Morgaine 8/12 AMPS 105,+3 140,+6 145, PMPS 149, +4 164

Status
Not open for further replies.

skybar22

Member Since 2010
yesterday

Hi everyone.

After my panicky start to yesterday with an AMPS of 82, we got up to an AMPS of 105 today. I am going to see how this goes on her new dose. I did feed her a small amt of food at PM+6 before I went to bed. I had been concerned about her going too low overnight and I needed some sleep badly. So, I am very pleased with her AMPS number and am interested to see where she travels today.

Thanks again to all who offer support and advice. Yesterday gave me some courage and a bit more confidence.

I am also glad to understand diabetes as it effects my body. I am using similar principles, coupled with the expert advice from here to learn how to regulate Morgaine. Using food to steer the BGs is an important part of my plan so I experimented yesterday and got an idea of how Morgaine would respond. We definitely could have done without the HC food I gave her at +2 but she didn't go any higher than 149 at PMPS and came down nicely overnight with an extra 1/4 can of low carb FF.

Hope you all are having a good day.
 
Re: Morgaine 8/12 AMPS 105

from a purely scientific point of view it's kinda of interesting how the body/carb/insulin stuff all relates to each other, isn't it? i'm not diabetic, but i have it in both sides of my family in a lot of people. i definitely want to stay away from that little gift if i can.

morgaine is doing really well, thanks to your super care! you should feel very good about that.
 
Re: Morgaine 8/12 AMPS 105

julie1220 said:
from a purely scientific point of view it's kinda of interesting how the body/carb/insulin stuff all relates to each other, isn't it? i'm not diabetic, but i have it in both sides of my family in a lot of people. i definitely want to stay away from that little gift if i can.

morgaine is doing really well, thanks to your super care! you should feel very good about that.

Thanks Julie. I take care of her like I take care of me only more vigilant because I can treat my hypos when I feel them and she needs me to recognize if she has one. So, it is tricker but I can't imagine doing anything but what i am doing. My friends do not get it. Oh well!

As for the relationship of body/carbs/insulin, I can eat protein, fat and most veggies and nuts and not need to give myself any additional insulin besides my basal rates with a pump. It is the carbs that require boluses for me. I know cats convert protein to glucose but I don't seem to although some people may. I can eat a huge salad with everything, cheese, egg, chicken, nuts, even a little apple, lettuce and tomato and not need extra insulin. I didn't know that before using a pump. In much the same way, our cats get Lantus, a basal insulin with minor if any peaking compared to other insulins, and they can eat their low carb diets with little major fluctuation, if regulated. It is interesting stuff to me.

I almost can't believe it took so long for research to catch up on the carb connection for cats.
 
Re: Morgaine 8/12 AMPS 105

Very very interesting information, Rosalie. Morgaine is looking super and your diligence in her care is really showing. Great shooting yesterday!!!

I hope you both have a great evening.....a nice surf and plenty of rest.
 
Re: Morgaine 8/12 AMPS 105

Morgaine is liking the 140's today. She has been +1.5 141, +3 140,+6 145. As mentioned when I raised her to 3.0 units, I am going to hold this dose for several more days since my family is coming to visit and I won't be able to watch her on a new dose like I want to. Of course, if anything gets really out of whack in either direction, I will adjust things and stay home with her if need be. I am hoping for a safe few days with steady, flat numbers by Sunday. :cool:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top