Motor - 7/01

Status
Not open for further replies.

jaimiesm3

Member
AMPS was 155

+6 was 115

This morning was the highest he's been since we've been testing and since he hasn't had any juice. The vet heard the numbers and was really excited for us. But I'm wondering if he's a "live in the 100s" cat or can I get him lower?

He's not eating the most right now, since it's hot here. That's not gonna get better until after this weekend.

Anything that can get his numbers lower or is he fine sitting where he is?
 
The 155 is still a diabetic number, but he is so new to insulin that it is a little scary to consider micro doses.

You could try feeding several smaller meals throughout the day to help support his pancreas. And you can try the lowest carb foods to see if that makes a difference. Say, if you have been feeding 7% carbs, try 3% flavors. Sometimes raw food can make the difference and move them down. You can buy it already made, frozen.
 
I agree, there isn't any data to shoot micro doses. When I went to a much lower carb food, Wellness around 4% carbs, I saw an improvement in bg's, I think I would try that first, and of course there is the raw diet.
 
Intereesting that the 2 of you suggested raw diet,
I have been reading about it and wondering if I should try...

I am not sure if I would shoot my kitty if he was that low with no insulin and has not had insuln for awhile,
just my input..
 
A raw diet is species appropriate. A kitty in the wild would catch and kill a mouse and eat it whole and raw, they don't build a little kitty camp fire and cook the s$#@ out of it first.

Since I've gone to a raw diet my crew has been much happier and healthier. Their fur is like petting a Chinchilla.
 
Did you really get a 28 the other day? Or is that maybe a wonky reading because it doesn't really fit in with the others!

The real test to see how well the pancreas is working is a feeding test. Test before the am meal like usual, fed, and roughly 3-4 hours later test again. If Motor has a well functioning pancreas, the second number after eating will be lower.

I am concerned that you are seeing fewer green numbers the longer you go off insulin. The feeding test will tell us how low he will go without insulin after feeding and we can more safely recommend a micro dose for you to start off with. At this point, yes you are still seeing somewhat diabetic numbers. There is no way to get data to micro dose unless you start with the food test, and then proceed with the smallest micro dose you can measure. There is just no other way to gather the data to be able to micro dose these numbers. I do recommend that you eventually give a micro dose to these numbers though. It will result in a stronger remission from insulin and a stronger pancreas.
 
Rob & Harley said:
I agree, there isn't any data to shoot micro doses. When I went to a much lower carb food, Wellness around 4% carbs, I saw an improvement in bg's, I think I would try that first, and of course there is the raw diet.

There might be someting I'm missing or I might just be wrong, but I read on Janet & Binky's list the Fancy Feast Beef & Liver & Chopped Grill are both 2%, there are several others that are 3% and they might be easier to find. I don't know much about the Wellness & I don't think it's easily found in my area at least.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top