More Max # Madness

Status
Not open for further replies.

MayBTheresHope

Member Since 2012
Ok, I've GOT to stop giving fur shots. It is so hard for me to tell what is going on with Max. I'm still shooting .75 units PZI (when I don't miss).

Sunday was great! AMPS 262, AMPS+6 116, PMPS 212. Then I think I gave a fur shot Sunday evening.
Monday AMPS was 388. I couldn't make it home AMPS+6, so Monday PMPS was 238. DEFINITELY gave another fur shot Monday evening. GRRRR!!!
Tuesday AMPS was 356. Again, too busy at work to make it home for AMPS+6. PMPS was 412.

This morning AMPS was 153 this morning, so I waited 15 min while he ate more and retested....got in 169. I decided not to shoot and am going to try to get home this afternoon to retest during lunch. Did I make the right decision? At what point do you not shoot??? :?: :?:
 
I would have waited too. At that low dose, I wouldn't take the chance - especially since you weren't going to be around. Just remember, if he is in higher numbers this afternoon, it's because he hasn't had insulin in several hours. So don't react to that number. I would be tempted to lower the dose to maybe .5 since .75 gave you a number too low to shoot.

This is great news - difficult to have a life around - but great news! :mrgreen:
 
Remember we are always thinking human meters. You need to be thinking subtracting 30 when we give advice. So your 153 was 123 on what we usually base our advice. 123 at preshot may mean a really low number overnight and definitely means lowering the dose is in order.
 
Max is the smart one....I think he intentionally squirms away so that he will only get a fur shot b/c he knows his dose is too high!
 
Sandy,
I see two nights in a row where you suspected fur shots. What about the next night when you shot .75 into the 412? With the AMPS you got, I'd say "no way". But I'd also say that the .75 was too much to give you a low blue AMPS.
"Something" seems to have happened on the 13th, because all of a sudden, he started reacting well to that dose.
If he gives you a shootable number tonight I'm thinking maybe you can find a dose in between the .75 and .5? Even if he gives you a 400 PMPS, if .75 is going to give you a non-shoot number in the morning, you'll be stuck in the same situation...

Carl
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top