Been scratching my head over your handsome little guy (he is adorable!!!!).
First of all, I don't see anything suggestive of IAA in Rocket's numbers. Typically with IAA a dose increase appears to be working within the first to second day and then the BG just goes back up to where it was....like the dose pooped out.
First of all, let me say you are a hero on these boards! Thank you so much for taking the time to look at Rocket's info, my posts, etc. - I am so grateful for your help and advice. HUGE hugs to you!!!

Ok, I didn't know that IAA could present that way. I know it's just one day, but what do you think of Rocket's numbers on June 5? He went down to 183 after going from 3.0-4.0 units in 24 hours. His vet's advice.
A number of things lead me to think it's highly likely the insulin dose is too high.
At diagnosis, BG was 450 and Rocket had an infection. An infection would usually elevate BG and it's highly likely that BG was elevated to some degree due to vet stress. I hope a fructosamine was done to confirm diagnosis and not just one in office BG test along with clinical observations.
Rocket recently had a dental cleaning (you mentioned an infection there too) which I would likely increase BG numbers. While tests are scant around the time of the dental, it appears his numbers are going up rather than down following the dental that supposedly dealt with that issue.
I don't remember, but my husband doesn't think a fructosamine was done when he had the infection. I'm going to call the vet later today and see what info I can find. As for his post-dental numbers, our vet said to wait 4-5 days to test him... to give his system a chance to normalize? Adjust? I probably should've snuck in an occasional test. But, what do you think of his numbers on June 19-21? He had a much better curve than before the dental, so I thought it might have helped.
On the 20th and 21st of June, Rocket finally dropped into the blues however it was at the end of cycle later than is typical with ProZinc.
On the 22nd, Rocket had an inverted cycle i.e. went from lower to higher numbers mid cycle and dropped down again to some degree at the end of the day cycle.
These readings are the main reasons I'm so confused/concerned. Though it hasn't happened in the last couple of days.
On the 19th, you indicated you thought you gave a fur shot yet BG did not skyrocket into the black by the end of the cycle. It would have been helpful to have a mid cycle test that night to see if he dropped at all in the typical time frame. We have no way of knowing if all, some or none of the insulin got into his system but if none got in, given the recent numbers, I'd expect his BG would have increased through the cycle leading to an even higher AMPS on the 20th which wasn't the case. If some got in, he may have dropped mid cycle and had a typical cycle. If none got in, then I'd definitely be leaning toward the dose being too high.
Yeah. I really wish I would've gotten a number that night too. Not sure why I didn't, actually.
Doses have been increased 0.5u at a time and we'd recommend changes in 0.25u increments to ensure not skipping over the best dose. Some cats are very sensitive to dose changes and even changes less than 0.25u can make a difference.
Yeah. I know so much more now than I did when this all started, thanks to these boards and people like you.

Which is why I'd love to try starting over at a lower dose. But I'm not sure of how to do it safely and avoiding a crisis.
You indicated Rocket was sick when first diagnosed and hospitalized for a couple of days. Was he given antibiotics at that time? Did the vet ever mention ketones or DKA?
Did Rocket get antibiotics following his dental cleaning?
You changed Rocket to wet low carb food around the time of his diagnosis. Was insulin started before the food change?
Assuming you were having curves done at the vet before you started home testing, do you have any of that data?
ETA Are you testing Rocket for ketones at all?
Yes, Rocket was given antibiotics at the time of hospitalization, and at home for either 7-10 days afterwards.
The vet did not mention ketones or DKA. Actually they were quite vague about the "infection," so I'm not sure they even knew what exactly was wrong. Sigh.
Rocket only got antibiotics during the dental cleaning. I asked whether he would be sent home with any, and they said they weren't needed. Which I thought was a little weird for a diabetic, but I don't know.
As for food, I started immediately on low-carb wet food with the insulin. Again, hindsight is 20/20. I wish I could start over with diet change first. Oh! The vet did send him home with Hills Metabolic Dry food at first.

Which I very quickly learned was not the way to go. So, there was a bit of time (a week or two?) where he was getting wet and dry.
Sadly, no curves at the vet, since like I said, Rocket HATES going to the vet. Gets extremely agitated. So, office curves would be worthless. He just said to bring him in for spot tests and weight checks every couple weeks, and occasional fructosamine. You know the story. Anyway I started my spreadsheet almost as soon as I started testing, so all my info is there.
I am not testing for ketones but plan to do so. I'm going to try to get supplies today. I'll definitely start if we attempt lowering his dose.
I have a few numbers from overnight and this morning that I haven't put in yet - I need to run some errands right this minute, but I'll put them in as soon as I get back.
Edit: never mind, just added last day or so to the spreadsheet.

Also, we have an appt. with his "second opinion" doctor tomorrow morning, so hopefully I can present some of these ideas to her. We're also considering testing for acro, just to rule it out (or not).
Again, thank you, thank you, thank you!!! I hope you're having a great day.

