Moo 3/26 PMPS 344. VET QUESTION

Status
Not open for further replies.

Moosmommy

Member Since 2012
So When I got up to feed/shot Moo this morning he was at 163.
I stalled 30 mins to see which way he was going before feeding him...
in 30 mins he dropped from 163 to 146. Almost 20 points.
I decided to feed him but skip his shot.
I wont be home until his +5.5 to check on him and even giving him .5 with him going down... I just worry the way he has been all over the place lately.
I am leaving for work in 15 mins....
Should I give something? Or just stay with skipping?
Thanks.
 
Re: Moo 3/26 +11.5= 163 AMBG 146

If you want to feel safe, you can skip the shot. BUT you can also give a reduced dose so the shed does not deplete and leave out some med carb foods if you know Moo will eat.

If it were Spot, I'd do the reduced shot, but I know Spot and how he reacts. But you need to do what makes you feel comfortable.

What are your thoughts?
 
Re: Moo 3/26 +11.5= 163 AMBG 146

Usually when I do this and stall he only drops like 2-5 points.... but this 20 piont drop and how he's been all over the board lately just kinda worries me....
I think I will check him again in 5 and see if hes going up or down still and maybe give a .5
If hes lower or the same, I may just skip

THanks for your help!
 
Re: Moo 3/26 +11.5= 163 AMBG 146

ok. can you post and let us know what he is in 5? I'll keep stopping in to see your posts.
 
Re: Moo 3/26 +11.5= 163 AMBG 146

He dropped further to 140 @ +.5
So to be safe, I will skip today.
I will be home all night tonight to monitor after his evening dose
THanks again for your help.
 
Re: Moo 3/26 +11.5= 163 AMBG 146

Good call. Betters safe. Change you title post to AMBG (+12.5) 140 ok? Have a good day at work. Nice job Moo, lol!
 
Hi everyone
I have a question. I took my civi to the vet today for a possible scratch on her eye (turned out to just be conjunctivitis) and they asked how Moo was.
I said good... but that his numbers were all over the place and asked abotu refilling my syringe perscription.
Well I mentioned how I am poking Moo around 4 times a day to check on him before both shots, at lunch and before bed.
She pretty much freaked out on me, saying there is NO reason to be poking my cat so much.
Why put him through all that she said.
I tried explaining to her about the board and advice etc and shes like I wouldnt take advice off here yada yada (which I wanted to tell her to shove it)
Then she just kept shaking her head saying that was rediculous and i explained to her how MANY times i have caught him low and had to act differently so he didnt crash.
Then she mentioned maybe he is on the wrong insulin and should be switched.
Am I doing things wrong?
Should I change my poking?
Should I look into different insulin?

Sorry for the rant, just looking for some advice to help me feel better. I feel bad now.... but at hte same time I'm angry at her too...
 
Don't feel bad. You are doing the right thing for Moo.
After shadow's surgery today, the same vet who told me the same thing about testing... how unnecessary it all was actually talked to me like
an equal today...
He was impressed with Shadow's record.

Some vets think we are all just a bunch of crazy cat ladies.... ( and I may very well be :lol: )
but how many of them get cats to remission status?

You'll have to tell her you want to continue on Lantus. She works for you afterall.
 
For some reason, vets must get a talk when they're in school that causes them to be anti-home testing. (Either that, or they figure they can make big $$$ by having you bring your cat in to be tested or have a curve done.) Next time your vet gets on this particular soapbox, ask how many times they test if you were to bring Moo in for a curve. (They test every 2 hours.) The notion that testing stresses out a cat seems to have taken on the stature of an urban legend with vets. I think if you were to poll people here, you'd find a very different perspective. However, when a stranger -- the vet or a vet tech -- is poking a cat, I would have no doubt that the cat is stressed. For example, I could probably hang Gabby upside down by her toes and she'd put up with it. If my cat sitter were to try to test Gabby, either she'd lose a finger or Gabby would hide. Gabby doesn't like strangers -- even strangers with food! Keep in mind, BG tests at the vet's office reflect stress. At home, they don't. Your vet is basing her conclusion that cat's get stressed with testing based on a biased set of data.

If you go back to the journal article on the Tight Regulation Protocol, if a cat drops below 50, the dose is reduced. In other words, a cat's BG MUST drop into lower ranges for the dose reduction. It's expected. It doesn't mean that Moo is having a poor response to Lantus. Please keep in mind that in order for the study to be conducted and for the article to be published, it had to pass an ethics review at Dr. Rand's university. In other words, that drop into lower ranges is safe if you are following the principles of tight regulation.

This is my long winded way of suggesting your vet has not read the TR protocol. If you'd like to share the article with her, I'm attaching it. That way your vet won't think your listening to a crazy bunch of cat ladies. Rather, we may be crazy but we read the research so at least we're well informed crazy cat ladies.
 

Attachments

And, I'd take your spreadsheet along with you the next time you go. I routinely email my spreadsheet to my vet, just to keep him updated on what's going on without having to kennel Chuck, put him in the car and drive 15 miles to the vet, add vet stress, etc. I do the curves and send them to him, too.

As a matter of fact, prior to Chuck going back on insulin, I took his whole notebook, with all his vet records, the food charts, his monthly spreadsheet (both numeric and graphical) -- the whole shebang. The vet was so impressed he took the notebook around to all the other vets in the practice.

So, if we're crazy cat ladies, at least we're well organized and have data to back up what we do!!
 
The other thing I have found out about vets is they don't test like we do and that may be while they are all so abhorrent (well...mine isn't cuz I've shown her how I test) about us testing. They use an 18g needle and they poke right on the vein. :shock: :shock: :shock: Yes... our cats would hate us if that is the way we tested their BG. Maybe you should also explain to her that you are using a very, very fine lancet; Moo's ears bleed very readily, and you barely have to touch the edge to get blood.

My vet is amazed at how incredible Gracie's ears are....she said most people would never know we poke them much less as often as we do.

Maybe next time she inquires about Moo, you should just tell her he's fine.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top