Blamethecats and Hannah
Member Since 2014
Well, just when I think I have my little girlie figured out, she gives me a morning surprise -- an AMPS number of 229 on the AlphaTrak. One hour later, right after her morning meal, it's 211. I know that's still an up-there number, but for Hannie, it's lower and something new. That has never happened and has left me pretty much happy but wondering what to do, next. As you can see on her spreadsheet, she's usually in the blacks, reds, and pinks at 7:30 AM, so there is no hesitation to go ahead with her shot. I read somewhere on this forum that the cutoff for insulin, for beginners, on the AlphaTrak, is 230. Therefore, no shot this morning, especially after that 211. Thought about giving her a very small dose, but then chickened out. My question is this: Do I let her go all day without insulin? I expect her numbers will increase throughout the day and I will be monitoring. Do I wait until her evening dose at 8:30 PM, and then how much do I give her? She usually gets 0.8 U in the morning (ProZinc), then 0.4 U in the evening. I expect by this evening, she will need more than the 0.4 U? Last evening, I increased her dose, slightly, giving her a nice, fat 0.4 U. Maybe that explains the lower number this morning? She also vomited a large hairball sometime, early this morning, before we got out of bed. Suggestions will be so very much appreciated, as I am so uncertain about all of this. You folks on this board are so helpful and experienced and I really trust your advice.