Moo 5/26 AMPS-308- Vacation sitter/Dosing ?s

Status
Not open for further replies.

Moosmommy

Member Since 2012
:cry: Go away 300s!

So this week is the week I head out on my vacation and my ex boyfriend/ roommate is taking over duties. After much consideration and talking to others, I've decided that while I am gone, I will reduce the dose and not have him to worry about BG testing.
It's just really not an option while I am gone and I am lucky to have talked him into giving shots and I just want to make things easier on everyone.
That being said... Right now obviously Moo is at 1.0. Right now he's hitting bigger numbers. I don't want to increase his dose before I go... But experts... looking at my SS what do you think would be the best bet for dosing while I am gone? I'd like to make the dosing easy for him too so I rather not have to do a .25 or .75 if possible.

I am leaving Fri AM. I will give the Thurs night dose and the rest is on the Ex. I will be home really late Tues night or sometime Wed morning depending on travel.
The other problem is my ex's work schedule. Right now Moo is 730am/pm due to my schedule. My ex is off on Friday which is good, however, Saturday he works 10am-8pm. Sunday he will more than likely work 10a,-8pm as well. However there is a chance he MAY have to work 6am-2pm. I am hoping that today or tomorrow that the rest of his work schedule is posted for Sun/Mon/Tues.
The other problem is... sometimes he gets stuck at work longer than he is scheduled. Though a 10 hr shift they are getting better at getting him out of there quicker.
So I was thinking I can get him to 9am/9pm so that will work with his schedule. If he does work a 6am or an earlier /later shift, I may have to have him skip that dose. Do you think that'll cause a big problem?
SOrry this seems so scatter brained. I am just trying to start feeling things out now.
As soon as I get his full schedule I can lay out a better schedule and scenarios.
I'm really stressing about this. The good thing is I know Moo is a good easy cat to deal with and he will let him give him his shots.
I also know Moo has never *knock on wood* had any hypo events.
The ex does know what to look for and where the gravy food/karo is kept as well as where the vet is. I have extra food both LC and HC extra syringes, etc.
I will always be a phone call away 24-7 as I will just be with family out of state.
Is there anything I am forgetting or need to do/remember?
Any hints or tips with a hard to work with schedule?
Again, sorry for rambling.
Thanks for your thoughts and looking.

**Please remember I have asked questions and considered lots of issues so please understand BG testing just is not feasible for reasons I have explained in the past
 
So the ex won't be able to test even at shot time? (I just am asking for clarification. I completely understand since I have someone who checks on my guys when I travel who is completely able to test but Gabby would sooner take off her arm than let her get close with a lancet to say nothing of allowing my pet sitter to touch her.)

It may be a little early to make a firm decision about dose. Today, I say reduce the dose to 0.75u but a lot can happen between now and Friday. Also, you'll need to decide if your ex can accurately dose an amount that's not on a line on the syringe.

Likewise, it will be easier to make suggestions about shot time once you have your ex's schedule. Otherwise, if there's a change, we're just going to have to re-think everything.

The one thing I would suggest is that you make a "sample" syringe with the dose you'll be using. Use colored water/juice/milk so it's easy to see the amount. This can help to avoid any dose errors.
 
Nope, no testing at shot time either.
One less thing I have to depend on him on.
Moo likes him and has no problems with him, however, even if it WAS possible. I'm not sure if Moo would let him.

So, absolutely no testing while I'm gone, hence why I just plan on lowering the dose.
I will keep ya posted on his schedule and anything else I can find out.

Thanks.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top