Mooch 4/6 PMPS 591

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lisa & Mary

Member Since 2012
Mooch's morning blood glucose level was 78. Yesterday his blood glucose readings were AMPS 182, +6 208, PMPS 240 and we'd reduced his insulin to 1.5 units the night before. So now I'm thinking the 1.5 units is still too high. I've delayed giving Mooch his morning shot and have a call into my vet to get her opinion re what to do.

Any advice?

FYI now he's eating just the Wysong au jus which is only 1% carb. I switched him a few days ago and he was previously eating EVO dry.
 
Re: Mooch 4/6 AMPS 78 - do I need to adjust dose?

I wouldn't be comfortable suggesting you do anything other than stall for right now. I'm hoping you know to not feed while you're stalling and to re-test in 30 min. In all likelihood, you will need to lower the dose further now that you've switched to LC canned food.

Also, it would be extremely helpful if you could get, at the minimum, a before bed test every night. As you're seeing, you have no idea what happened with Mooch's numbers last night. You're missing half of your data.

You might want to look at this post on dealing with low pre-shot numbers.
 
Re: Mooch 4/6 AMPS 78 - do I need to adjust dose?

when you get your next test (30 minutes, as sienne suggested) would you post it so we can see?
 
Re: Mooch 4/6 AMPS 78 - do I need to adjust dose?

I just spoke to my vet and she was in line with what you suggest and the low reading thread. We're going to not give the AM shot and do a curve today. Then we'll have a better idea of the right dosage to restart tonight assuming his sugar levels rise during the day.
 
Re: Mooch 4/6 AMPS 78 - do I need to adjust dose? + 1hr 86

After 60 mins his blood glucose was 86 so essentially flat and not dropping/rebounding which is good.
 
Re: Mooch 4/6 AMPS 78 - do I need to adjust dose? + 1hr 86

you may be seeing a significant change because of the evils of the dry food carbs working out.

the meters are allowed by law to have a 20% variance - so that is pretty flat. looks good.
 
Re: Mooch 4/6 AMPS 78 - do I need to adjust dose? + 1hr 86

I just got an update from the Cat Hospital who are doing the curve today and his glucose levels are rising. If that continues I expect they’ll confirm restarting a lower dose this evening.

8.30am = 78
9.30am = 86
10.30am = 129
11.50am = 265
 
Re: Mooch 4/6 AMPS 78. +1 86, +2 129, +3.5 265

Can the increase in his BG also be from NOT getting the insulin this morning?
 
Re: Mooch 4/6 AMPS 78. +1 86, +2 129, +3.5 265

Yes, I think so combined with last night's dose wearing off. He was stable earlier in the morning so it didn't look like a bounce. Assuming it keeps rising during the day that'll confirm he does still need insulin but just a lower dose. My vets going to advise later today after she's had a chance to see the whole day's readings. Hopefully this is his first step on the way to complete remission. I remember with Jester it took a few weeks after she switched to wet food
 
Re: Mooch 4/6 AMPS 78. +1 86, +2 129, +3.5 265

Don't forget that Mooch's shed has drained somewhat without this morning's shot so will likely need to refill again before you see some more lovely greens :mrgreen:

Go Smoocher what a good kitty, your new food is liking you very much!
 
Poor Mooch's glucose went pretty high ip to 591 after skipping the shot this morning. We're restarting him on 1 unit of insulin and hopefully over the next could of days his values will come down now he's on the wet food. The readings through thd day are updated on his spreadsheet.

He sends smooches to everyone and will go drink some water now.
 
I haven't been on your condo yet. Mooch is so lucky you are fostering him and being such a great bean!!

Good luck with restarting at the 1u. I hope he likes that dose.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top