Thanks for the input!
Donna, thanks for explaining your thinking, it helps a lot! I'm really hesitant to go with the full dose, because I don't want to undo the progress I've made to this point. The last time I shot the full dose on a low number, we ended up in a rebound, so I think he's sensitive to fast drops. I ended up giving 1.25u, after he ate a larger than normal breakfast. I will be home for the next 9 hours or so, and will run a curve to see what happens.
Lori, I know you are seeing the previous dose swings, but are you looking at the last 10 days? I lowered his dose to 1.5u for a full 5 days, and it looked to me like that dose was insufficient. I then raised it to 1.75u, and it took a few days for him to settle into that dose, but it seems to be pretty close to a good dose. From what I've been reading here, it seems common practice is 2-3 days before assessing and changing dose, so I think I've waited long enough between adjustments, but please correct me if I'm wrong! I don't think 1.0u would be sufficient, since 1.5u wasn't enough. Am I missing something?
I understand start low, go slow.... he started on 2.0u BID because his BG was 600, and his vet wanted me to raise him to 3.0u BID after 2 weeks, which I refused to do. (Good thing, he'd be dead!) :shock: