Mr. Pants Amps 204 +1.5 247 +3 157 +5 128 +9 150 pmps 173 post meal 162 with no shot!!!???

We really need to see the BGs on a SS. You mention “219” but we have no reference for when you took that test because it’s not in your subject line or on a SS.

I will say the numbers you posted show a pretty flat cycle as the BG can vary up to 20% due to meter variance and the BGs show a fairly typical Lantus curve where there would be a food bump early on, nadir about mid- cycle, and then a rise. It’s actually a very nice cycle.

If you did not give insulin at PMPS, please record it as PMBG as “PMPS” indicates you shot and “PMBG” indicates you did not. There’s not much difference between his PMBG and 162 which was taken ?????. They don’t always get a food bump and onset isn’t until +2 so you might still be seeing some carryover from the AM cycle. Remember Lantus is a depot insulin.

And please, please, please, post the SS and do your signature block or I will have to move this to Main Health. This insulin support group is for the depot insulin users who have the SS up and running and their signature block set up. Thank you.
 
219 was what he was 10 minutes after he was 162 post meal... He received his shot once he went from 162 to 219 in ten minutes. Now he is 75. I literally just got done shooting 26 cabinet doors in my refinishing shop and have been doing so for the last 12 hours straight so there is no literal way that I can enter all of that into a spreadsheet right now so I guess if you have to move the post you can do what you need to do. All of his numbers from today are in the thread title. 163 mg per deciliter was recorded 30 minutes after his normal evening meal... 10 minutes later he read 219 mg per deciliter.
 
He dropped from 173 before his meal to 162....he stayed there for 25 minutes. He then jumped from 162 to 219 in the next five to ten minutes. I gave him a shot once that happened. We are +4.5 @76 and seemingly stable. I will fill out a spreadsheet.
 
Watch that 76 closely… have some high carb and karo on deck just in case.

Holler if you need help with your spreadsheet and signature, it’s the best way we can help now and long-term.
 
think I posted my spreadsheet lol. we are 81 now. I don't know why I do this every year. I just get mad paranoid when I have to raise his insulin levels. I think we probably earned a reduction tonight. We'll see tomorrow. Definitely need to get some ff gravy or grilled. Thanks buddy.
 
think I posted my spreadsheet lol. we are 81 now. I don't know why I do this every year. I just get mad paranoid when I have to raise his insulin levels. I think we probably earned a reduction tonight. We'll see tomorrow. Definitely need to get some ff gravy or grilled. Thanks buddy.

I can see the spreadsheet now. Nice work buddy. Keep filling it out each day and you’ll start to learn Mr. Pant’s patterns. You’ll have me and an army of cat ladies trying to crack the code. Ha ha ha

So much to learn, one day at a time.
 
So we woke up at 2:20 a.m and puked. We are now back to 240mg/dl amps. Sigh. Thought we were about to get back on the normal train. I don't know if I should reduce the insulin or stick with the regular dose
 
So we woke up at 2:20 a.m and puked. We are now back to 240mg/dl amps. Sigh. Thought we were about to get back on the normal train. I don't know if I should reduce the insulin or stick with the regular dose
You said you are doing TR; without the benefit of seeing other data at this dose, if he hasn’t dropped below 50 on a human meter, you would hold the dose.
 
You said you are doing TR; without the benefit of seeing other data at this dose, if he hasn’t dropped below 50 on a human meter, you would hold the dose.
I fell asleep after I saw him move upward to 81. I'm not sure why we would get a nadir that was almost 60 mg/dl lower than the previous cycle, and then end up at 240...vs. 173 like we were yesterday at pmps. I figured I should hold the dose but something told me to reduce it. Looks like I was potentially wrong. If we come down to 160-180 today for pmps then I can hold his current dose at the slightly reduced amount, as that will indicate a trend downward....? I'd just as soon get back to good numbers over the next 24 hours than to drop below 80 again and shoot all the way back up to the mid 200's.
 
Last edited:
Not sure why we puked either. Potentially from such a large downward move to low numbers....maybe producing a bounce?? Just spitballing. Typically I will reduce the dose by .25 or less if he is under 180.
 
I fell asleep after I saw him move upward to 81. I'm not sure why we would get a nadir that was almost 60 mg/dl lower than the previous cycle, and then end up at 240...vs. 173 like we were yesterday at pmps. I figured I should hold the dose but something told me to reduce it. Looks like I was potentially wrong. If we come down to 160-180 today for pmps then I can hold his current dose at the slightly reduced amount, as that will indicate a trend downward....? I'd just as soon get back to good numbers over the next 24 hours than to drop below 80 again and shoot all the way back up to the mid 200's.
He was clearing a bounce and bounced again. You can’t dose based on the bouncing. You dose on the nadir.

Unless a cat is close to remission, they do better with 0.25u increases and decreases unless they are big gulpers (e.g. acro cats) or they have nadirs over 300.

I doubt the vomiting had anything to do with his cycle or insulin. That’s usually an intestinal or tummy issue. If you reduce the dose when he drops below 180, you are leaving at renal threshold most of the time which is not good for his kidneys.

Please start a new thread. Unlike Main Health, here it is one per cat per day, linking the previous day. Please read this. We have to take a different approach here than on Main Health due to the number of daily posters. We appreciate you reading and following our procedures.
 
Back
Top