Moochie libre drop to 60 with down arrow. Also posted in Lantus .

Status
Not open for further replies.

NyCatMom

Member Since 2020
Hi , I am at work today but left my Phone at home so I could remote monitor him through my work phone. Apparently the low glucose alarm sounded and a family member at home was afraid he was going to low so they gave him a couple of teaspoons of 14 carb cat food. I'm waiting to see the impact on the librelinkup app.
Update. After snack , he dropped to 60. I told them to give a but of karo syrup. Correct way to go?
A couple of questions. Do people generally turn off the first libre alarm ( under 100) and just leave the critical alarm on? Was my family's treatment the correct way a big drop?

Moochie 242 AMPS 239 +1, 146 +2, 84 +3 Libre Low Alarm
 
Hi , I am at work today but left my Phone at home so I could remote monitor him through my work phone. Apparently the low glucose alarm sounded and a family member at home was afraid he was going to low so they gave him a couple of teaspoons of 14 carb cat food. I'm waiting to see the impact on the librelinkup app.
Update. After snack , he dropped to 60. I told them to give a but of karo syrup. Correct way to go?
A couple of questions. Do people generally turn off the first libre alarm ( under 100) and just leave the critical alarm on? Was my family's treatment the correct way a big drop?

Moochie 242 AMPS 239 +1, 146 +2, 84 +3 Libre Low Alarm

Actually I see on +4- 84, if you gave a couple of tsp. of High Carbs the Karo was not necessary, the best way to spike up the BG is to feed 1-2 tsp of low carb every 1/2hour and test and continue this protocol until you have safer numbers, unless the BG is under 50 you can give 1ml of Karo syrup, wait 1/2 hour test if still low then you start the 1/2hour/test protocol if it does not raises the BG, then 1 tsp of high carbs a tsp at a time until regulated, Corky uses ProZinc, I cannot say what is the safe number for Lantus, but I do not believe it was a call for Karo and high carbs at the same time, Karo is used as the last resort this is only a quick fix, the you give High carbs, by doing both you will probably see a high spike in high Bgs, you don't want that. Also, is unfortunate that the Libre reads very low numbers lower than reality, I do not know if you already had the experience that the sensors tend to fall off or stop working before the 14 days, most members use the ReliON Premier human monitor and strips, they are very reliable, inexpensive and accurate, but if you are not home and using the Libre as you explained in your post, whoever is taking care of your baby, the protocol of tsp of low carb at first or medium carb between 11-15% at a time every 1/2hour ant test before repeating until safe numbers are seen is best and again; unless the BG is extremely low you first can give 1ml of Karo wait 1/2 hour test, if still too low start with the food every 1/3hour and test protocol, remember the Karo is only a quick fix to prevent Hypo:bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top