 'drunken' walk, wobbling, unbalanced
* ataxia - usually lack of muscular coordination, but maybe changes in head and neck movements
* disorientation (yowling, walking in circles, etc.)
* twitching
* stupor
* convulsions or seizures
* coma

http://www.felinediabetes.com/phorum5/read.php?8,925783,925783#msg-925783
 
At 6:30 tonight, she was at 157 and 8:30 she was at 206, so she's not diving down tonight. Wonder if fluids has anything to do with it, or if it's just a fluke. She did hit a green last night though! And, for at least the last week, it's mostly been blue!!

She hasn't had any of those symptoms, just a little sleeping looking last night and a little glassy eyed, but she was still very alert and paying attention.

I feel more comfortable testing her at home, definitely. I know if I was in her position, I would want to know where I stood, and the hard thing is that we never ever know how they feel. She did have a little two spots of throw up on the carpet from this a.m., but nothing to note.

L
 
our meters are about the closest thing we have to being able to know what's happening inside the cat.

sub-q fluids have been known to lower some kitties numbers. i note the time and amount of sub-q fluids (squids) in the corresponding cell on alex's spreadsheet. it makes it easier to spot trends... if there are any.
 
Honestly, I think she's right on track w/ everything, and the meter may be off by just a few digits, but my guess is, it's going to be just about the same. Life Scan sent me a brand new OTU for free a few weeks ago. I know for myself, when I had my thyroid cancer, I ended up pre-diabetic, and had a OTU and numbers were always in line with the labs. I think it's probably one of the better meters out there.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top