? Moses 11/1/20 amps 254, +2 288, +4 178, +6 120, +10 76, +11 63, pmps 75

Trudi and Moses

Member Since 2020
Hi, this is my first time posting. My 12 year old moses was just dx in Sept at an emergency vet visit. I've been working with his vet on trying to regulate and get the dosing right..today I did his 1st curve after a week on an increased dose of 3u bid. Haven't given his pm dose because his numbers are the lowest I've seen..he ate .5 Fp about 30 minutes ago and I was going wait another 30 to test and see where he is. Do you think I should hold off tonight or reduce? Hopefully I've added the spreadsheet correctly
 
No shot tonight. It is not safe to do so.

Since you fed, your next test number would still be carb influenced.

It is possible that by the vet increasing in 1 unit measures that the best dose for Moses has been bypassed. It is recommended that dose increases be no more than 0.25 units.

The PMPS 110 on the night of the 30th also shows this.

I'm tagging a few experienced Lantus people for you.

@Wendy&Neko
@tiffmaxee
@Sue and Luci
@Aleluia Grugru & Minnie
 
If I understand correctly, you did indeed skip the shot tonight? You will still need to check a few more tests tonight, with Lantus being a depot insulin, the cumulative nature of it can continue to affect the first part of the cycle, even if you didn't give any insulin tonight.

As @Red & Rover (GA) mentioned, it is best when you get a lower preshot number, to stall, do not feed and test again in 20 Minutes to see if the number is rising naturally without influence of food.

We do prefer to increase and decrease in smaller increments, and I'm worried that 1u was too much of an increase.
Are you following TR or SLGS? Your signature says TR, but the SS shows SLGS. It just helps for us to know so we can give you the right suggestions, it can be different depending on which method you are following. With TR you ideally want to get mid cycle tests each cycle (am and pm) along with the preshots.

Here is the sticky for info
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/

Can you please check again at +2 or +3? While he's been flattish since +10, if it were me, I'd like to see the numbers rising, or at least staying flat. He is still in very nice safe numbers. Interesting curve data today.
 
Correct no shot was given tonight. I'm going to test at the 3 & 4 hour marks. And then I guess I'm still trying to figure out if I'm tr or the other one? This is all so very new and frustrating! Thank goodness I was recommended this group. My vet is expecting a call tomorrow with today's numbers so I'll be doing that first thing in the am.
 
It’s clear that 3 units is too much. Good save. I’m glad you found us too. The question is how much if a decrease to take. Please post in the morning and don’t shoot until you get help. If a green bg, stall, don’t feed and wait for help. Okay?
 
SLGS looks more feasible for my work schedule
It’s also a good way to ease in to FD. You can change your mind at any time.
A reduction was earned today with SLGS. I’m thinking I would take him down to 2.25 but let’s see what happens tonight and in the morning.
 
Ok! I've been calling the vet when they open @730 with the readings & his Dr usually calls back when she gets in at 10. Its only a block away from me so if I need to go its a quick trip. I'll update his spreadsheet as I test tonight & update this feed in the morning
 
I agree. I'll do everything I can to help him live his best life!
His companion of 11 years crossed the bridge suddenly less than a week after he was diagnosed and I cant help but wonder if there's any connection between the grief process and physical health or that I'm a kooky lady overthinking every little thing.
 
Hello and welcome.

I agree Moses dose was increased too fast, but he hasn’t shown any numbers too low on this dose yet. If you’d rather go a little lower as you get up to speed, maybe drop to 2.5 units.

A favour to ask of you on the spreadsheet. Some of the units cells are coloured green, and some darker blue. We reserve those colours for blood sugar readings and have grown used to seeing patterns in numbers via colour. Could you put those cells back to the original colour? Or at least not one of the ones we use for blood sugars.
 
Back
Top