Previous Thread, just for reference.
Well, we had an interesting weekend. All three kitties had the sneezes on Friday, but Munchkin did much better over the weekend. I didn't get a curve on Saturday and I wish I had now. We slept in (a LOT) and got a late start to the day, and it was a gloomy, nasty day - not storming, just constantly drizzling. Had a couple errands to run and helped a friend move some stuff, but I still wish I had made time - at least for a couple checks. I did get a couple checks on Sunday though.
And on Sunday, I started to wonder if Sue was right in what she said about a week ago - that the readings from the Saturday curve (4/27/13) were flat, not because Munchkin's bs wasn't rising with his cold, but that the insulin dose was working well.
Saturday morning - three hours late on Munchkin's bs test and insulin shot; bs was 290 & gave 1.0u.
Saturday night - at +12 Munchkin's bs is 177 and 30 minutes later 174. I can't stay up any later (already well past our bedtime) so no dose. I start wondering if 1.0u is too large of a dose.
Sunday morning - 21 hours without an insulin shot and bs is 272. Started kicking myself for not getting a curve on Saturday. 272 is borderline on dosing scale (>270 = 1.0u, 220-270 = 0.8u) but I'm not comfortable giving 1.0u again. Gave 0.8u and plan to test at nadir.
Sunday "nadir" - at +6.5 bs was 183. Not too bad, feeling good about deciding to go with 0.8u instead of 1.0u.
Sunday at +9.5 - BS reading is 150. Delayed nadir/long cycle = too large of a dose at 0.8u for bs reading of 272? Maybe the cold was elevating his bs and now its coming back down.
Sunday night - PMPS = 186, gave 0.4u. Certainly 0.4u can't be too much. +2 = 199 and +3.5 = 210. Great readings.
Monday morning - AMPS = 224. I don't know what to give. According to the scale I should give 0.8u, but I have doubts. If Munchkin's bs does the same thing it did on Sunday and he has a long cycle with a low-ish number at +12, then I know that 0.8u is too much. But 224 this morning is not the same as 272 on Sunday; 50 points apart. Remind myself that a nadir of 150 is not hypo, not even close. Sooo LATE for work! Gave 0.8u and completely expecting a lower, possibly unshootable, number when I get home from work.
On Monday:
Loaded all the weekend readings into my spreadsheet and did some analysis. Still thinking 1.0u and 0.8u might be too much, but I'll know more when I get home. Reminding myself that 150 is not hypo and well within our target range. We want Munchkin's readings to stay between 100 and 250 (per vet), but we also want shootable numbers at pre-shot tests. The 1.0u dose on Saturday gave a reading at next shot time of 176 - borderline shootable. Ditto, for Sunday with the 0.8u dose, gave a reading at next shot time of 186 - also borderline shootable.
But, before Munchkin got sick, a dose of 0.8u would result in the next pre-shot reading being 18 -20 points lower, on average (examples - 4/25: 237->210, 4/24: 230->208). While he was sick, a dose of 0.8u would result in the next pre-shot reading being higher (5/1: 230->257, 257->306). And, then on Sunday night, Munchkin is almost over his cold and 0.8u dropped his bs 86 points (272 -> 186). Really starting to believe the cold was elevating his bs readings. I want more readings before I change anything. Told myself to wait and see what the Monday PMPS reading would be.
Also, doubting if my vet is right and I'm trying too hard. Jumping at shadows, etc.
Monday afternoon - Remember, on Monday morning gave 0.8u for AMPS of 224. Expecting a lower, possibly unshootable, number. Got a reading as soon as I got home, +10.5 is 304. He bounced, had to. Right?
Monday night - PMPS = 297. Thought about it, and Munchkin is solidly within range to give 1.0u (>270=1.0u). So, I give 1.0u and wonder if I'm shooting the bounce. +3 bs is 174; I think I shot the bounce. Not feeling good at all. Here it is only 3 hours post-shot and already his bs is 174; a drop of 123 points in 3 hours. Sheez! I didn't get up in the night to check his bs; in hindsight, maybe I should have done that.
Tuesday morning - AMPS = 437. I believe I shot the bounce last night, and/or 1.0u is just too large of a dose. On 5/4 the dose of 1.0u dropped Munchkin's bs a total 114 points, shot-time to shot-time. Last night the same dose resulted in a rise in bs from shot-time to shot-time, 140 points. 5/4: 290->176, 5/6: 297->437. Didn't want to shoot the bounce again so gave 0.6u. Poor guy looks rough, bleary-eyed. Not feeling well, not too enthused about breakfast (atypical for him), but not sneezing (the girls are though). Tried to watch and see if he used the litter box so I could check for ketones, but he didn't while I was home. Normally follows me around in the morning while I get ready but not this morning, hiding in a hidey-hole somewhere out of sight.
Okay, so that has been my reasoning over the past few days. Sorry so long, again. What does everyone else think? Am I completely deluding myself and something else is going on? Maybe now that the cold is over, are Munchkin's insulin needs reduced? What should my dosages be?
Well, we had an interesting weekend. All three kitties had the sneezes on Friday, but Munchkin did much better over the weekend. I didn't get a curve on Saturday and I wish I had now. We slept in (a LOT) and got a late start to the day, and it was a gloomy, nasty day - not storming, just constantly drizzling. Had a couple errands to run and helped a friend move some stuff, but I still wish I had made time - at least for a couple checks. I did get a couple checks on Sunday though.
And on Sunday, I started to wonder if Sue was right in what she said about a week ago - that the readings from the Saturday curve (4/27/13) were flat, not because Munchkin's bs wasn't rising with his cold, but that the insulin dose was working well.
Saturday morning - three hours late on Munchkin's bs test and insulin shot; bs was 290 & gave 1.0u.
Saturday night - at +12 Munchkin's bs is 177 and 30 minutes later 174. I can't stay up any later (already well past our bedtime) so no dose. I start wondering if 1.0u is too large of a dose.
Sunday morning - 21 hours without an insulin shot and bs is 272. Started kicking myself for not getting a curve on Saturday. 272 is borderline on dosing scale (>270 = 1.0u, 220-270 = 0.8u) but I'm not comfortable giving 1.0u again. Gave 0.8u and plan to test at nadir.
Sunday "nadir" - at +6.5 bs was 183. Not too bad, feeling good about deciding to go with 0.8u instead of 1.0u.
Sunday at +9.5 - BS reading is 150. Delayed nadir/long cycle = too large of a dose at 0.8u for bs reading of 272? Maybe the cold was elevating his bs and now its coming back down.
Sunday night - PMPS = 186, gave 0.4u. Certainly 0.4u can't be too much. +2 = 199 and +3.5 = 210. Great readings.
Monday morning - AMPS = 224. I don't know what to give. According to the scale I should give 0.8u, but I have doubts. If Munchkin's bs does the same thing it did on Sunday and he has a long cycle with a low-ish number at +12, then I know that 0.8u is too much. But 224 this morning is not the same as 272 on Sunday; 50 points apart. Remind myself that a nadir of 150 is not hypo, not even close. Sooo LATE for work! Gave 0.8u and completely expecting a lower, possibly unshootable, number when I get home from work.
On Monday:
Loaded all the weekend readings into my spreadsheet and did some analysis. Still thinking 1.0u and 0.8u might be too much, but I'll know more when I get home. Reminding myself that 150 is not hypo and well within our target range. We want Munchkin's readings to stay between 100 and 250 (per vet), but we also want shootable numbers at pre-shot tests. The 1.0u dose on Saturday gave a reading at next shot time of 176 - borderline shootable. Ditto, for Sunday with the 0.8u dose, gave a reading at next shot time of 186 - also borderline shootable.
But, before Munchkin got sick, a dose of 0.8u would result in the next pre-shot reading being 18 -20 points lower, on average (examples - 4/25: 237->210, 4/24: 230->208). While he was sick, a dose of 0.8u would result in the next pre-shot reading being higher (5/1: 230->257, 257->306). And, then on Sunday night, Munchkin is almost over his cold and 0.8u dropped his bs 86 points (272 -> 186). Really starting to believe the cold was elevating his bs readings. I want more readings before I change anything. Told myself to wait and see what the Monday PMPS reading would be.
Also, doubting if my vet is right and I'm trying too hard. Jumping at shadows, etc.
Monday afternoon - Remember, on Monday morning gave 0.8u for AMPS of 224. Expecting a lower, possibly unshootable, number. Got a reading as soon as I got home, +10.5 is 304. He bounced, had to. Right?
Monday night - PMPS = 297. Thought about it, and Munchkin is solidly within range to give 1.0u (>270=1.0u). So, I give 1.0u and wonder if I'm shooting the bounce. +3 bs is 174; I think I shot the bounce. Not feeling good at all. Here it is only 3 hours post-shot and already his bs is 174; a drop of 123 points in 3 hours. Sheez! I didn't get up in the night to check his bs; in hindsight, maybe I should have done that.
Tuesday morning - AMPS = 437. I believe I shot the bounce last night, and/or 1.0u is just too large of a dose. On 5/4 the dose of 1.0u dropped Munchkin's bs a total 114 points, shot-time to shot-time. Last night the same dose resulted in a rise in bs from shot-time to shot-time, 140 points. 5/4: 290->176, 5/6: 297->437. Didn't want to shoot the bounce again so gave 0.6u. Poor guy looks rough, bleary-eyed. Not feeling well, not too enthused about breakfast (atypical for him), but not sneezing (the girls are though). Tried to watch and see if he used the litter box so I could check for ketones, but he didn't while I was home. Normally follows me around in the morning while I get ready but not this morning, hiding in a hidey-hole somewhere out of sight.
Okay, so that has been my reasoning over the past few days. Sorry so long, again. What does everyone else think? Am I completely deluding myself and something else is going on? Maybe now that the cold is over, are Munchkin's insulin needs reduced? What should my dosages be?