Morning BG

Status
Not open for further replies.
You don't have a spreadsheet, so there's no history to go by. I'm assuming you're new, so 178 would be a no shoot number. You'd want to stall instead.
 
Agree with Amy. Are you using a human BGL meter? If you don't have a spreadsheet, and you haven't been doing this long enough to know how your Ringo reacts to insulin, don't shoot under 200. It's the easiest way to keep him safe. Better a day of high numbers than a dangerous low. If you test for Ketones (many members use inexpensive ketostix and test urine) a day when you have to skip insulin is a good day to test for ketones.
 
Agree with Amy. Are you using a human BGL meter? If you don't have a spreadsheet, and you haven't been doing this long enough to know how your Ringo reacts to insulin, don't shoot under 200. It's the easiest way to keep him safe. Better a day of high numbers than a dangerous low. If you test for Ketones (many members use inexpensive ketostix and test urine) a day when you have to skip insulin is a good day to test for ketones.

We are using alpha trak
 
Did you see the spreadsheet instructions?
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/fdmb-spreadsheet-instructions.130337/
Are you having some sort of problem getting the SS setup?

Where are you having the problem?
Do you use a computer, laptop, tablet or only a smartphone?
Do you have a google account already? (You'll need one.)
(Former computer geek Deb)

Technology scares me honestly. I get stumped easily. My laptop isn’t acting right so just using smartphone now
 
Also keeping up with everything is overwhelming right now. I feel it is most important to make sure I am properly caring for Ringo. I will try from my phone tonight
 
Also keeping up with everything is overwhelming right now. I feel it is most important to make sure I am properly caring for Ringo. I will try from my phone tonight
It's a lot to take in, and it's definitely overwhelming at the beginning. If you want to use the spreadsheet, there are people here who can set it up for you and all you have to do is enter the numbers as you get them. It can really help you (as well as others on the board) keep track of what's going on. Once it's setup, there's an app you can use to enter the numbers so you don't need to get on the computer to do that all the time.

We're here to help however we can! :)
 
Also keeping up with everything is overwhelming right now. I feel it is most important to make sure I am properly caring for Ringo. I will try from my phone tonight

Overwhelmed is very understandable. Take good care of Ringo. If you have learned to use facebook, you can learn to use google.

Do you already have a google account?
Are you able to access that google account from your smartphone?

(trying to figure out how we can help you better with setting up the SS)

If you would like some help. Send me a PM. Technology does not scare me too much. I used to be a computer programmer in the old days before PC's and worked with mainframe computers.
 
It's a lot to take in, and it's definitely overwhelming at the beginning. If you want to use the spreadsheet, there are people here who can set it up for you and all you have to do is enter the numbers as you get them. It can really help you (as well as others on the board) keep track of what's going on. Once it's setup, there's an app you can use to enter the numbers so you don't need to get on the computer to do that all the time.

We're here to help however we can! :)
Amy, what is that app????
 
Google Sheets
Thought so. People need google sheets and google drive for their smartphone. With that, once the spreadsheet is setup, it's simple for them to update.

(Deb is still in the dark ages, landline. Hardwired, not even a wireless handpiece. Cell phone is an old flipphone. So I can call the power company when the electricity goes off.)
 
People need google sheets and google drive for their smartphone. With that, once the spreadsheet is setup, it's simple for them to update.
I had a spreadsheet before I found this forum, but the one offered here is so much better. Once I found the app, it definitely made it so much simplier to update without having to remember when I got to the computer, plus I can check it anywhere I am (like when the vet asked me his last reading). Super convenient!
 
My apologies Darci. I forget that people have full time jobs and other responsibilities. Retired.

Sorry for pushing so hard. Let me know if someone may help you with the SS setup.

Day 2 of Prozinc insulin. Skip the shots if BG is under 200 at pre-shot tests. (and no history of ketones or DKA)
We'll teach you stalling later.
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top