Munchie check-in and feedback request

Status
Not open for further replies.

ewest

Member Since 2011
Hi All,
Wanted to post about Munchie and get folks thoughts on her numbers/dose. She's still very bouncy but has had more 100's on her current dose but it's not consistent. Her brother (TC) died on November 1 so she's been grieving him but doing better this past week. As far as I know she still has her pancreatitis and I think that's what's making her regulation much harder. I will be able to test her mid-day again tomorrow and then Sat/Sun. Want to see if she gets more 100's then or if I need to edge her up some more. Part of me feels sad that it doesn't seem she'll be having the "flat Lantus curve" in the 100's on a regular basis but I guess that's just the card she's dealt with the pancreatitis (and they think she has another infection maybe around her liver that she was recently treated for). She seems to bounce even from readings in 100's so we haven't wanted to get her in the double digits as my vet said it's harder on a cat's body to bounce from 80 to 400, than it is to stay in 200's or 300's. My prayer is that I'm not completely messing things up with her as I don't want her losing her eyesight, etc. Anyone else have cat with similar situation? Any thoughts on other things that might help her? I also work with a homeopath and that does seem to help her and I've worked with a nutritionist as well on her diet (but her diet was good to start with as she's been on raw diet since 3 years old).

Thanks.
 
Has Munchie had repeated bouts of pancreatitis or are you thinking this is the same episode from July? We've seen bouts but not one episode that would last that long. Have you seen this post on pancreatitis? It was written by a vet tech that used to be very active here but has been gone due to some of her own health issues. There are some good recommendations regarding supplements.

Also, what is Nat Mur on your SS? Have you checked the ingredients?

Munchie is bouncing off of the blue numbers. Until you can bring her overall level down and she gets used to spending time in those numbers, you're going to see bounces. I really want to encourage you to re-think your dosing strategy. By leaving Munchie at the same dose this length of time, you could be causing glucose toxicity. Munchie's body is treating the higher numbers as the new "normal." As a result, when her numbers drop even a relatively small amount, her liver kicks in and you have a bounce. To get Munchie in a better BG range, you are going to need to give more insulin.
 
It seems like Munchie is continually throwing up while on Clavamox. I'd try a different AB if it were my cat, FWIW. Can't advise on the dose, but Sienne has already weighed in, and I'd follow what she says.
 
So when would I know that she's at the right amount? I thought we were going for numbers in the 100's which she's been having more of. I feel badly and sad; just acknowledging because I've been trying but apparently not getting enough guidance and she's getting hurt due what I don't know. So I need to up to 1.75 it sounds like. Thank you for your help. I guess what I don't understand is her having periods of 100's and then some higher in between and then a few 100's again. That's when I get confused about increasing wondering if she'd get too low since she's already having periods of 100's. Strange to me that she's had low numbers (below 40's) on all of her doses which i don't get but a lot about this I don't understand.
 
It's great that Munchie is spending more time in the blue zone. Ideally, you want to keep numbers in the normal BG range (50 - 120). That's the ideal -- well, other than getting your cat into remission. With the Tight Regulation Protocol, we look to move a cat into lower ranges as quickly as is safely possible. Personally, I wouldn't get too focused on the bounces. Almost every cat here will go through bouncing. Eventually, Munchie will bounce less. I don't think you're hurting your cat. If you were, there would be a lot of us giving you a stern talking to. You're doing your best and you're learning. We've all been there and done that. None of us knew exactly how to manage our cat's FD when we first got here. It can take a while to get the hang of it.

If you can post more, that's great. If you can't, then post when you have questions. Everyone is here to help you and Munchie.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top