Moochie - Bouncing?

NyCatMom

Member Since 2020
Hello,

I am getting a lot of data from the libre, which is good and bad. I came home from work yesterday and immediately my phone started getting low glucose alerts. Moochie is having days where he sits solidly at 400 all day and night, followed by steep drops. Then he goes back up to 400. I was heading out last night and was afraid to give him 2 units while he was at 190, so I gave him some medium carb foods and 1 unit. Part of me regrets doing that since I'm trying to be consistent in my dosing but I was afraid to leave him alone and get a hypo event while he was unattended.

Can I get a quick read of my spreadsheet and your thoughts on whether he's bouncing? Thank you.
 
Yes, it looks like Moochie is bouncing from the greens, and with a reduced shot last night you’ve disrupted the depot a bit. I think you know this, but I’ll share from the Basics sticky:

Bouncing - is simply a reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BG in the 200s, 300s or higher for a long time, then even a BG of 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the BG drops too low and/or too fast. The pancreas, then the liver release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream. *Usually* bounces clear within 3days (6 cycles).

You did shoot 158 on Nov 30th ;). One thing to think about is to watch how the BG trend is going, albeit yes, I think the Libre makes it hard sometimes to see the forest for the trees.

Yesterday, Moochie was coming up from greens and nadir around +6, and was on the rise to the 190 preshot. Just something to think about next time.
 
Yes, it looks like Moochie is bouncing from the greens, and with a reduced shot last night you’ve disrupted the depot a bit. I think you know this, but I’ll share from the Basics sticky:

Bouncing - is simply a reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BG in the 200s, 300s or higher for a long time, then even a BG of 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the BG drops too low and/or too fast. The pancreas, then the liver release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream. *Usually* bounces clear within 3days (6 cycles).

You did shoot 158 on Nov 30th ;). One thing to think about is to watch how the BG trend is going, albeit yes, I think the Libre makes it hard sometimes to see the forest for the trees.

Yesterday, Moochie was coming up from greens and nadir around +6, and was on the rise to the 190 preshot. Just something to think about next time.

Good morning Chris

Thanks for confirming the bounce. I chickened out the other evening because I was heading to a company sponsored holiday party and knew I'd be home very late. I'm working from home the next few days which gives me some confidence because I can monitor him. The libre really is a double edged sword. If I were running a curve that day manually, I might have missed the 90s and gone blissfully out the door. On the other hand, it makes checking his numbers so incredibly easy. He was 350 pre shot this morning, so there's a decent chance he'll dip lower today. Thanks again.
 
Good morning Chris

Thanks for confirming the bounce. I chickened out the other evening because I was heading to a company sponsored holiday party and knew I'd be home very late. I'm working from home the next few days which gives me some confidence because I can monitor him. The libre really is a double edged sword. If I were running a curve that day manually, I might have missed the 90s and gone blissfully out the door. On the other hand, it makes checking his numbers so incredibly easy. He was 350 pre shot this morning, so there's a decent chance he'll dip lower today. Thanks again.

You're welcome :). That's perfectly understandable, especially since you are new in collecting data on Moochie. One thing that we have seen with kitties who are using the Libre is that the Libre can give somewhat unreliable readings at numbers under 100, so you might want to try and focus in on those readings around onset, nadir and duration, and see if you can get some interpretation of patterns based on those data points. Of course, to complicate things, nadirs can and do move around, but I think if it were me, I'd see what I could establish generally so you can determine how the insulin is working, as well as how the carbs you are feeding and when influence his cycles. Just a few more thoughts to consider. Glad you are around over the next few days, since that gives you a chance to get a better feel for these things.
 
What got me panicked, was walking in from work and hearing my phone shrieking alarms as soon as it connected to the libre. I turned off the high alarms at set up, but left the low alarms set. If I had been home all day, I would had seen the lower numbers and monitored him or given him a small snack.

That's interesting information on the libre numbers in the lower range. I have two home meters and will check the numbers next time. I've had other sugar kitties and could get blood from their ears so easily. It's a battle to get a drop. At some point, he was tnr'ed and they took a huge tip off one ear. That leaves just the other one and even after warming it up and using a headlamp, it takes more than a few attempts to get that drop. Meanwhile, I applied the second libre after the vet applied one fell off. He barely batted an eye and completely ignores it. He's trending lower today and I hope he doesn't bounce again.
 
As an aside FWIW, if you want an easier meter as a back up option to the libre (for instance to double check low libre numbers or between libres) maybe look for one that uses very little blood. You can find how much your meter requires often in the user manual but if not, by calling the manufacturer support line. The Alpha Trak says it uses less than human meters, idk if that’s 100% true but it does use less than the human ketone meter I have (0.3 microliters as opposed to 0.5 microliters—literally like the head of a tiny pin)
 
Back
Top